Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not one of his best
This album by my favourite singer/songwriter is one you have to listen to a few times before you'll like it.
Some songs are good whatever- the title track, Fields of france and License to steal. However some take some time, such as the final track an instrumental, Ghostly horses of the plain, which is now one of my favourites. There are a few I don't like still, or...
Published on 17 July 2002 by Mitch

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Days......But Not Great days
This, as has been noted in the other reviews, is very much a product of the 80s. Not necessarily a bad product but it does stand out from his other offerings that had been released up until this time.

A lot of collaboration was made with Peter White on this album, which may explain some of the new influences, at the time, on Al's approach.

I...
Published on 21 Nov. 2008 by Music Man


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Days......But Not Great days, 21 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Last Days Of The Century (Audio CD)
This, as has been noted in the other reviews, is very much a product of the 80s. Not necessarily a bad product but it does stand out from his other offerings that had been released up until this time.

A lot of collaboration was made with Peter White on this album, which may explain some of the new influences, at the time, on Al's approach.

I personally like this CD, not as a classic, which it isn't, but as a whole, I listen to it from start to finish and whilst it doesn't excite me as other releases have, I have to say it doesn't disappoint me either. Perhaps I'm damning it by feint praise by saying that but that isn't the intention.

There are certainly enough high points to welcome it into your collection. It also offers a refreshing acceptance by Al to explore other avenues, something that in later productions served him well.

Last days of the Century: Great opening track which I rate highly. Tremendous tempo which grabs you from the start. My only criticism is that he doesn't know how to end it. He drags it on for too long when he should have closed it with a bang

Real & Unreal: Surreal jazz infused bluesy feel which is mediocre. Unfortunately I keep thinking of the Pink Panther creeping about whenever I hear it!

King of Portugal: This is a really pretty and melodic track with a great understated groove that carries it along.

Red Toupee: Some seem to like this but I find it nothing more than a fun "toe tapper". A bit lightweight.

Where are They Now: Excellent song, typically mature offering from Al in his well established thought provoking way.

Bad Reputation: This has one of those infectious grooves that sucks you in and seeps into your brain. It also has a wonderful breezy middle eight.

Josephine Baker: Top notch delivery from the man. Al in his favourite vein of plucking obscure characters out of the air and putting them into the public domain. How many times has he done that? Tremendous track.

License to Steal: I normally shy away from the tracks where Al tries to rock hard as he rarely manages to pull it off. However, this is absolutely superb. His phrasing and delivery is 100% convincing and the pace and edge of the song gives it a real punch. Add to this the tremendous guitar work by both Steve Farris and my all time favourite Tim Renwick and you have a bone fide classic.

Fields of France: Pretty & Pleasant but no more than that.

Antarctica: The opening sounds like Blue Oyster Cult meets Jethro Tull. OK but not great

Ghostly Horses: Lovely instrumental

Helen & Cassandra: Although some will say it isn't one of his strongest historical offerings, from a personal point of view, I like it.

A worthwhile purchase with certainly enough to keep you happy. If you buy it you won't be wasting your money. If you don't.........you'll miss out on a few crackers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not one of his best, 17 July 2002
This review is from: Last Days Of The Century (Audio CD)
This album by my favourite singer/songwriter is one you have to listen to a few times before you'll like it.
Some songs are good whatever- the title track, Fields of france and License to steal. However some take some time, such as the final track an instrumental, Ghostly horses of the plain, which is now one of my favourites. There are a few I don't like still, or at least are not as good. Overall despite its electronic sounds that doesn't always work with Als music, this is one for 80s fans and serios fans of Al. If you don't like 80s , and prefer the more sedate Al in Year of the cat, time passages etc then you may not like this, but you may like both as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece from Al, 18 Oct. 2000
By 
Patrick J. Neals (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Days Of The Century (Audio CD)
Although this album is quite different from Al's other works, this one is brilliant and a real treat to listen to time and time again. It has more of an "80's" feel to it, with lots of electronics, keyboards, synths, which some may not like, but Al's lyrics, singing and melodies shine through. The title track is a great, fast, driving song - very punchy and upbeat. This is a must have for Al fans, and for those that like 80s music in general - you will like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Last Days Of The Century - Al Stewart, 23 Dec. 2010
By 
P. R. Phillips (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Days Of The Century (Audio CD)
Going by the cover you'd expect a different tone of music to Al's normal run of the mill music but nothing has changed. The music might be a little bit more funkier but retains Al's excellent writing skills. A supurb album. This album may seem a bit premature going by the cover but the music makes you come down to earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Millenium musings- Al style, 29 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Last Days Of The Century (Audio CD)
This album is indeed a change of direction- but maybe not. 'Fields of France', 'Antartica' and 'Bad Reputation' all have his distinctive guitar signature. The first two also have his history orientated lyrics, and this is a good follow on from 'Past Present and Future'. A good way to explore Al!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A radical shift for Al Stewart, 15 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Last Days Of The Century (Audio CD)
A departure in style for Al, gone are the moody acoustic melodies of his earlier works. This album has a distasteful plasticy sound - full of keyboards, with no real musical texture. There are some good tracks however: Bad Reputation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New for sure, 30 July 2003
By 
Allen (DERRY, N IRELAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Last Days Of The Century (Audio CD)
There can be no mistaking that Als direction has changed in his music. This is one of the finest albums he has made but it does require a little listening and relistening. Red toupee and fields of france have to be real masterpieces and the new producer Joe Chiccarelli has no doubt has a great input to this album. The cover of the album is fascinating despite the fact that the album was written years before the millenium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last Days Of The Century
Last Days Of The Century by Al Stewart (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews