Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer briliance.
I personally thought that this was an extremely accessible album, though a tad long. Songs such as Teenage Riot, Silver Rocket and Total Trash will enter your head and refuse to leave, while some of the Kim Gordon sung ones (the Sprawl) might take a few listens. Just buy it. It was the first Sonic Youth album i bought, and though it isn't really a typical one (since...
Published on 22 Aug 2000

versus
11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dare I say it... overrated. Now hate me.
I've been seeing a lot of fuss about this record recently, especially since Sonic Youth played it in it's entirety at a festival in the US this summer. I've had this record for quite a long time now, but I'm afraid the penny has never quite dropped for me. I keep returning to it every once in a while just to see if I'm ever going to join that legion of SY fans and critics...
Published on 28 Sep 2007 by Neil


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer briliance., 22 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Audio CD)
I personally thought that this was an extremely accessible album, though a tad long. Songs such as Teenage Riot, Silver Rocket and Total Trash will enter your head and refuse to leave, while some of the Kim Gordon sung ones (the Sprawl) might take a few listens. Just buy it. It was the first Sonic Youth album i bought, and though it isn't really a typical one (since all of their albums are totally different) it is as good an introdction as any, one of the first they did with proper song structure. For less developed songs try Sister the album before this, for more song orientated noise, try Goo, their Geffin debut which came after it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a revolutionary album..., 1 Sep 2007
Originally released in 1988, before Sonic Youth had signed to Geffen, and they were still knee-deep in harsh noise-punk, "Daydream Nation" was, even then, seen as an incredible record, one that would net them a major label, and, nearly 20 years later, it hasn't lost any of its quality. Opener "Teenage Riot" is still full of rock 'n' roll swagger, and the furious "Silver Rokcet" packs a heavy punch. "The Sprawl", along with "Total Trash" shows the band's skill for jazz-like improvisation, and "'Cross The Breeze" showcases Kim Gordon's most intense vocal performance. "Candle" and "Kissability" are perfect pop songs, "Eric's Trip", "Hey Joni", and "Rain King" are bolstered along by Lee Ranaldo's almost story-telling delivery. Hell, even "Providence" (a piano solo, over-heating amp and answering machine messages) manages to excite. It all ends with "Trilogy", a 14-minute epic, that shows the band were never afraid to go all-out and aim to thrill. All this, along with a new disc of the entire album played live, makes it worthy to anyone - a big Sonic Youth fan; someone who's listened to the record maybe once before - maybe even 20 years ago; someone who only knows Sonic Youth by "Teenage Riot" or "Bull In The Heather"; or maybe someone who's only just heard of the band. This is still a revolutionary album, and deserves to be a part of your collection, if it already isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DELUXE EDITION - FTW!, 30 May 2011
I would recommend the deluxe version of this album - The live disc itself is previously unreleased. - Recorded in the usa 1988-1989-
It's a crystal clear recording that really shows the band off in their full glory with minimal audience interference & even though the performances are taken from several shows it comes over cohesive in terms of sound quality.

Daydream itself sounds mighty & for me & Sonic yoth ,,,

This is really as good as it gets.

5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the top Two by 'the youth', 16 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Audio CD)
A double play C.D. so well worth the cash,from track one to last track..'Sonic Youth' at the pinnacle of their career..Buy this!! Top C.D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breakthrough, 21 Feb 2003
By 
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Audio CD)
Sonic Youth began life in 1982. From then on, they put out various albums, well recieved in independent circles, but never really made it big. Every single album was different, yet they all followed the same mould - moments of power, beauty, and some hard to get into noise. In 1988, Sonic Youth changed all that. Starting off with the anthemic Teen Age Riot, it contains such radio friendly 'unit shifters' as 'Candle', 'Silver Rocket' and 'Eric's Trip'. Many albums cover all bases in the sense that some songs are noisy, and some are quiet and majestic. This album delivers that, but in single songs. Classics like 'Total Trash'start out peacefully and turn into noisefests. This is a classic album that you'll want to listen to again + again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spacejam, 20 Nov 2002
By 
Daniel Dalton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Audio CD)
I put this on when I'm doing the washing up (you care?). It warms my toes with waves of rhythm from another room. every so often i go to catch a particular refrain, "Accross the Breeze" accelerating into a frenzy, say. By the time I've got back, the water's cold, grease skein on cup disaster, redo from start.
I'm easily captivated by rhythm, like "Sister Ray" this baby's got slabs of it, and it crescendos in and out of phase with my attention until mesmerically, I'm part of the mood, and feeling space age and dirty.
They may have made a true cyber-punk album, to blast the following Rage Against the Machine's into yesteryear.
So far from Happy, so close to joyful. The human condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2014, 8 April 2014
By 
Perugino (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Audio CD)
I was too young for this when it was first released, although not by much. While I quickly caught up with the likes of the Pixies and Janes Addiction, for some reason Sonic Youth were not really on my teenage radar (other than a few songs from different albums). I have recently realised that I was missing something wonderful and the good news is, it's not too late. It sometimes gets criticised for being too mainstream, so you may want to look elsewhere if you prefer obscure, but for others I think the balance between melodic songs and harsher sounds is what makes this album so popular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 1 Mar 2014
By 
lose weight "lose weight" (Bedfordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Audio CD)
Great album one of SY's best. Took a bit of time to come though. Slow on delivery. But good when arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's good, but not their best., 24 May 2011
By 
J. Tucker "joffoir" (cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Audio CD)
Mention Sonic Youth and this album gets a name check. Yes, its a very good album, but probably the one I listen to the least because its so easy and accessible. They have done better than this. I like Thousand Leaves, Washing machine, Jet set trash and Sonic Nurse above this one. This album is a good listen but it is SY flirting with mainstream and so that's why it probably has wider appeal. Its a good starting point for getting into SY (it was my first album) but they have better offerings in their back catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly produced album, 6 Dec 2010
By 
Marco Colombo (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Audio CD)
Sonic Youth set a new record as far as production goes. Their music, often distorted and dissonant, always feels velvety and incredibly soft. I'm amazed at how this record is still incredibly actual and unsurpassed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daydream Nation
Daydream Nation by Sonic Youth (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews