Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Korn's Best Album
This is the best Korn album that has been produced. It was a change for Korn in that it was their first digitally produced album, abandoning the analogue recording method which may have been associated with the dirty sound which attracted many early fans to this band. The improved quality of the album adds to its enjoyment, and rather than losing the edge they had...
Published on 21 Feb. 2006 by Simon Flood

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars What's happened?
Well with baited breath and crossed fingers I waited for Korn'snew album and after listening to there single 'Got the Life' I thought the were finally coming around. This is with out there finest song to date and then I bought the album and blew a fuse. As the cover suggests the song that catches your attention be 'Got the Life' which is represented by the girl on the...
Published on 6 Oct. 1999


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Korn's Best Album, 21 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Follow The Leader (Audio CD)
This is the best Korn album that has been produced. It was a change for Korn in that it was their first digitally produced album, abandoning the analogue recording method which may have been associated with the dirty sound which attracted many early fans to this band. The improved quality of the album adds to its enjoyment, and rather than losing the edge they had established with their earlier efforts (Korn, and Life Is Peachy) it merely adds a professional depth to their recording. Highlights on this album include the single, Freak on A Leash, and Seed, which is I feel their best song for its eerie stlye combined with the pounding chorus's asscociated with their later records, as seen in albums such as Take A Look in the mirror.
This album offers the best of Korn moreso than any subsequent Greatest Hits albums will offer. It is well worth a listen for any Korn fan or any fan of this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Korn Best Album!, 20 July 2002
This review is from: Follow The Leader (Audio CD)
This is definately Korn's best album I have had it for quite some time. It is slightly softer than Korn and Issues but that does not make it a bad album. The best songs are 'Freak On A Leash' which is Jon's song about hating the music business, 'Got The Life', 'B.B.K', 'All In the Family' which includes Fred Durst, 'Children Of The Korn'. Also 'Pretty', 'Dead Bodies Everywhere' and 'It's On' are good songs as well. Jonathon Davis does a lot less screaming in this than in his first studio album and this unlike Issues dosn't have any short filler songs so it is just pure music all the way through and I strongly recommend you buy this even if your new to Korn and if you are new to Korn then this would be the album I would buy to see if you like them.
The drumming is a lot better on this record than Korn and Life is Peachey. The guitaring is also more melodic rather than just chords.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is good., 16 Feb. 2002
By 
D. Smith (Stortford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Follow The Leader (Audio CD)
Yo. I just wanna say that KoRn are an incredible band. I'm not sure about their 2 previous albums but this is the one that shows KoRn's true talent. If you want a KoRn album to start on, chose this. Now, the things that make this album good. Well, the sheer truth and pain that goes into the Jon's vocals is incredible. Head and Munky's riffs are outstanding and send that shiver up your spine. The basslines by fieldy and the drumbeats by David combine to create an aggressive mix. The best songs in my opinion are It's On!, Freak on a leash, Reclaim my place and Dead bodies everywhere. The 2 to avoid are Children of the Korn and All in the family. These 2 feature the rappers Ice Cube and Fred Durst. I normally like Rap and Hip-Hop but these are just out of tune and embarassing. I also have issues, which is only marginally worse. BUY 'EM BOTH!!
Review by hoax of JaRRed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Meaning Of Really Rather Quite Angry, 19 Nov. 2005
By 
spiderboris (The cold, empty void between stars) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Follow The Leader (Audio CD)
In 2005 metal may have slipped back out of the mainstream again, replaced by grime / dub step / bhangra n'roll / whatever genre the ever-twitching music press have re-invented this week, but listening to Korn's quite unreasonably furious third album Follow the Leader again, it's as if the world never quite caught up with just how pissed off the Bakersfield boys were - and for this reason and this reason alone they just had to stay angry forever (Apart from Mr. Head of course - Jesus had other ideas). Issues and Untouchables saw Korn retreading the same old doom-rock ground of old, with Jonathan Davies still roaring like a eight-year-old with ADD - but right from the off, Korn's terrifying ire kicks you violently in the gut and doesn't stop doing so until the album ends. Sure, there are moments of respite - All In The Family was funny, at least before anyone had heard of Fred Durst - but the diabolically heavy likes of It's On, Dead Bodies Everywhere - and My Gift To You do their best to break the windows with sheer crushing force. Davis's vocals are staggering - Jonathan has said in interviews that his favourite singer of all time is Freddie Mercury - and maybe this explains the often camp melodrama of his phrasing - at least on the parts when he's not trying to drown out every scream and bellow Max Cavalera has ever uttered in his life. Then there's the music - the never ending bottom end! Fieldy's bizarre rattling Primus-y bass! The crazy mid-song prog-jazz scat freakouts! But never mind the analysis - Follow The Leader is just really, really, insanely heavy, and bleeds unhinged fury from every nu-metal pore. And with it, Korn made - and still do make - most of their contemporaries look like a bunch of old Daniel O'Donnell-loving grannies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm Surprised To Say...I Like It, 27 Nov. 2003
By 
S. Wright (Sheffield, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Follow The Leader (Audio CD)
This is one of those moments where your ears are telling you something, and your mind and your friends are telling you something completely different. Thankfully I didn't give into the latter and have always enjoyed music for what it is and not who it's by. As no doubt everyone knows, KoRn are a nu-metal band, more than likely, the very first, as my knowledge on them isn't exactly wide-spread. All I know about them 15 days ago, was that they performed vicious nu-metal, turgid riffs and delicate but raging vocals. The other side you hear is that they're...constantly depressed...boring...samesy...and that they're just not as people as their music portrays. Thankfully, I can, on my own behalf, eradicate 2 of the 4. While they do stick to a similar style throughout, KoRn are still pretty varied, and it certainly isn't a boring style, as KoRn's own brand of metallic groove based metal is actually quite thrilling...
And despite many people's opinion that Johnathan Davies is just a whiner, he does have a terrific voice. Or should I say voices.
There are two primary elements to KoRn's music. The metallic grooving of the guitars and the weapon in Davies' throat. The crunch of the guitars in the likes of 'opener', 'It's On!' and 'Got The Life', build up slowly and when they do start pacing at full pelt, they pull you in and don't let go, and while being hauled in, that weapon in Davies' throat is just getting ready to blow...his wide array of vocal styles adds a unique sound to KoRn without even starting on the guitars and fine drumming. On 'Follow The Leader', KoRn are almost 3D and could be standing right there in front of you, such is the visual abilites that the music lends itself out to.
It's also pure rage throughout, which I suppose is to be expected. Don't look for acoustic songs or low key moments on 'Follow The Leader' this is all about vile expression. It's also amazingly accessible, while being very harsh and obliterating. 'Got The Life' could have been a dance floor hit in rock clubs, and is very funky and still acceptable to those who just prefer downright turgid. 'B.B.K.', while being the album highlight, seems to borrow from Alice In Chains fairly well, although I have never heard a band borrow from AIC without failing, but KoRn do have those layered vocal styles that made Layne Staley's voice so appealing.
The only problem with 'Follow The Leader' is that there are tracks that just don't need to be there. 'All In The Family' with Fred Durst, might be hilarious to some, but it's like nails on a blackboard to others, especially those who don't like Durst anyway...'Children Of The Korn' features rapper Ice Cube, and is just...well, to keep it short not good. Whoever thought some of the collaberations on 'Follow...' were a good idea needs to think again. But if it was the same guy who wrote or produced the other immaculate, rather unshiney grinders, they also need a pat on the back. It does wear a little thin towards the end, but it doesn't seem to matter, as it does leave the listener satisfied.
But it's just a matter of whether you think you could stand it. If you KNOW you don't like KoRn, then why bother even looking? With 'Follow The Leader' it seems to me that if you like any of the singles, then you might just like the rest of the album. If you don't, then it's not worth it. What have I learned?
Never judge a book by its cover, and never judge a band on other ears opinions.
4 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best KoRn album, undesputedly, 4 Sept. 2001
This review is from: Follow The Leader (Audio CD)
this is by far, KoRns best. every single track on this album is brilliant. Got The Life has the best guitare peice i have ever heard, and it is so simple to play. Freak on a leash, pure genius, a bit near the end where Jon tails off into Twist a bit, but damn good. some ppl dont like tracks like Children Of The KoRn and All In The Family. these tracks are great!! Children of the KoRn i must agree is probly teh worst track on the album, rapping doesnt suit KoRn. Ice Cube can just bugger off. Limp Bizkit's Fred Durst is wicked in All In The Family. and it is one of the best songs.
Best track = Got The Life
Best KoRn album = This one!!!
BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good as a first Korn album, 19 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Follow The Leader (Audio CD)
This was the first Korn album I bought, after hearing Freak On A Leash, and now I love the band. Although I would say the first album was the best, this is an excellent album if you're not sure that you'll like Korn. It blends Jonathan Davis' excellent lyrics with a mixture of rock and hip-hop. The best tracks are the award winning Freak On A Leash, Got the Life, My Gift to You and All in the Family, which features Fred Durst. If you don't like rap, don't listen to Children of the Korn, cuz it's got Ice Cube in and isn't all that good! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Nu-Metal., 26 May 2009
This review is from: Follow The Leader (Audio CD)
After the exposure KoRn gained from their first 2 albums, they really come out fighting on this glossier and more ambitious affair. The self-titled debut had sparked a whole new generation of metal bands and for a time this proved to be some of the most popular music on the planet. While Life Is Peachy wasn't a terrible record, it was nowhere near as good as it's predescessor, which is probably why this album changed this around a fair bit.

Of course, the main elements are still there. KoRn had always been popular because of their cathartic, angry songs that allowed a young, pissed-off generation of people to vent their grievances in the mosh pit. And make no mistake, this album still deals with alienation, parental pressures, injstice and hatred in good amounts. At times, such as bridge of the behemoth My Gift To You, frontman Jonathan Davis sounds like he might explode with pure rage. The brilliant guitar combination of Brian "Head" Welch and James "Munky" Shaffer still shines, providing their trademark interlocking rhythm and lead parts with grinding, clinking and squeaking sound effects. The bass and drums still clunk and slam away with unbridled energy.

But there are some notable differences. The production has improved and is now more proffesional, with a bigger emphasis on atmospherics. This is shown in songs such as Dead Bodies Everywhere and Cameltosis, the latter with it's Asian-sounding guitars and the former with its fairly quiet verses which contrast the explosive intro. Fieldy seems to have truly found his feet with his slap bass technique, the only proof needed is the hugely popular Got The Life, nuff sed. There are also more guest spots on this album, the best of which is Ice Cube's turn on rap-metal classic Children Of The KoRn. Fred Durst provides some silly-but-funny banter on All In The Family, and The Pharcyde's Tre Hardson appears on Cameltosis.

Vocally and lyrically there are differences too. Davis's lyrics may cover a lot of similar topics to previous efforts, but they are slighly less explicit now, and more metaphorical in places. The delivery is also slightly more accessible than some of the screams and eerie whispers of their debut, for example. Having said that, they are still delivered well and the lyrics are strong. The album contains some of the best lyrics he has ever written on certain songs, such as Freak On A Leash, which became a huge hit and is still well-loved.

Follow The Leader is an essential album for both KoRn fans and Nu-Metal fans, as it typifies both KoRn's commercial peak and some of the best and most memorable work they have ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable!, 3 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Follow The Leader (Audio CD)
This is Korn's third album and is absolutely amazing. It is my favourite Korn album and everysingle track is the best so it is hard to pick out my favourites. Freak On A Leash, Got The Life, Dead Bodies Everywhere, Children Of the Korn, All In The Family, Reclaim My Place and Justin are probably my favourites. Near the end of the last track there is a bonus four minute song called Earache My Eye which is amazing and very, very, very Heavy. You cannot have a complete CD collection without this album and if you are getting all the Korn albums then first get this and their self-titled album and then get the others. Get this album now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars KORN- a master piece, 15 May 2005
This review is from: Follow The Leader (Audio CD)
I had first heard of korn when a advertisement played freak on a leash. i thought it was a very catchy riff and when i heard the full song on kerrang, that was enough for me and i went and bought it. It's confusing at first,the first 12 tracks are data and you think your cd is broke or something but then the heavy riff of "its on" kicks in and your like "this is nothing like freak on a leash" and after listening to the cd all the way through you feel disapointed.
I didnt like the thing at first. But after a few listens it began to make sense. If this is your first korn cd then i highly recomend it, but dont have one listen and make your choice after that, you must listen to the passion in the songs and the way the singer has put emotion into it. My favourites are "freak on a leash", "its on", "got the life", and "seed", the raping tracks get boring after a while and thats why i knocked a star off.
This album shows what korn are all about and is great if you are new to the "nu-metal" scene. If you enjoy this album as much as i have then get issues next, then their debut album, then untouchables and if you really feel like it get life is peachy or take a look in the mirror which are not as good but still korn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Follow The Leader
Follow The Leader by Korn (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews