Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eassssy
There is no denying that Lionel Richie is a superstar in the soul music genre.
A lot of soul fans will disagree with this statement as Richie has become very middle of the road with his more recent music. Even some of the songs on this set will have soul boys turning up there noses.
"Back To Front" has tracks on it which will be forever marked as "Classic". Some...
Published on 17 Jun 2004 by V. Ryan

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent audio quality
I have liked Lionel's songs since young, and this compilation contains most of those which i prefer, but sadly the sound quality on this disc ranges from quite okay to downright atrocious! Especially track 7 "Endless Love", in my opinion one of the best songs here, but it sounds like a 64kbps mp3 file!
Published on 12 Nov 2011 by whyeme


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eassssy, 17 Jun 2004
By 
V. Ryan (London Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back To Front (Audio CD)
There is no denying that Lionel Richie is a superstar in the soul music genre.
A lot of soul fans will disagree with this statement as Richie has become very middle of the road with his more recent music. Even some of the songs on this set will have soul boys turning up there noses.
"Back To Front" has tracks on it which will be forever marked as "Classic". Some of the tracks are no doubt on the slushy side. "Hello" the most notable one with the annoying video. But its vintage Richie. Its beautiful, corny and beautiful again.
"My Destiny" is another classic. Its of course catchy but one which showcases the voice that he possess.
"All Night Long" again is classic and one of the many many Richie songs that gets so much radio play. Everyone knows this song. Its typical accessable Lionel Richie - a song for all.
"Easy" is perhaps the best ever song written by the man. Sung while still with the Commadores, "Easy" is a track you can't hate.
Ballads have always been his forte. And all the classics are here in the bucket loads.
One of the best duets of all time, "Endless Love" with Diana Ross is here, with the heart wrenching "Stuck On You" the soulful "Penny Lover and the anthem "Say You Say Me".
Its all here on this excellent and now so cheap history of a superstar - Lionel Richie.
His music may not be "black" enough for some, and yes true he does attract a more middle of the road radio 2 listener - but that doesn't detract from the fact that Lionel Richie has had hit after hit and has made classic after classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent audio quality, 12 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Front (Audio CD)
I have liked Lionel's songs since young, and this compilation contains most of those which i prefer, but sadly the sound quality on this disc ranges from quite okay to downright atrocious! Especially track 7 "Endless Love", in my opinion one of the best songs here, but it sounds like a 64kbps mp3 file!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 20 April 2005
By 
chick (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Back To Front (Audio CD)
Who can not like Lionel Richie? great love songs, some are up beat and some are slow. They maybe out of date but still classic songs worth listening to. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lional Ritchies at his best, 25 Oct 2002
This review is from: Back To Front (Audio CD)
You either like Lional Ritchie or you don't. However, this album is one that will delight his fans and will probably gain him a few more after listening to it. The album features Still, three times a lady and Hello as well as more up tempo numbers such as all night long. This is definately a gift item for mum and dads
friends and lovers. Guaranteed sing alongability
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic., 15 Nov 2000
This review is from: Back To Front (Audio CD)
Without fear of exaggeration, I reckon this is undoubtedly a classic, and how anyone can say otherwise is beyond me. I don't know anyone who doesn't love at least one Lionel song, and if they listen to this, they'd love a lot more. "One More Time," "My Destiny," "All Night Long," "Hello" and "Stuck On You" are some of the truly great songs of our generation. Sure, its a little syrupy and romantic at times, but the sheer quality of the songwriting jumps out at you. Possibly an album responsible for more marriages than any other, and one of those that quite simply, everyone should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lionel the Legend, 31 Oct 2014
By 
R. Kansara (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Front (Audio CD)
This is just a perfect album of Lionel's best songs.

I don't think he got the recognition he deserved as he was in an era when there were so many talented artists. When you listen to the songs, you actually realise how many you actually played and danced to at parties, included as part of compilations for loved ones and sung along to in the car :)

Thanks Lionel for bringing back so many fond memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 22 Mar 2007
This review is from: Back To Front (Audio CD)
A previous reviewer made mention of the absence of 'Dancing on The Ceiling'. Didn't really notice it when you have old hits such as Hello, Penny Lover, Say You Say Me, Three Times a Lady and practically the rest of the album save 'Do It To Me', 'My Destiny' and Love Oh Love. The latter really turbo boosts an already rocket powered album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Front (Audio CD)
Best album ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Front (Audio CD)
Great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Front (MP3 Download)
As I'm always big fan of lionel a true legend his songs you can always listen to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back To Front
Back To Front by Lionel Richie (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews