Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars53
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 August 2008
In this factory I worked in from 1981 to 1993, there was a staff restaurant with the social club bar adjacent to it. After eating, people would play darts or pool, or just sit and relax and talk. And every weekday for 6 months or more, this young kid would walk in, stick a 50 pence piece in the jukebox and the first record he'd play would be Prefab Sprout's 'The King Of Rock 'n' Roll.'
With it's laughably nursery rhyme / clever but throw-away lyrics, the track gradually became embedded into everyone's psyche, and it wasn't a bad tune, really. Feet would start tapping, I noticed, and it seemed to cheer people up. So, when the factory closed down, I happened to bump into this CD somewhere, (maybe here?), and I bought it just for track one on this compilation.
The balance of tracks are OK, easy listening and pleasant and ideal to have on as background music after the bombast and quirkiness when 'The King Of Rock 'n' Roll' has ended, of course.
Paddy McAloon may be remembered by his fans for many of the other tracks on here, as they are decent pop songs from the era, but for me, 'The King Of Rock 'n' Roll' will always be their 'Stairway To Heaven,' so that has to be a fair old doff of the cap, hasn't it. A corker!
33 comments|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2000
"A Life Of Surprises" is the greatest hits album by one of the most underrated British bands of the eighties. With a style that was somewhere in the middle of the styles of the Smiths and the Style Council, the band had a few medium sized hits, but never really got the credit that their true brilliance deserved. Generally the album has two halves the first half featuring the more upbeat tracks they released in the eighties and the second half featuring the more mellow, dark and moody tracks they have released in the nineties. Overall the album is spectacular and includes their two biggest hits from their brilliant 1988 album "From Langley Park To Memphis", namely "Cars And Girls" and "The King Of Rock And Roll". The other highlights on this album include the brilliant "Life Of Surprises", "When Love Breaks Down" and "All The World Loves Lovers". Overall it's an excellent album and is highly recommended.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2015
With a number of compilation albums to choose from, 'A Life Of Surprises' covers much of Prefab Sprout's best material over the period 1983-1992. As you would expect, the catchy 'The King Of Rock 'N' Roll' kicks things off splendidly and is followed by the gorgeous 'When Love Breaks Down'; other highlights include 'Cars And Girls', 'I Remember That' and 'We Let The Stars Go'. At a decent second hand price, this collection serves as a solid gateway to the band's studio albums and is well worth the investment in my view.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 1999
This album comprises all the originality produced by Prefab Sprout over their long and successful career. Lyrics such as 'Hot dogs jumping frogs' remain, to this day, a great achievement in songwriting. This album also includes such greats as Hey Manhattan, Carnival 2000 and Ice Maiden. The variety is both exciting and inspiring.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
...with some great tunes playing. I had forgotten how much I liked Prefab Sprout. At this price you would be mad to miss out - serioulsy - order now!

Arrived VERY quickly in absolutely perfect condition, very happy with this purchase.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
I had some Prefab Sprout back in the day on vinyl and decided to replace some of my albums with CD for convenience as well to play in the car.
Glad I did. You can all to easily forget just how good their music was.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
I bought this a while ago and recently started playing it again - the songs have not aged a bit and are as fresh as they were when originally released. If you ever liked any of the singles I can recommend this album of their best songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
love listening to this; saw article on Paddy MacAloon which prompted me to look at early albums, bought this as 'introduction' although I do remember them from singles
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
The kids used to play these songs back in the day and it was good to hear them again although everyone has now left home. Delivery again ahead of schedule expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
Cracking album. Deserve to be more well known! Some really great songs on this Best Of album. Listened non stop since arriving in the post!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)