Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King Of Rock 'n' Roll Completely.
In this factory I worked in from 1981 to 1993, there was a staff restaurant with the social club bar adjacent to it. After eating, people would play darts or pool, or just sit and relax and talk. And every weekday for 6 months or more, this young kid would walk in, stick a 50 pence piece in the jukebox and the first record he'd play would be Prefab Sprout's 'The King Of...
Published on 30 Aug. 2008 by Alan Burridge

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too many average tracks
it is okay if you are an avid fan of Prefab Sprout, or like a bit of 80's nostalgia.

Logistic side, perfect
Published 14 months ago by Jesse Nicol


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King Of Rock 'n' Roll Completely., 30 Aug. 2008
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Prefab Sprout: A Life of Surprises (Audio CD)
In this factory I worked in from 1981 to 1993, there was a staff restaurant with the social club bar adjacent to it. After eating, people would play darts or pool, or just sit and relax and talk. And every weekday for 6 months or more, this young kid would walk in, stick a 50 pence piece in the jukebox and the first record he'd play would be Prefab Sprout's 'The King Of Rock 'n' Roll.'
With it's laughably nursery rhyme / clever but throw-away lyrics, the track gradually became embedded into everyone's psyche, and it wasn't a bad tune, really. Feet would start tapping, I noticed, and it seemed to cheer people up. So, when the factory closed down, I happened to bump into this CD somewhere, (maybe here?), and I bought it just for track one on this compilation.
The balance of tracks are OK, easy listening and pleasant and ideal to have on as background music after the bombast and quirkiness when 'The King Of Rock 'n' Roll' has ended, of course.
Paddy McAloon may be remembered by his fans for many of the other tracks on here, as they are decent pop songs from the era, but for me, 'The King Of Rock 'n' Roll' will always be their 'Stairway To Heaven,' so that has to be a fair old doff of the cap, hasn't it. A corker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a must have, 10 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
"A Life Of Surprises" is the greatest hits album by one of the most underrated British bands of the eighties. With a style that was somewhere in the middle of the styles of the Smiths and the Style Council, the band had a few medium sized hits, but never really got the credit that their true brilliance deserved. Generally the album has two halves the first half featuring the more upbeat tracks they released in the eighties and the second half featuring the more mellow, dark and moody tracks they have released in the nineties. Overall the album is spectacular and includes their two biggest hits from their brilliant 1988 album "From Langley Park To Memphis", namely "Cars And Girls" and "The King Of Rock And Roll". The other highlights on this album include the brilliant "Life Of Surprises", "When Love Breaks Down" and "All The World Loves Lovers". Overall it's an excellent album and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Dogs are top of the menu., 16 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Prefab Sprout: A Life of Surprises (Audio CD)
This album comprises all the originality produced by Prefab Sprout over their long and successful career. Lyrics such as 'Hot dogs jumping frogs' remain, to this day, a great achievement in songwriting. This album also includes such greats as Hey Manhattan, Carnival 2000 and Ice Maiden. The variety is both exciting and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A walk down memory lane...., 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Prefab Sprout: A Life of Surprises (Audio CD)
...with some great tunes playing. I had forgotten how much I liked Prefab Sprout. At this price you would be mad to miss out - serioulsy - order now!

Arrived VERY quickly in absolutely perfect condition, very happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great record from really underrated group, 13 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Best of Prefab Sprout: A Life of Surprises (Audio CD)
I bought this a while ago and recently started playing it again - the songs have not aged a bit and are as fresh as they were when originally released. If you ever liked any of the singles I can recommend this album of their best songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The memories come flooding back., 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Prefab Sprout: A Life of Surprises (Audio CD)
I had some Prefab Sprout back in the day on vinyl and decided to replace some of my albums with CD for convenience as well to play in the car.
Glad I did. You can all to easily forget just how good their music was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars underated band, 18 Oct. 2013
By 
Gregory Cook "GregC" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Prefab Sprout: A Life of Surprises (Audio CD)
love listening to this; saw article on Paddy MacAloon which prompted me to look at early albums, bought this as 'introduction' although I do remember them from singles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Prefab Sprout: A Life of Surprises (Audio CD)
The kids used to play these songs back in the day and it was good to hear them again although everyone has now left home. Delivery again ahead of schedule expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album. Prefab are a great band!, 17 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Prefab Sprout: A Life of Surprises (Audio CD)
Cracking album. Deserve to be more well known! Some really great songs on this Best Of album. Listened non stop since arriving in the post!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT: This is a truly the best of Prefab ..., 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Prefab Sprout: A Life of Surprises (Audio CD)
GREAT:This is a truly the best of Prefab Sprout",all the great songs are here. Uplifting songs that make you feel good, and positive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Prefab Sprout: A Life of Surprises
The Best of Prefab Sprout: A Life of Surprises by Prefab Sprout (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews