Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap way to get the classic early 1970s stuff
I think the catalogue listing of this must have changed because all the other reviews seem to think this album is full of 1980s hits: in fact, the order from Maggie May to Farewell is exclusively from 1969 to 1974, probably his peak years.
This is the first Stewart album I have bought after "Every Picture Tells a Story" and I looked for it, having heard the beautiful...
Published on 2 Feb. 2004 by R. S. Stanier

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CD not the same as MP3 download
Unless I'm missing something the 'hard-copy' CD has quite different tracks to the download version - but they seem to share the same title and customer reviews.
I was intending to buy a CD but will now double check the download listing before final decision.
Weird or what
Published on 6 April 2011 by twooks


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap way to get the classic early 1970s stuff, 2 Feb. 2004
By 
This review is from: The Very Best Of Rod Stewart (Audio CD)
I think the catalogue listing of this must have changed because all the other reviews seem to think this album is full of 1980s hits: in fact, the order from Maggie May to Farewell is exclusively from 1969 to 1974, probably his peak years.
This is the first Stewart album I have bought after "Every Picture Tells a Story" and I looked for it, having heard the beautiful Handbags and Gladrags as the theme tune from The Office. I certainly wasn't disappointed.
Previously, I had always thought of Stewart as a total loser, but this stuff is great. It's mostly covers but there are a few great songs of his own, and he does original covers, if you see what I mean.
There's a brilliant bit on Rod Stewart in Nick Hornby's "31 Songs", placing a case for his rehabilitation, though be warned that his choice of "Mama You Been On My Mind" isn't on this.
Not every song's a classic but there are some beautiful numbers on this, both ballads and upbeat ones. And it's much cheaper than the other "Very Best Of"s, even if it stops in 1974. Who wants "Do You Think I'm Sexy?" anyway?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rod then Mod at his best, 15 Feb. 2013
By 
J. G. McMillan "Wee Jim" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This period for Rod Stewart was amazingly creative for his own songs and the covers he chose to perform. Absolute Gold choice of songs, famous and not so known but the whole feel of this "best of" is of a time when Rod could do no wrong unlike his later 80's attempts.
If you liked Rod when he was singing with strength, vigour and still captured a mixture loose, rythm & blues influenced songs but with his own texture and feel, especially with that loose, Faces type sound, then this album is a great collection of Rod at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The croaking scotsman, 10 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't much like his other stuff but bthis album brings back all the good vibe from the 70's which is my favourite period. Better than all that American Songbook filler stuff while he was thinking about what to do with his career !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CD not the same as MP3 download, 6 April 2011
Unless I'm missing something the 'hard-copy' CD has quite different tracks to the download version - but they seem to share the same title and customer reviews.
I was intending to buy a CD but will now double check the download listing before final decision.
Weird or what
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All the Classics, 11 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Already had some Rod Stewart CDs but they didn't have some of Rod's classic hits which the Very Best of Rod Stewart contains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars dont waste your money on amazon music store., 17 Nov. 2014
It skips during playback. Waste of money.
had to give it one star which is even more annoying than the download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rod stewart, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Rod Stewart (Audio CD)
great cd, every track was a favourite, good sound quality, would recommend if a rod stewart fan
play it a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars pre-hollywood rod, 6 Nov. 2014
This review is from: The Very Best Of Rod Stewart (Audio CD)
good ole rod knocks them out - 3/4 super tracks
bereft, thank god, of anything after he went hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of his best, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Rod Stewart (Audio CD)
Great CD would Tell all I Got It For someone else and she really loves it I would recommend it to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 10 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Rod Stewart (Audio CD)
This album is very good , I have listened to it a few times and really love it packed well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Rod Stewart
The Very Best Of Rod Stewart by Rod Stewart (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews