Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're to get Meatloaf.. GET THIS ONE!
I'm not going to go on about how outstanding this collection is, because you all should know that. I am just going to say that if you want to nuy a Meatloaf CD.. GET THIS ONE. 'I would do any thing for love' asisde. It has all his best tracks.
Bat Out Of Hell - 10/10 : If you havn't heard this track before, it is the most intising piece of music you will ever hear...
Published on 13 Sep 2003 by C. M. Hollis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what it says on the tin
Contains half a dozen hits and the rest, well.... you can guess what they're like. Bought it just to remind me of the spring way back when I was laid up in bed with glandular fever and Meatloaf was on the radio constantly. Yes I'm talking 1977!
Published 22 months ago by Luggsy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're to get Meatloaf.. GET THIS ONE!, 13 Sep 2003
This review is from: Hits Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
I'm not going to go on about how outstanding this collection is, because you all should know that. I am just going to say that if you want to nuy a Meatloaf CD.. GET THIS ONE. 'I would do any thing for love' asisde. It has all his best tracks.
Bat Out Of Hell - 10/10 : If you havn't heard this track before, it is the most intising piece of music you will ever hear. MeatLoaf is most famouse for this song, and rightly so, its a mammoth 9-10 minutes long and you wotn want to turn it off even if, like me, you've heard it hundreds of times. Jim Steinman is a legend.
Read 'em And Weep - 9/10: This song takes a good 3 minutes before its at its best. But at its best, its better than any on the album.
Midnight At The Lost And Found - 7/10: I have to say my least favourite. I cant say why. It may be different for you though.
Two Out Of Three Aint Bad - 9/10: Some say this is the best rock ballard of all time.... And i'm not going to argue with them. You dont hear the big build up, or the huge meat loaf voice, but the song is excuisite.
Dead Ringer For Love - 9/10: Fast, catchy and great! Cher does at great job. Her and Meat are in and out of lines like no other song ive ever heard. Geniuse.
Modern Girl - 8/10: Again, not the best track but a solid tune. Not much to say about this one really..
I'm Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us - 10/10: My personal favourite. Huge voice, Huge build up (the opposite of 'two out of three aint bad') and a Huge song. Lyrics arent the best but the music playing is awsome. I cant find any more superlatives to throw at this one.
You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth - 9/10: I wouldn't have been surprised if he released this one at chrismas with this ring. Great feel-good song.
Razors Edge - 9/10: Another one of my favourites. This track is consistent all the way through.
Paradise By The Dashboard Light - 10/10: wow.
wow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOME OF THE BAT AND MORE, 19 May 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hits Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
The criticism against the Loaf is that his brand of theatrical rock is overblown schlock rock, but what counts is how the melody and the words come together, in any popular musical genre. Rock is anyway known for excess, and that includes Alice Cooper, Queen and Marilyn Manson. I love Meat Loaf on the soundtrack of the Rocky Horror Picture Show and I love his solo recordings. This hits collection includes five hits from the zillion selling Bat Out Of Hell album: the title track, Two Out Of Three, All Revved Up, You Took The Words and the mini-operetta Paradise By The Dashboard Light. The rest of the songs is of the same quality – blistering melodic rock - and my favourites include Midnight At The Lost And Found, I’m Gonna Love Her For Both Of Us and Dead Ringer, on which he duets with Cher. There’s no substitute for the BOOH album though so I recommend you get it. It remains a classic of dramatic overblown theatrical rock with each song a classic. For those who want a wider selection of Meat Loaf’s late 70s and early 80s output, this album is ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good summary of Meat's Earlier Work, 20 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hits Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
This compilation gives a good review of Meat Loaf's work from the 70s and early 80s. The classic Bat Out of Hell which really needs no explaining and Paradise By The Dashboard Light is also another classic from The Bat Out of Hell (BOOH) album. About half the tracks come from BOOH, because other than this album he did not have many more hit songs in his early years, although Dead Ringer for Love, a duet with Cher, was one of his more well known songs. Modern Girl continues along the theme of an operatic , bombastoic style of music. Read 'em and weep is more mellow and emotional and is another fine tune. Interestingly enough this CD is not completely written by Jim Steinman, the songs from BOOH are his but some of the others were written by Meat himself and other song writers. This CD provides a good opprtunity to buy most of the decent stuff from Meat, without having to buy the complete albums which may not be completely to your taste if you are a casual listener. A recommended buy. Do not buy CD and expect to hear hits from after 1985 as all material on the CD is written before this date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars his best together, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Out Of Hell (MP3 Download)
any meatloaf fan would love this album. Just put it on and turn up the volume.
I had to attend a speed awareness course a couple of years ago and the tutor said that the one album you must not have in your car is Meatloaf!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what it says on the tin, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Out Of Hell (MP3 Download)
Contains half a dozen hits and the rest, well.... you can guess what they're like. Bought it just to remind me of the spring way back when I was laid up in bed with glandular fever and Meatloaf was on the radio constantly. Yes I'm talking 1977!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MEAT LOAF GETS IT AGAIN, 15 July 2003
This review is from: Hits Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
I love most of meat loafs music but i'm only just a teen, he can sing so well. buy this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
By 
murdoch "Neil K" (yorkshire, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Out Of Hell (MP3 Download)
rocking now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Out Of Hell (MP3 Download)
I like meatloaf music the cd is good I just find a lot of the disks have the same songs on them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hits out of hell 1984 release, 23 Feb 2014
By 
George Arnold - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hits Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
I got this on vinyl but recently got the CD for 50p in mint condition its the first 1984 epic release sounds good not sure about later releases of this cd regarding sound but this 84 release sounds great its got all meats big hits great for the car on long drives.....buy it and enjoy you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Meatloaf at his very best, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hits Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
Bought this to replace a worn out copy which i'd had for years, Love it, would recommend it to all aging rockers like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hits Out Of Hell
Hits Out Of Hell by Meat Loaf (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews