Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely the greatest Gershwin recording of the century
This CD really does live up to its label of Great Recordings of the Century.
Dating from the mid 1970s it is a shamelessly sumptuous collection of Gershwin's three most popular concert pieces, performed by what was then arguably the world's most popular, certainly most charismatic, orchestra and conductor.
The recording quality, pre-digital age, was both warm...
Published on 6 Feb 2004 by Mr. R. B. Ager

versus
14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ham-fisted Previn?
I've been on the lookout for a decent rendition of Gershwin's orchestral works for ages, as my previous taped version went the way of the dodo. I thought with Previn in charge of the LSO, I was on to a winner with this CD. Not so unfortunately.

First things first - the LSO is absolutely superb, subtle, pinpoint accuracy, played with gusto and feeling. An...
Published on 18 Feb 2010 by Shaolin_monkey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue; Concerto in F; An American in Paris (Audio CD)
Glorious and magnificent - best played loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Aug 2014
This review is from: Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue; Concerto in F; An American in Paris (Audio CD)
Good service and no problems,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first class music, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue; Concerto in F; An American in Paris (Audio CD)
Gershwin is in my opinion one of the finest composers of the 20th centuary. Rhapsody in Blue is one of his finest compositions. The orchestra led by Andre Previn gave this and the other compositions the best I have heard for a long time. Buying from Amazon was easy, and delivery very fast,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GERSHWIN, 26 Sep 2011
By 
June Rough (nottingham, england,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue; Concerto in F; An American in Paris (Audio CD)
RHAPSODY IN BLUE AND AMERICAN IN PARIS HAVE BEEN AMONGST MY FAVOURITES FOR YEARS. AT PRESENT I AM REPLACING MY OLD CASSETTES FOR CD'S, BUT CANNOT ALWAYS GET THE ORIGINALS LIKE I BOUGHT 40 YEARS AGO! (WELL I AM 70). GOOD ORCHESTRA THOUGH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LSO is excellent but Previn disappoints, 14 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue; Concerto in F; An American in Paris (Audio CD)
The orchestral playing on this disc is top-notch, but it is unfortunately let down by bland and uninspiring pianism.
It's not that Previn's playing is too subtle for my tastes; he is just poor: neither imaginative nor passionate, yet not sensitive and controlled either, and with a less-than-perfect technique (not that that is necessarily a criticism per se).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 18 Sep 2014
By 
Jeremy C. Invernizzi "jezza" (warwickshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue; Concerto in F; An American in Paris (Audio CD)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews