Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you wish they'd go on and on and on!
Have you ever wondered how many variations of a song, or of a song's theme a band can perform live without ever getting boring? Ever listened to somebody play and wished he'd never stop because he is just that great? "Alchemy" is exactly that kind of experience. Recorded two years before what was probably their most successful studio album ("Brothers in Arms"), this more...
Published on 16 Jan 2003 by Themis-Athena

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great live recordings
To be honest I'm not a lover of live music, however the reason for my purchase was for Telegraph road live rather than the studio version. It's not the version I had on CD but is near on identical. The other two tracks Romeo and Juliet and the sultans of swing are a great listen too. If you love live music and of course DS it's great but three stars as its only a few...
Published 16 months ago by G Lawther


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Alchemy - Dire Straits Live - Two CD Set (Audio CD)
The quality of music in this album is set from the very beginning, with the purest of guitar notes at the beginning of "Once Upon a Time in the West". It is worth paying the full album price for the extended guitar solos of "Sultans of Swing", on their own. I also have the video and when I have played it for other people, they have all said, without exception (and this includes a lot of Americans), that they have never seen or heard guitar playing like Sultans. The structure of Sultans is, quite simply, symphonic. This album - plus the video, if it is still available - is a rock and roll classic...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the all time great live performances, 5 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Alchemy - Dire Straits Live - Two CD Set (Audio CD)
This album, which was recorded during the period when Direstraits were at the height of their musical genius is simply superb. Right from the atmospheric start of slow keyboards to the wonderfully melow saxophone solo in the final song 'Going Home' this album never ceases to amaze.
The biggest compliment I can deliver is that it takes several superb studio works and improves them immesurably. This is a classic and a must for all serious music lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Band at their peak, 7 Oct 2010
Music snobs view Dire Straits as a cliche ridden band of the 80s - successful, but never really meriting much consideration as a truly great band. Few however could argue that this album shows a band at the peak of their powers with musical craftsmanship of the highest order. Highlights are obviously the sweeping melodies of Telegraph Road and Tunnel of Love, but Expresso Love and other less well known tunes also fit the bill. If there is a better live album out there of a rock band at the peak of their powers I do not know it - a truly masterful album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grrrrrrreat!!!, 25 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real connection with the past - the tracks have lost nothing through time and I enjoyed listening to it several times in a row on a long/long coach trip. Go on give it a go - you know you want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alchemy Live, 17 Dec 2007
By 
Robert Long (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alchemy - Dire Straits Live - Two CD Set (Audio CD)
This live concert was first recorded back in 1982.
I own it on video, but for some reason it was NEVER released on DVD.
This concert gripped most of Europe in the mid 80's and I can remember camping in Spain around that time. All the campers in Cypsyla (Costa Brava) seem to have a copy of the concert on their audio cassettes and it could be heard around the campsite, day and night!!!
I recently purchased the now availlable CD for my EX (Xmas present) who was addicted to Dire Straits at the time.....I think the CD is a must for you Dire Straits (Mark Knopfler) fans.
A brilliant concert....GET IT NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 7 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Alchemy - Dire Straits Live - Two CD Set (Audio CD)
Ahhh Alchemy. A superb live album and a showcase of Mark Knopfler's wizardry on a Strat. But it's not only him who's on form. Mr. Terry Williams (Drums) is absolutely superb, as is John Illsley (Bass). The others deserve an honorable mention too but it's these three that really shine. It all starts with a much-changed Once Upon A Time in the West. As many of the others on the album, it clocks in at above 10 minutes. It never becomes long winded, though. In fact, many prefer the live renditions of these tracks to their studio-recorded counterparts.
There has to be a weak point, though, and for me that's Tunnel of Love. It's a superb track but Knopfler's guitar work isn't up to his usual standard, a shame. I recommend the video over the CD, you get more of a feel that you were actually there. Either way, you're sure to find Alchemy a superb album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alchemy - Dire Straits Live - Two CD Set (Audio CD)
Classic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alchemy - Dire Straits Live - Two CD Set (Audio CD)
Very pleased with purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Knopfler's guitar playing is fantastic, and the whole band is exceptionally tight, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alchemy - Dire Straits Live - Two CD Set (Audio CD)
Had a tape of this album many years ago, and have upgraded. It is well worth the investment. Knopfler's guitar playing is fantastic, and the whole band is exceptionally tight. Perhaps my only criticism would be that the sound is rather thin. Otherwise, a great way to spend my money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alchemy - Dire Straits Live - Two CD Set (Audio CD)
Brilliant set of CD's well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alchemy - Dire Straits Live - Two CD Set
Alchemy - Dire Straits Live - Two CD Set by Dire Straits (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews