Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World Violation!
Sixteen years on and this is still the landmark Depeche Mode Album. Since receiving Speak & Spell for Christmas back in 1981, Violator at last gave me the album my peers could not argue with.
I count myself fortunate to have observed the Modes stately rise in stature as it happened. I often wonder what anyone would make of them now if they just received all...
Published on 24 Jan 2006 by Stephen Milsom

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great album but cheap edition
One of the best album by Depeche Mode but this new edition is cheapest than previous collector's edition.
The first cd is a normal cd audio but not the hybrid SACD/Cd audio included in collector's edition.
So pay attention if you are searching for the 5.1 or stereo super audio cd tracks.
Here is included only the 5.1 DTS version on the second disc, a Dvd...
Published on 7 April 2010 by Marco Fullone


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World Violation!, 24 Jan 2006
By 
Stephen Milsom (York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
Sixteen years on and this is still the landmark Depeche Mode Album. Since receiving Speak & Spell for Christmas back in 1981, Violator at last gave me the album my peers could not argue with.
I count myself fortunate to have observed the Modes stately rise in stature as it happened. I often wonder what anyone would make of them now if they just received all their albums for the first time. To some who think all their output sounds the same it must all be woefully depressing. But that is often how you might preconceive the work of any band as prolific as Depeche Mode.
However, DM have never had any great plan for world domination. The fact that they were front page NME and Q material by the time this album was released served to demonstrate the enormous fan base they had created through doing simple songs in an innovative way. This uniqueness is the only way to define a Depeche Mode song – there is simply no other contrived formula. To me, their strong lyrics coupled with a huge strata of sound images drove the emotions of my youth and nailed them to my soul.
World in my eyes is a track that provides a thumping soundtrack to every aspect of your life. Full of swagger and menace it manages to relax and antagonize in equal measure – by the end of the track you are on that headlong rush of euphoria that characterizes Alan Wilder at his finest.
Sweetest Perfection? I’m not into Martin’s more exaggerated emotional chants but this one does manage to pound itself into your affections and paves the way for SOFAD 3 years later - and what a great song to give two fingers to your average Radio 1 listener?
Personal Jesus? Oh how I would have loved to have been in America when this hit the Campus – It isn’t just the classy lyrics – it’s the style and composition that drives this song to it’s thumping conclusion.
Halo? Some say the best DM track ever, I don’t agree but there is plenty to enjoy here. A good lyrical content that sweeps through the full range of Gahn Vocals, definitely his finest performance since he Stripped us to the bone on Black Celebration.
Waiting for the night? My personal favorite - a modern paean from Romeo for his Juliet. Throw the windows open on a summer night and crank it up loud!
Enjoy The Silence? I remember Steve Wright playing this for the first time on Radio 1. I did not recognize it as a DM song but when he said ‘I really hate that band’ I knew it was Depeche Mode! And what did Wright know? It even got nominated for a Brit Award for Best Single of 1990 - despite the fact they were still not getting their enormous back catalogue played!
Policy Of Truth? A musical sledgehammer but it’s the lyrics that work here - I have probably muttered them at some time every day ever since. It’s a stunning song, but the remixes could have been so much better!
Blue Dress? Do the Mode do atmosphere? I think so, REM aren't even close. And what about that pervy edge? It’s a real risk for a band in their prime but as ever they carry it off in style.
And so to Clean. This is probably one of the greatest songs ever performed by Depeche Mode. Alan’s composition really coming to the fore here. It's a great way to finish the album.
Looking back, what a great period it was for fans between this album and Songs Of Faith & Devotion. While I would want to say Violator was just another stepping stone for the Mode, their greatest unsung hero was Alan Wilder. Without him they have struggled to reach this level of greatness again.
Alas, to those who are touching on this album for the first time please enjoy. For those who have loved it as I have lets hope Mute dust off it's Archive recording of the World Violation Tour and give the fans the treat they deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Any band namechecked by LFO is good enough for me, 15 Dec 2006
By 
J. Ansell "Informant" (North London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Violator [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
I have never written a review for Amazon before, but felt that I had to after reading the last missive by someone who clearly has no idea what they are talking about. The misguided goon was obviously expecting some kind of proto-Ministry type dirge with lyrics about drug abuse set to industrial clanking. The poor lamb probably does not have an ear for anything of a pure electronic persuasion. Best stick with Slipnot, eh?

Violator was released in 1990 when house and techno were in Acsendence. Depeche Mode had been making consistant dark electro since 83's 'Construction Time Again' ( I'll concede that 'Speak and Spell' and 'A Broken Frame' are a bit thin and a little too poppy), but Violator was when they hit paydirt after not being taken seriously by the rock press for most of the prvious decade. US techno producers such as Juan Atkins, Derrick May, Kevin Saunderson and the UK's own Mark Bell from LFO had all been listening intently to the Mode's music for much of the eighties and had the savvy to realise that this was a group who belonged to the great linage of electronics groups going back to Kraftwerk and continuing with Caberet Voltaire etc. The singles from this album are great pop music but beneath that lies some of the most intricate production, engineering and drum programming heard, and still sounds fresh sixteen years later. The fact that this group have influenced everyone from Bomb the Bass to Nine Inch Nails demonstrates that they were no 'bland eighties synth act'. A friend and myself were listening to 'Some Great Reward' recently and were marvelling at the drum patterns, how fresh they sounded. Violator still sounds vital, as it shows an exciting time in music when a seemingly 'mainstream' act could bear a huge influence on the dance underground. If you are not familar with Depeche Mode's music prior to the 'tonight Matthew I'm going to be Perry Farrell' years, then please ingnore the witless nonsense written below, do yourself a favour and spend some cash on a little bit of electro history. Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1990's masterpiece and the Mode's peak..., 13 Mar 2006
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Violator [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Following the success of the film and soundtrack to '101', the Mode set about its follow-up after some brief side projects (Martin Gore's covers-e.p., Wilder's Recoil project)- the 1989 single 'Personal Jesus' (later covered by Johnny Cash and Marilyn Manson - not at the same time sadly!)being the initial release and a pervy-pop song that blended the devotional and the dirty in a manner as great as Madonna's 'Like a Prayer.'
'Violator' (a deliberately Spinal Tap style title!) was the conclusion of the Mode's European outlook, the contribution of Francois Kevorkian aligned it to the electronic past of Kraftwerk and Moroder. 'World in My Eyes' (the fourth single released) opens the LP, a minimal electronic pop song that is Andy Fletcher's favourite Mode track. 'Sweetest Perfection' is the first of Martin Gore's lead vocals, blending bluesy guitar with electronics - setting the tone for 'Personal Jesus' and live favourite 'Halo' - the latter is one of Gore's greatest pop-songs and should have been a single (especially with the hilarious promo they shot found on 'Strange Too').
Following these highs we shift into the epic electronic ballad 'Waiting for the Night' which finds Gahan alone in an artificial universe until Gore supplies some harmonies: pure machine-soul. The sequencing on 'Black Celebration' and 'Music for the Masses' is advanced on here - the latter four tracks are generally linked together by smaller pieces of music - we move from 'Waiting for the Night' to Top 5 hit 'Enjoy the Silence' - a key song in the Mode's back catalogue and single of the year at the Brits the following year (not that they bothered to turn up!). '...Silence' is followed by 'Policy of Truth' (the third single)- an anthemic track later covered by some grunge band I've forgotten the name of!
The album concludes on a darker note, Gore's second lead vocal 'Blue Dress' drifts between a sensitive 'Somebody'-style ballad and something more sinister. The model for later Gore-fronted tracks such as 'Home', 'Comatose', 'Damaged People' and 'Macro.' Finally there is 'Clean', which opens with electronics that recall Kraftwerk, Tangerine Dream and Yellow Magic Orchestra before shifting into a downbeat anthem in which Gahan unconvincingly sings "I'm the cleanest I've been..." - kind of at odds with his infamous addictions and issues that followed...
As with the 'Speak & Spell' and 'Music for the Masses' reissues, this is a twin disc set with the album on DVD/A in 5.1 and stereo (my original copy of 'Violator' on CD sounds terrible on my mp3 player...a more than welcome reissue).There is another audio feature (the Mode and co exploiting the possibilities of this new format wonderfully) like the other two reissues and several bonus tracks. These are basically b-sides of the singles - 'Dangerous' is a fair enough pop-song that was the flipside of 'Personal Jesus', while instrumentals 'Memphisto' and 'Sibeling' were on 'Enjoy the Silence.' Another instrumental 'Kaleid' ('Policy of Truth') was used as the intro to the 'World Violation' tour and the final two songs ('Happiest Girl' and 'Sea of Sin') featured on the 'World in My Eyes' single from Autumn 1990. All nice additions, but 'Kaleid' apart nothing as great as the album proper...(& tracks most Mode fans are likely to posess on several formats already!)
'Violator' was the Mode's peak I feel - follow-up 'Songs of Faith & Devotion' had a flawed production (sort of grungey-'Achtung Baby!') and the two albums that followed were patchy ('Playing the Angel' is more succesful). 'Violator' was the pinnacle of the Mode's achievment, building on the fine 'Construction Time Again'/'Some Great Reward' and fellow masterpieces 'Black Celebration' and 'Music for the Masses.' What's great here is that the Mode stayed true to themselves and released an LP that was naturally them - no trying to be Alice in Chains or Nirvana here! It's also a great collection of pop-songs that show how great the pop-song was before the return to the 50s style of recent years (though of course Girls Aloud and Sugababes have Mode-elements in their music thanks to Richard X!). 'Violator' is the best Mode album and one of the classic albums of the early 1990s alongside 'Chill Out', 'Heaven or Las Vegas', 'Fear of a Black Planet', 'Loveless', 'Behaviour', 'Blue Lines' & 'Selected Ambient Works I.' What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DMs Tour De Force?, 11 April 2006
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Violator [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
It's well known, at least amongst the DM community that Violator is their pinnacle, their greatest achievement. While, that may be true, I for one hope that future releases eclipse this album, which after all was released 16 years ago.
A lot has happened since it's release, Alan's left, Dave's nearly died, the band nearly imploded, but they've come out the other side and released some great material.
Back to Violator. This expanded edition includes a DVD with interviews from band members, including the much-missed Alan. You get DVDA versions of the whole album plus various b-sides, some nothing to write home about, others which are, for me, some of Martin's finest work, Sea Of Sin and Happiest Girl. It's a shame that these b-sides weren't included on the audio cd, but that's just me being picky. I also mentioned in the review to Music For The Masses that it was a shame the band didn't sieze the opportunity to go down the same route the Cure did on their Deluxe editions by having demos and previously unreleased material included, again just a minor niggle really.
The album is rich and beautiful and dark. The singles included were probably the greatest quartet of tracks released by the band, Policy Of Truth, World In My Eyes, Personal Jesus and the seminal Enjoy The Silence, one of the greatest songs ever.
Other highlights are the gorgeous Clean (see the DVD included with Playing The Angel for a great acoustic version) and Halo, which would have made a great single, but maybe would have been one single too many from the album.
For anyone starting a jouney on the good ship Mode, then this is the place to start. Buy, listen, enjoy and then kick yourself that you could've been listening to this 16 years ago. Shame on you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAKE THAT 10 STARS!!!, 25 Feb 2002
By 
sensoria@tiscali.co.uk (The Peoples Republic of Modesville) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
Depeche Mode have to rank up there as one of the greatest bands the UK has ever given the world. Of course, music snobbery in this country means that most "critics" would never admit to this and, as a result, they're also one of the most under-rated bands we've ever produced.
"Violator" is without doubt the bands greatest moment in a career that has spanned (so far) 20+ glorious years of elecronic pop par excellence. The Mode have often been cited by Chicago House DJ's as the influences that inspired House music in the mid to late 80's. How ironic then that "Violator" should have at it's core the very house beats and baselines they helped influence a generation of ravers.
From the opening "World In My Eyes" through the classic moments of the bluesy "Personal Jesus" and pure electro pop tones of "Enjoy The Silence" to the downbeat but optimistic closer of "Clean" the Mode are as close to perfection as it is possible to get. "Waiting For The Night" is as beautful and intimate as a ballad can be whilst "Halo" has often been viewed as the best "unreleased" single the band have produced.
For a time in 1990, Depeche Mode were on top of the world. Things would never be the same again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD DTS 5.1 24/96 Great, 6 May 2006
By 
M. Sanew (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Violator [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Don't buy this remaster unless you just want to update your collection, or if you have a good multi-channel sound system.

Since the US version does not come out for a while I took a risk on the UK PAL version, and I was lucky enough to have the DVD play on my player. The DTS 5.1 mix is obviously where they spent their time. You can tell the sound engineers took a lot of time cleaning up every track and spreading out all the audio to the 5 channels.

It sounds like a completely different album, almost like they re-recorded some of it because it is so clear.

If you hear the DTS tracks and then listen to the CD it is night and day. The clarity and mixing is great.

If you are buying this for the CD, I would say I can barely tell the difference aside from less noise and more clarity, and its slight.

I am so impressed with the DVD DTS tracks I will be buying more.

Songs of Faith and Ultra, would be amazing in this format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mastering, at last!, 25 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Violator [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
These new Depeche Mode remasters are really great! They deviate from the nasty, nonsensical "louder is better" trend. They are not compressed as hell like (unfortunately) most remasters nowadays. If you care for the sound and the music, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius. Absolute Genius, 17 Sep 2003
By 
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
This is probably my favourite album of all time. It might sound strange, coming from someone with tastes as diverse as myself, that I should choose such a popular album, but there is no denying it - every song on this album is absolutely perfect! I remember being blown away by it when I was a kid - 'Personal Jesus' and 'World In my Eyes' and, of course, the best song ever written, by man or beast, 'Enjoy the Silence' were all hugely successful singles when they were released, and although I was a pretty blinkered metal kid then I couldn't help but be overwhelmed by the sheer unadulterated catchiness of them.
Anyway, plenty of others were influenced by them, judging by the amount of cover versions of their songs floating around the net. The Deftones' Chino Moreno has often spoken of his love for the band, and their cover of 'To have And To Hold' is a masterpiece. Its easy to see why they were so influential on so many of today's musicians - the lush, beautiful arrangements of Martin Gore are amazing, and Dave Gahan's voice is utterly superb.
In reality, Depeche Mode haven't made a single bad record since this came out, they just seem to be tinkering with the formula a little on each new release. However, good though 'Songs Of Faith And Devotion', 'Ultra' and 'Exciter' are, they can't quite live up to this album.
It would be worth spending the money on it just for 'Enjoy the Silence' alone, but every track here is superb.
An absolute, timeless classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great album but cheap edition, 7 April 2010
By 
Marco Fullone "funkadelico" (Milan, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Violator [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
One of the best album by Depeche Mode but this new edition is cheapest than previous collector's edition.
The first cd is a normal cd audio but not the hybrid SACD/Cd audio included in collector's edition.
So pay attention if you are searching for the 5.1 or stereo super audio cd tracks.
Here is included only the 5.1 DTS version on the second disc, a Dvd video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give That Oscar To Alan Wilder!, 8 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. David Stanton (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
In the credits, Alan Wilder is top of
the list, and deservedly so!
Martin may have written the songs,
Dave sings most of them and Fletch'
plays his part but this is Alan's
crowning glory (You would have to hear
his RECOIL album to get the perspective).
Immaculate in production and delivery,
each song is almost perfect in quality
with special sound effects perfectly
weaved into the fabric of the whole album.
Alan Wilder is ultimately responsible for
this fact.

'World In My Eyes' feels like a voyage
with a synth drumbeat immitating the engine
of a cruiseship.
'Sweetest Perfection' swings to and throw
with a percussion scuffle sounding like a
train running over railtracks.

'Personal Jesus' a unique observation on
TV evangelism which had the bible bashers
perusing their rule books on debating
if Depeche Mode had broken any blasphemy
laws. (were they asleep during some great
reward).
Then comes 'Halo' snarling, growling synth
mixed with gothic string harmonies, what a
song to play during the end of the world 2012.

'Waiting For The Night' is simply beautiful
as Martin snuggles in the safety of his home
listening to the horrific great outdoors beyond
the walls.
'Enjoy The Silence' compliments the same story
as 'waiting for the night' but is presented
in a catchy dance number interwoven with that
bewitching guitar melody that inspired a young
Shakira to become a singer.
At the end of the song comes a brief instrumental
interlude that has a spooky perverse cackle
fluctuating among the harmony like white noise.

'Policy Of Truth' just explodes into action and
probably has the best drumbeat ever created.
'Blue Dress' is one of Martin Gore's indulgences
but is still a cracking good song.
'Clean' rumbles along like the soundtrack of a
galleon embarking on an ocean voyage.

In short this is a great album to listen to and
Depeche Mode's finest in overall quality.
Whether it can be called the 'best' is still
open to question because their other albums
have their great points, but for presentation
and execution 'VIOLATOR' is second to none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Violator
Violator by Depeche Mode (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews