Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll want it Now, 20 Dec. 2004
By 
O. C. Rice "orice9" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music For The Masses (Audio CD)
The ironic title says it all "Music for the Masses" was meant as a tongue in cheek statement but turned out to be more prollific than was intended.
A great album by any standards with standout single tracks including "Strange Love",(the album version is different to the single release)these are interwoven masterfully with a unique, textured backdrop of sound and emotion a la Martin.
The first Mode Album to introduce guitar in a major way. This is not used in a conventional fashion but more in order to give the songs an edgier texture. Developing and growing new sounds has always been a DM staple and is used to great effect on this album. Never to outdo the song but rather to enhance it as illustrated brilliantly on "I want you now" yes yes yes!!! Martins Voice is full of emotion in this ballad (he sings 2 on the Album)
Probably there best offering for new fans next to "Violator"as it shows a maturity and newness while offering commercial appeal. The tempo of MFTM is varied and never dull it takes you on a journey in a style similar to that of a "concept album"without being trite or pretentious. The CD includes a Stunning remix of "Never let me Down" with a killer beat as well as another atmospheric Martin Gore istrumental - Agent Orange
The overall near perfect production of MFTM makes for a worthwhile investment.
Sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars To put it into words, to write it down..., 7 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Music For The Masses (Audio CD)
The vocal tracks will hook you immeadiately. The instrumental tracks need grow on you.
I heard the live version "101" album before I heard this so most of the tracks weren't exactly new to me. Before "101" I'd only ever heard DM singles, but although this album contains some great tracks that could have been singles in their own right I think that the track list might have been in a different order as most of the better tracks are together.
Because of this I think I prefer "101" because it has the best tracks from this album nicely mixed and some of DM's most popular hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS HOW THE mid80s SOUNDED - AND THEY SOUNDED GREAT!!!, 30 Oct. 2007
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Music For The Masses (Audio CD)
MTV had been already established as mainstream, the BOSS was getting soft in the Tunnel of Love, BON JOVI were more about the hair than ever - and the British invented Alternative music. Two such post-punk groups, THE CURE and DEPECHE MODE, better than most others, were able to grasp the decade's vibrations and broadcast them back as UNBELIEVABLE MUSIC. Whereas the CURE were mostly edges, the DEPECHE MODE were mostly technopoetry.

This was the first album I ever bought as a CD - and I remember bringing it home to my new JVC HiFi, anxious to listen to the "crisp, digital sound" (little did I know that, only some years later, we would come to miss the fullness and richness of the old vinyl records). I was right to be anxious though: this was ONE OF THE GREATEST ALBUMS - EVER!

MUSIC FOR THE MASSES is one of those rare albums that can be listened to from start to finish. No filler material here. The voices are atavisticly haunting; the keys persistently penetrating; and the lyrics stay with you for ever.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting there!, 25 Feb. 2002
By 
sensoria@tiscali.co.uk (The Peoples Republic of Modesville) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Music For The Masses (Audio CD)
The albums title was originally made tongue-in-cheek due to the lesser commercial feel and increased experimentation of the tracks. However, it was soon to become very accurate as it was the album that broke the band big time in the States and led up to the concert in front of 70,000+ fans in the Pasadena Rose Bowl! "Music For The Masses" indeed!!
Opening with the now classic live favourite "Never Let Me Down Again" through to the sombre Communistic "anthem" of "Pimpf", "MFTM" is an album that clearly defines DM's increased move away from a glossy pop sheen to the darker and more intense moments they are now renowned for.
"Little 15" is almost classical in feel, "I Want You Now" all experimental and heavy breathing whilst "The Things You Said" is a tender Gore sung ballad and "Strangelove" poppier and more upbeat than anything else here.
This is an album that built to the career defining moments of "Violator" and "Songs Of Faith & Devotion" but itself never quites get there. Highly recommended all the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Depeche Mode - A Little Treasure To Behold, 7 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. David Stanton (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If Black Celebration was the ominous
metropolis looming over it's inhabitants
then this album is the spooky dark
wilderness that lies beyond the walls.
'Never Let Me Down' explodes onto
the eardrums like a juggernaut, booming
drumbeat and fanfare trumpets.
If Depeche Mode flirted with gay issues
in speak and spell, with this song alone
they broadcast it to the masses.
Martin Gore tackles personal themes like
feelings of trust and betrayal with
'The Things You Said' - 'Sacred' and
'To Have And To Hold'.
Ideas about taboo sexual preferences
and practises are explored by 'Strangelove'.
Or could this be an early hint about
Dave Gahan's involvement with drug addiction.
'Little 15' sounds like a story of an old
woman wishing she could be young again.
'Behind The Wheel' has a fantastic roadtrip
beat to it, but also explores more uncomfortable
taboos like their previous album.
'Nothing' takes a swipe at God again like
Blasphemous Rumours three years before.
Then there's 'PIMPF', a completely
awesome instrumental with vocal operatics
as if two seperate entities are having a
tug of war over the very soul of this album.
'PIMPF' would grace any themetune for a
gothic horror.
After this Depeche Mode haven't finished
their sorcery.
'Agent Orange' is one of their finest
instrumentals ever, it conjures up a film
score for any Sci-Fi horror.
The rest of the tracks are remixes of
previous songs.
This album is like the raw materials in
a laboratory that Depeche Mode are
trying to create something unique but
not quite managing it.
But they will succeed three years later!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of their finest albums, 19 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Music For The Masses (Audio CD)
Although not quite as dark as their previous effort, Black Celebration, this is still great. "Never let me down again", "little 15" & "Behind the wheel" are some of the finest tunes Martin Gore ever wrote. this album is full of quasi-gothic hooks. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 2 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Music For The Masses (Audio CD)
This album originates from the time when I first got into Depeche Mode. It does feature some excellent songs, but I always thought that the production was a little weak, and the best songs on here sounded much better on their live album 101. However, for me it's their earliest album that stills sounds decent today and a good precurser to their three latest and best albums. (Violator, SOFAD, Ultra)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music For The Masses (Audio CD)
xlnt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Music For The Masses
Music For The Masses by Depeche Mode (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews