Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unsurpassable
Ah... My entire life seemed to revolve around this album back in 1990/91. It was my first taste of the Cocteaus and remains my favourite album. It's only 37 minutes long but by the time track 10 fades out you'll swear you've been listening to it for hours, such is the emotional sweep that pervades it and carries the listener along. For me, the standout tracks were...
Published on 11 July 2000 by G. ADAIR

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This referes to the 2004 Remastered Version
Unfortunately Amazon does not respect the different Version of this album and summarizes everything under just the name.
But this so called Remastered Version is an insult to any audiophile with a decent HiFi set-up. The Loudness has wiped out any musicality and differentiation. Now everything a mash to the point that even the voice sounds shrill. It is headache...
Published 23 months ago by Oliver Wolter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous music, 11 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Heaven Or Las Vegas (Audio CD)
Liz Fraser, the Cocteau Twins' vocalist, sang recently on 'Teardrop' by Massive Attack. If you appreciated her voice there, you should get some Cocteau Twins stuff. You won't find anything really resembling a beat on 'Heaven or Las Vegas' - and the 'words' to the songs aren't really comprehensible - but the effect of her vocals and the swirling, moving backing music is awesome.
Best tracks are 'Heaven or Las Vegas', 'Frou-frou foxes in midsummer fires', 'Road, River and Rail' and 'Cherry-coloured funk', but *all* this material is really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven Or Las Vegas (Audio CD)
Transported me back to the late 80s again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far the best album of them, 16 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Heaven Or Las Vegas (Audio CD)
This is a must have album if you like Cocteau Twins and if you don't have any idea who are they, you should buy it because you will love it.
When you are listening you could transport to another dimension, Liz voice is extremely different and beautiful and the environment of the guitars is absolutely stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless and otherwordly masterpeice, 10 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven Or Las Vegas (Audio CD)
I have to confess this is the only Cocteau Twins album i have in my vast labyrinth of sounds and in my humble opinion it is my fave album of any moment. Song titles escape me, indeed why bring them down to words or titles when the music here is totally off this planet and flows like a stream of consciousness from start to finish.

Elizabeth Frazer pioneered the glossolalia technique to create a vast layered sonic template around the sounds of words where the words themselves seem to almost morph into each other, thus inventing her own language. Its beautiful and evocative but its also very clever, because although she can write straight forward lyrics, the technique is not to rely on just words and their meaning which most lyricists do, but rather let the sound of the words become the meaning which is then open to the listener's interpretation. Am i making sense?. Its a bit like seeing a parallelogram instead of a square if you will.

Its genius really as there have been so many songs i've loved and heard over the years and thought they meant something i actually heard or interpreted, only to be shown the lyrics and it was completely different, almost an anti climax. Ms Frazer knew this when she studied etymology and decided to just sprinkle words onto canvas and then join them up in any order but a grammatical one, going with her subconscious feel at the time. This results in an almost infinite sonic template as she uses her wonderfully unique gossamer voice coupled with Robin Guthrie's sublime sequenced guitars and effects with the fluid bass playing of Simon Raymonde and that ever trusty Roland which almost sounds like a real drummer On Ice Blink Luck. There's also a beautiful detached feeling of travel like on Road, River and Rail which will take your breath away such is the emotion they bring.

Sure there will always be CT fans that will put forward their intellectual preferences but don't let them put you off. Heaven Or Las Vegas is simply stunning and their most successful album ever. Get this and then try Head Over Heals and Treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most succesful Cocteau Twins album..., 12 Feb. 2005
By 
Jason Parkes (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Heaven Or Las Vegas (Audio CD)
'Heaven or Las Vegas' remains Cocteau Twins most succesful album, the band having a degree of commercial-success and a kind of hit-single with 'Iceblink Luck.' It is also their most succesful artistic album- balancing the more ambient/avant-elements of their sound with some wonderful songwriting/arrangements & a big change in Frazer's vocals, and most of all her lyrics (some of which are apparent- clearly pronounced words nuzzle against the alien/oblique). Despite being a fan of most of their oeuvre, 'Heaven or Las Vegas' remains my favourite album of theirs and perhaps their ultimate statement (no wonder the follow-up albums weren't that great- there wasn't really anywhere for them left to go & MBV had taken things to the next level in 1991 with 'Loveless').
Things open perfectly with 'Cherry Colored Funk', Liz Frazer sounding deeper on the verses, jarring against the heavenly-vocal styles of the past on the chorus (and then there's the line about "...andfallingeverythingelse..."). Even better is 'Pitch the Baby', possibly my favourite Cocteaus song and a track I can listen to over and over again without boredom (see also 'Loomer', 'Nocturne VII', 'Two Step', 'Into Dust', 'Indian Summer', 'Glass Onion', 'September Gurls', 'Orpheus', 'Surf's Up', 'Good Morning Captain', 'I'll Come Running' etc...)- the kind of song I can put on repeat until the end of time....
The rest of the album is as wonderful, evenmoreso in this remastered-edition - the title track sounding better than any drug I have ingested, while 'Fifty-Fifty Clown' is more alien-pop-perfection, possessing some lyrics that would also turn up in 'Iceblink Luck' b-side 'Watchlar' ("emotions are emotional- they are...")- which turned up on lovely career-compilation 'Stars & Topsoil.'
'Heaven or Las Vegas' reminds me of a certain age, though it manages to transcend nostalgia alone & seems to be one of those all-time classics (see also 'Rock Bottom', 'Sulk', 'Tilt', 'Spiderland', 'Laughing Stock', 'Loveless', 'Everclear', 'Star Sailor', 'No Other' etc). A definite desert-island disc for myself anyway...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heaven, 26 April 2009
By 
Mr. R. P. Crouch "richie" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven Or Las Vegas (Audio CD)
I have had this on a cassette I bought in Bali - a pirate copy! It was an impulse purchase - didn't know what it would be like. It quickly became one of my all time favourites. If you don't know the Cocteau Twins' music this is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cocteau Twins, 12 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven Or Las Vegas (Audio CD)
Bought this CD on the basis of hearing a track on Radio 6. Not disappointed. The Cocteau Twins make beautiful music which touches the soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the lesser Cocteau Twins albums, 21 Mar. 2008
By 
A. Mee "amee" (Kildare, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heaven Or Las Vegas (Audio CD)
***1/2

My first impression of Heaven or Las Vegas was that it was an attempt to take the singular, unique sound of the band's earlier album and combine it with the glossy sheen of early nineties adult radio. Given the benefit of hindsight, I've softened my stance on this album; it's probably not the calculated cynical manoeuvre I had originally thought. Heaven or Las Vegas is, however the first Cocteau Twins album that could be deemed bland.

Although the album is superficially similar to Blue Bell Knoll there is nothing here as memorable as Carolyn's Fingers or Blue Bell Knoll. The problem with Heaven or Las Vegas is not that it's in some way offensive, it is the fact that it is completely inoffensive. Songs drift by and leave little impression. I'm sure BBC radio programmers were excited about this album, but there's little here for the people who found the band's eighties material so exciting. The dark undertones and gripping melodies of the Cocteau Twins' earlier output have been ironed out in favour of a radio-friendly sheen.

That said, the are some good songs here; the album starts out strongly with Cherry-Colour Funk and Pitch The Baby, which are in fact among the band's best work. Fifty-Fifty Clown and Road, River And Rail are also very good. It is the more upbeat selections, Fotzepolitic, Iceblink Luck, Heaven or Las Vegas, that are the weakest songs here. There are, of course, many people who consider this album to be the best in the Cocteau Twins' catalogue, however having listened to almost all of the band's recorded output I'd have to put this album pretty low down on the list. I would recommend that anyone curious about the band should listen to Treasure, Victorialand, Blue Bell Knoll or Milk and Kisses, instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Jan. 2015
By 
belinda guidi (Glasgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven Or Las Vegas (Audio CD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cocteaus finest hour, 30 May 2000
By 
nicholas (Leatherhead, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heaven Or Las Vegas (Audio CD)
For me, all the tracks on this album are stand-out. This is one of those records you hear at a party and especially recall one haunting, spiralling track long after the night has gone. When you re-listen, you can't place it because all the tracks are so beautiful. As with all great music it reminds one of a specific moment in time, and unerringly takes you back whenever you press play. The track I heard that evening is Fotzepolitic, and at full tilt, it is all consuming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heaven Or Las Vegas
Heaven Or Las Vegas by Cocteau Twins (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews