Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Americana...
One of my very first albums ever and what a way to start off my collection. Every track, upbeat and pacy hitting you with heavy bass and pacy riffs, some hard to keep up with. 'Staring at the Sun' is one of the catchiest songs ever primarily down to its brilliant staggered guitar riff. Superb interlude half way through 'Have You Ever' showing that the electirc guitar...
Published on 7 Aug. 2006 by Mr. A. Galsworthy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A simple quote
"Like Limp Bizkit and the Manics, the Offspring have become what they set out to destroy."
Maybe, but it doesn't stop this album from being OK. Besides I hear their 6th album returns to their roots, meaning this was just the first shaky foot into the world of commercialism. Maybe after this they'll regain that footing, and although they can never hold the...
Published on 13 Dec. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Americana..., 7 Aug. 2006
This review is from: Americana (Audio CD)
One of my very first albums ever and what a way to start off my collection. Every track, upbeat and pacy hitting you with heavy bass and pacy riffs, some hard to keep up with. 'Staring at the Sun' is one of the catchiest songs ever primarily down to its brilliant staggered guitar riff. Superb interlude half way through 'Have You Ever' showing that the electirc guitar isn't the only instrument that can deliver porwerful precision with a quality bass solo. 'The Kids Aren't Alright' is one of my favourite songs of all time and through out you are fixated with brilliance. I thought the old boys had gone AWOL with 'Pay the Man'. Didn't give it the chance at first......I soon shut up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The offsprings best ever album, 30 July 2007
By 
T. Fitzpatrick (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Americana (Audio CD)
In my view this is the offspring's greatest ever album. It is a great record for those who like their hard rock and metal but don't like their music to be too serious. This is a fun album and contains many catchy pop-influenced songs especially "Pretty fly for a white guy" which had great chart success. There are also other standout songs such as "the kids aren't alright", "staring at the sun" and "Americana." These songs are all punk influenced nu metal songs that have an upbeat lively feel and there are no fillers on the album. The offspring like their music very fast and that is evident here with very fast vocals and guitars. This is a great party record and is easy to listen. It is a must have for any offspring fan and is the best place to start for any new fan interested in the band or for anyone who ever listened to pop-punk nu metal bands such as Sum 41 and Blink 182. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMERICANA AMERICANA AMERICANAAMERICAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 27 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Americana (Audio CD)
This is the best punk rock album EVER!there is not one bad track on that album. I first bnought it in a second hand shop after hearing it at my freinds hous it totaly converted me to Rock. There isnt one song on the album wichi havent listend to atleats 20 times and its still my favourite album and if i were to make an Offspring greatist hits album i would have to include about every Track there.If you like this album as much as i do i advise you to also buy Ixnay on the Hombre, Splinter and Conspiresey of one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A simple quote, 13 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Americana (Audio CD)
"Like Limp Bizkit and the Manics, the Offspring have become what they set out to destroy."
Maybe, but it doesn't stop this album from being OK. Besides I hear their 6th album returns to their roots, meaning this was just the first shaky foot into the world of commercialism. Maybe after this they'll regain that footing, and although they can never hold the dignity and respect they held before, they may be able to discreetly pull some of it back... we can only hope...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Album!, 20 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Americana (Audio CD)
This album kicks right in with the first song (2nd track after intro) to get you in the mood!
Overall I don't think you will want to skip tracks, as they are all slightly different to the others, which gives a nice mixture of feelings while listening to the album.
There are the smooth songs, just to lead you into the big hitters like Americana (the song), and Feelings.
I always listen all the way through, and love it everytime! Its not like other albums where once you've heard one song, you've heard them all, but always wanting you to stay to hear the next song.
I am very happy with my purchase, and recommend this to any Offspring fan, or anyone with a hint of modern Rock in their blood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Offspring - Americana, 20 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Americana (Audio CD)
By far the most commercially viable of all The Offspring releases to date. Album 5 continues (where Ix Nay started) to soften the raw sound of Dexter Holland's voice and Kevin Wasserman's Guitars, and while Holland's voice is still slightly ear grating, and very prominent in the mix, Americana is a departure from their rough furious jagged punk days.

Americana is also the first Offspring record that is geared towards singles, featuring a slew of radio friendly hits of the likes of "Pretty fly (for a white guy)", "The kids aren't alright" and "Why don't you get a job?", that will take anyone like me (who got into music through the Green Day / Sun 41 punk rock revival in the late 90s and early 00s) right back to those days. These new songs are more accessible and upbeat than any previous work.

If any criticism could be made of Americana, it is that as an album, it doesn't sit together as smoothly as Smash or Ix Nay, and because it is so geared towards individual songs, it plays more like a limited greatest hits album. That should not deter potential listeners, as some of The Offspring's best work can be found here - "Staring at the Sun" is a particular highlight. Americana is not a particularly rewarding listen, but it is an easy listen, and a very enjoyable one. There is enough upbeat punk pop to draw in the mainstream, and enough classic Offspring edginess to satisfy the older fans. By no means their best work, but nevertheless, good party album, that should be appreciated a song at a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Close, but no cigar!, 4 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Americana (Audio CD)
Having listened to the power that is Ixnay on the Hombre, I bought this album as soon as it came out, under the assumption that it would be as good a masterwork. I was two-thirds satisfied. It has got some pretty amazing songs, like 'Staring at the Sun', 'Americana' and 'Have you Ever?', but the others are really fillers. They have, in this record, chosen pop to rock, but it is still a very good album on the whole, and The Offspring fans will get enjoyment out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'm Sorry But It's Rubbish, 11 Dec. 1999
By 
This review is from: Americana (Audio CD)
Smash. Their best album. Ixnay on the Hombre. Another one of their greats. But this? This is terrible! Offspring have become more and more chart and pop main stream, and in doing so have lost all their loud and amazing talent. The only vaugely good song is the "Kids aren't Allright". Don't waste your money. Buy one of their earlier albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not their best, 8 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Americana (Audio CD)
The offspring are a great band. However this is not a great album. There are some good songs on the disk but Americana is completely let down by songs such as "why dont you get a job" and "pretty fly". The Offspring are a punk rock band so when they appeared in the pop charts i was horrified.
Buy their old albums not this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not their best, 28 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Americana (Audio CD)
Are you all crazy? This is the worst Offspring album out there. Sure we all enjoyed Pretty Fly but this album is just not Offspring. It only really gets going with End of the Line and No Brakes. I only pray that the Offspring are not crossing over to pop. If you want true Offspring, check out Smash or Ixnay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Americana
Americana by The Offspring (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews