Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars10
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2001
This is more than just a release in between proper albums, its an amazing album itself! It is the first album with the bands best line up, including new guitarist Stuart, (who's brilliant!) and new keyboard player Damien, whose their best. Aswell as an exelent remake of The Forest Whispers my name, the album has 5 new tracks. Queen of winter throned is an amazing epic classic, Nocturnal supremecy is a heavy classic, and she mourns a Lengthening shadow is the most beautiful track I've ever heard, and is a synthesiser only track. The other 2 new tracks are exelent aswell, and the drumming on the album is also stunning!!! This one of their best releases to date and a must for any black metal fan!!
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2001
This is more than just a release in between proper albums, its an amazing album itself! It is the first album with the bands best line up, including new guitarist Stuart, (who's brilliant!) and new keyboard player Damien, whose their best. Aswell as an exelent remake of The Forest Whispers my name, the album has 5 new tracks. Queen of winter throned is an amazing epic classic, Nocturnal supremecy is a heavy classic, and she mourns a Lengthening shadow is the most beautiful track I've ever heard, and is a synthesiser only track. The other 2 new tracks are exelent aswell, and the drumming on the album is also stunning!!! This one of their best releases to date and a must for any black metal fan!!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
this is the second release from cradle of filth and was released in 1996 and was well recieved and from here their fanbase grew,its also a more polished affair than their debut which was released in 1994,that much is evident as Vempire includes a re-released version of the forest whispers my name which appeared on the principle debut.

What you get here is six songs including the standard instrumental which always adds to the cradle of filth effect rather than takes away,its an ep that some consider an album but i have never seen it that way,it was an ep that was made to fill their contractual obligations to the record label before they jumped ship,but at 36 minutes long it is well worth the money.

Like i hinted at the production is better so danis range of vocals are more audible and the keyboards flow with the guitars better than before,the drums are manic and unrelenting.Ebony dressed for sunset opens the ep brilliantly with its haunting brilliance and it is here that you see the band creating their own style as opposed to the burzum influenced debut.

Queen of winter throned is also on here so by now you can tell that this ep is quality,of course cradle aint for everyone,my great friend says she hates danis squeal and his shout and his roar so she cant be helped i guess,anyway this is a brilliant example of cradles work,and a few months after this was released we had the release of the epic and beautiful dusk and her embrace and from that point cradle ruled extreme metal.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2004
This is possibly one of the finest works by Cradle Of Filth even though it was made mainly as a result of resolving a contract deal with Cacophonous records it certainly packs a punch for just for that.
1.Ebony Dressed For Sunset
A truly cliche Cradle Song fast thrashy tremlo harmonised guitar riffing and beautiful overlaying keyboard melodies cleverly merges into...
2.The Forest Whispers My Name
A re-recorded version of the Principle Of Evil Made Flesh song and another true COF classic. Starts with a quirky little bass riff and keyboard melody then goes into something of a majestic and tragic song.
3.Queen Of Winter, Throned
This song lasts around about ten mintutes and is probally one of Cradles best songs ever. It is a truly amazing song thats all I have to say on that one.
4.Nocturnal Supremacy
The passage in Phallestien just keeps getting better! Extremely stupidly technical drumming on this an awsome song another reason to grim and necro : )
5.She Mourns A Lengthening Shadow
An instrumental, and a good one aswell very similar to a Bitter Suites To Succubi one. Has a nice feel to it long kind of chamber music thing quite cool.
6.The Rape And The Ruin Of Angels (Hosannas In Extremis)
Another quite long song, good in all way of things, some good little riffs in here a real gem of a song another reason to be grim and necro and burn angels ;) Anyway Dani's vocals are quite cool on it and its just another example of what Cradle can do!
So my conclusion is that if your not scared by the rather sadistic artwork of this album then buy it to complete your discography! Its a nice little E.P. full of the original COF Gothic Vampyric atmosphere if you want that kind of Cradle buy The Principle Of Evil Made Flesh, This one, Dusk And Her Embrace and Cruelty And The Beast! So what else can I say? What are you waiting for you prude? Get of your arse and buy it!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
Of all the black metal acts of the 1990s and beyond, Cradle of Filth were always a little set apart from their peers. The po-faced Scandinavian originators of this sub-genre of a sub-sub-genre, despite my love of much of their music were just a bit too serious for me, which is why I was instantly drawn to the hammy Hammer-esque outpourings of Cradle of Filth. As a semi-retired metal fan, there are a few albums (or EPs) that have stopped me ever quite cutting myself free of metal's apron strings. My tastes have moved on into classical and electronic music (note: moved on - not improved), but Cradle of Filth's `Vempire' along with some Slayer, Sepultura and Black Sabbath albums, to name a few, remain amongst my very favourite music. There is undoubtedly an element of nostalgia in this, but I'd like to think in this instance that it is the quality of the music that keeps me coming back after 15 years.

Cradle of Filth's first album, `The Principle of Evil Made Flesh', was rather rough around the edges album in terms of production. The synths/keyboards are, un-intentionally, hilariously bad in places, but the quality of the expansive song writing shines through for the most part. `Vempire' was essentially an unwanted, but necessary EP, to complete an unwanted record contract with Candlelight Records, before moving over to Music for Nations for the album `Dusk and Her Embrace', and because of this it has often been summarily dismissed, by both fans (though not on here) and critics, but for me Cradle of Filth never made anything as good as `Vempire'.

Firstly, the production on `Vempire' is outstanding. I don't mean it sounds like the Black Album, but for an extravagant black metal ensemble it is brilliant. The balance between the guitars, keys and drums is almost perfect, with each element coming to the fore without overly dominating. Nick Baker's drums positively boom with precision and clarity, without being strangled as they were on `Cruelty and the Beast'. The `strings' of the keyboards aren't overly exposed and therefore don't suffer as they did at times on `Dusk...' and `Cruelty...'. On the atmospheric `She Mourns a Lengthening Shadow' the long, slow synths don't sound particularly `real' but the track is a convincing enough, reverb swamped interlude for this not to be a problem.

Dani Filth's vocals are outstanding. His variety of screams, growls and, very briefly, clean vocals, are a wonder to behold. The EP contains some genuinely tuneful moments pitted against Dani Filth's spectacular throat, perfectly presenting the marriage of beauty and terror that Cradle of Filth aspired to. The vocals are of course an acquired taste, and have no doubt put many off over the years.

What, however, makes this such an enthralling collection is the wonderful song writing. Sure, `The Forest Whispers My Name' is a re-recording and `Queen of Winter Throned' is a re-hash of several other Cradle of Filth songs, but they are so expertly rendered here that this scarcely matters. Things rattle along, with idea after idea flying out of the speakers. There are ferocious, guitar-led moments with drums blasting away furiously mixed with quieter almost reflective moments. For me the real highlight of the EP comes near to its conclusion. At the end of `The Rape and Ruin of Angels', a simple, slow, initially bass-lead motif, blossoms into a brilliantly epic figure, mixing female speech with coarse vocals and a fine melody, bringing the whole affair to its bitter, bloody end, as we descend slowly into hell.

I stopped listening to Cradle and metal in general after `Cruelty and the Beast'. I occasionally check out their more recent work, but none of it ever strikes me as doing much more than treading water, basking in the glory of the increasingly distant brilliance of this masterwork. It remains one of a tiny handful of albums that I can honestly say I never tire of, and if that's not praise enough, nothing is.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
Approximately 20 years ago I heard a song that would change my life forever. It was on a Metal Hammer magazine cover CD and went by the name Nocturnal Supremacy. I'd never heard "extreme metal" before and this track blew my head off... The drumming in particular
Needless to say I immediately bought the EP and then Dusk.... Etc and got totally into the whole black metal thing.
Like others have said the production on this is borderline perfection - all the instruments are clear and sharp and it really makes you wonder how their subsequent releases were so bad in the production stakes (especially CatB) when they got it so right here.
Standout tracks are Queen of Winter and Nocturnal Supremacy. Best work cradle have ever done and still sound utterly amazing today.
Have to mention Nick Barkers drumming on this album as its quite exceptional - his now trademark creative flair is there along with relentless brutality. Genius behind the kit.
Still a very listenable album 20 years on and often my go to "wake up" album on my commute to work in the morning.
Classic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2000
This was the CD used to break themselves away from Cacophonous records (who they were in dispute with over a number of issues)...
You can FEEL the venom in the tracks, from the heavier-feeling re-make of their song "The Forest Whispers My Name", to the excellent "Queen Of Winter, Throned" and "Nocturnal Supremacy".
Being the first album that guitarist Stuart Anstis played on for Cradle (playing all guitars - "Jared Demeter" is really Stuart), it shows that COF had just taken a big leap up in the world by taking on a truly superb musician.
BUY THIS ALBUM! It's a must for all COF fans.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
Cradle never fail to impress me, this album is an inspiration, and a good adoptation to what gothic metal is all about.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
the filth at there metal and erotic best, a mini album but 36mins long,longer than some full albums.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2004
My background - 3 years of extreme metal. Cradle of filth being my favourite band for the past year and a half. Ive listened to death metal like cryptopsy and exhumed, and black metal like Emperor, burzum, darkthrone etc. But cradle remained my favourite. Up until recently i had all the albums minus Principle of evil made flesh, Vempire or dark faerytales in phallustein and Bitter suites.
The first thing i noticed when i began to listen to this album with full attention was that this was the best music id ever heard. Sinister sounding bass, incredible guitarwork and the most precise and unbelievable drumming iv ever heard! I know these things are redundant without songwriting skills. But luckilly the songs are great in this album so the musicianship is a skillfull creative expression of the songwriting. Then we have the vocals.. which are the best CoF have ever done (in comparison to dusk,cruelty,midian,enslave,damnation). When i actually listened hard to the vocals not only was it amazing skill wise vocally and stamina (Dani shrieks for ages, slowly quietening down.. only to then pick up the volume and go into a new shriek on the same breath!) but i also suddenly realized how EVIL they sounded! After this album (especially cruelty onwards) the vocals are totally different, they sound much more human like. This stuff sounds like an imp or demon in the pits of hell shrieking like its dying.. its totally savage. I was questioning whether this was human! Regardless, these are the most interesting and fitting vocals CoF have ever used. Though they DO sound very genuinely evil, which most of us won't notice until focusing our attention to them. (They made me think.. omg, i listen to this all the time! why? am i evil? Is this legal?! etc!)
Finally, the production is faultless, easilly the best the band has ever done (well.. similar to dusk...). Compare it to the tinny sound of cruelty (with the high pitched bass drum).. the worst was on the midian album however.. dear the drums sound aweful on it.. for a start they don't sound like a drum kit, and secondly the symbols and hi-hat etc are completely non existent, buried under the mix; and on damnation the drums sound more brutally explosive but less raw. However on Vempire, the whole mix is perfect, the drums sound brilliant with great symbol and hi hat sounds and everything can be heard.
The tracks - The first 5 tracks are all brilliant, the final track, while good, can get monotonous because through most of the song the guitars are ripping out thrash sequences which vary a lot, and drone on a bit. That is my only negative with this album. Ebony dressed for sunset is a ripping, brilliant intro. The Forest... is one of my favourites with its groovy intro and everything else is crushing! Queen of Winter is a massive epic, the drumming is excellent throughout, but the final 2 minutes of this song are incredible, with high speed bass drumming accompanied with varied speed snare and tom fills. My other mention is Nocturnal Supremacy, which is another amazing song. If you like extreme music, you NEED this album.
0Comment3 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.73

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.