Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best country album ever!
This is definetly the best country music album you can get. It sounds much more modern than a lot of other country music you hear and every song is beautiful. It didn't suprise me to find out recently that this album got into the record books for being the best selling country album of all time, selling something like 20 million. Buy it and even people who think they...
Published on 7 Mar 2002 by Kevin Somerville

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cd sticks on last two tracks
I was disappointed to find out that the cd sticks on the last two tracks - so I will have to buy another 😒
Published 10 months ago by Sally Ellingworth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best country album ever!, 7 Mar 2002
By 
Kevin Somerville "KevSom" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WIDE OPEN SPACES (Audio CD)
This is definetly the best country music album you can get. It sounds much more modern than a lot of other country music you hear and every song is beautiful. It didn't suprise me to find out recently that this album got into the record books for being the best selling country album of all time, selling something like 20 million. Buy it and even people who think they hate country music, listen to it and you'd probably change your opinion of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The reason I listen to Country Music!, 28 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: WIDE OPEN SPACES (Audio CD)
Having seen the performance of what has to be one of the most emotional songs ever written, "You were mine" I was sold on the Dixie Chicks and a listen to the album had me sold on country music. I have bought lots of country music since but this is still the best album I own and it will take another exceptional talent to change that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality album that catapulted Chicks to superstardom, 22 Aug 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WIDE OPEN SPACES (Audio CD)
This was actually the fourth album by the Dixie Chicks, but the first on a major label and it was also the first since Natalie joined the group. It features many great tracks, including covers of songs previously recorded by Elvis Presley (Loving arms), Marie McKee (Am I the only one who's ever felt this way) and Bonnie Raitt (Give it up or let me go). All those covers are quite impressive, given the distinctive Dixie Chicks treatment. However, it is the original songs that really are outstanding.
The album even yielded a British pop hit (There's your trouble) which is not easy for a country act to achieve, especially one that owes so much to the traditional roots of the music. Somehow, the Dixie Chicks found a way to sound sufficiently contemporary to appeal to people who normally don't like country music, yet still managed to sound traditional enough for the majority of diehard country fans.
Apart from There's your trouble, I can love you better, Wide open spaces, You were mine and Tonight the heartache's on me are other notable highlights, although every song here would be a highlight on most country albums – that's how strong this album is.
Whether singing ballads or up-tempo songs, the Dixie Chicks set a standard that others can only dream of matching. The years of obscurity paid off in a big way with this, one of the best country albums ever released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Play that geeetar Tommy!", 9 Jun 2007
By 
Mark R. Bannister (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: WIDE OPEN SPACES (Audio CD)
Introducing us to their rhythmic and melodious country/rock style, and their infectiously candid and assertive manner that would later get them rather unfairly into political hot water, the feisty Dallas trio's first mainstream album is a fantastic example of country music that has been made accessible to a wider audience.

The Chicks are entertaining, they sound as if they really had a lot of fun making this album, and their performances are full of spirit and energy - they're a joy to listen to. The album also has heart and soul, there's a lot of humanity in the lyrics which might not be immediately obvious to the casual listener.

However, I did feel that they were holding something back on these recordings, there was even more life they could have injected into their performances. The Chicks have some clearly talented musicians working with them, I would have liked to have heard that talent come out more often.

That said, some tracks have the same energy as a live performance, particularly the last one "Give It Up Or Let Me Go", which is an excellent closer to the album and leaves you in an upbeat mood, wanting more. This demonstrates I think, that here's a band that knows how to put on a great show, whether it be in a recording studio or at a live concert, and their music is perhaps best enjoyed from that perspective.

I actually prefer this album to Home (2002), which sounded just a little more laboured, and as a result a little less entertaining. If you're new to the Chicks, I'd definitely start with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 22 Nov 2006
This review is from: WIDE OPEN SPACES (Audio CD)
This is the first of four classic albums by an amazing band. I only heard of the Dixie chicks by word of mouth, I'm so glad I know about them because the have made some of the greatest songs of all time.

You cant put into words how great these girls are, you just gotta give it a try and you will not regret it. I bet you would also buy their later albums.

Every song is without fault, just classic country rock.

I've had this cd for years now and I still listen to it, its something that you wont get sick of.

Songs like `let er rip' and `Loving arms' are brilliant, they all are.

Well worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Country Bliss, 8 Jan 2004
This review is from: WIDE OPEN SPACES (Audio CD)
This album is truly OUTSTANDING! The songs her the best of traditional country music. The singing is angelic and the songs are so tasteful and well written.
The album starts with the wonderful "I Can Love You Better", this is country perfection and can compete so easily with some of the biggest country legends.
"Wide Open Spaces" is beautiful, the best song on the album and the voice is so heartwarming and soft it just melts you away. "Theres Your Trouble" is slightly more upbeat and very catchy, so much so that i can't resist singing along. Of the ballads theres the beautiful and heartfelt "Loving Arms" which is brings a tear to your eye, but because your enjoying it so much not because it depresses you. "You Were Mine" is an instrumental song which can be very enjoyable even without singing, the girls are talented musicians. "Give It Up Or Let Me Go" is so fun and catchy that i sing along every time and it would be enjoyed emensly by lovers of country music.
"Let Er Rip" would do you good, i enjoy this song so much and i don't get bored when i get this far into the album. Let me also put in a good word for "Am I The Only One Who Has Ever Felt Like This", i love it.
This album is a credit to country music so give it a try. If you want Shania Twain style country then this isn't what your looking for but i love Shania Twain and i love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely amazing!!!, 2 Mar 2002
By 
"snow_princess" (London, - England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: WIDE OPEN SPACES (Audio CD)
the first time i heard the dixie chicks was when i was staying in new york and i thought it was the best music ever. im not usually into country music but this is really cool and it makes you feel great whatever mood youre in. their other album "Fly" is also brilliant. there are a mixture of love and upbeat songs on both albums. they also play their own instruments which makes them really unique these days. buy it and you wont be disappointed lol!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are They The Best Ever?, 20 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: WIDE OPEN SPACES (Audio CD)
The Dixie Chicks are something very special indeed! Plucked from busking on the streets of Chicago and put in a recording studio which is where they belong! Natalie Maines delivers such perfect vocals as do Emily and Martie on harmony. My favourite track is 'I'll Take Care Of You' simply because it is such a beautiful song!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album everyone should own., 8 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: WIDE OPEN SPACES (Audio CD)
I like rock, heavy rock and pop so it may come as a surprise that I got into country when I was in Florida (I hate Dolly Parton though). I heard a good bit of Dixie Chicks on the radio and was instantly seduced by the Dixie Chicks and Martina McBride (and a few more like the Wilinsons. Diamond Dio, Alan Jackson and Lonestar). But the Dixie's were the best. (Girls if you are reading this please invite me to the after concert party when you play in the UK.) This is their best album. Fly is also ace. What the hell, buy them both! These girls are modern country and a million miles away from that cliché Nashville sound. You won't regret buying this album so go straight to the shopping basket!!! Chris Arnold, Saatchi & Saatchi, London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chill Bump Harmony Like A Soft Country Breeze., 26 Jan 2009
This review is from: WIDE OPEN SPACES (Audio CD)
This is a real fine country album. Not just worth a buy and not just worth a listen. It's a great first album by real Dixie Chics. It oozes country, every melody, every harmony.

It's a great collection of songs that kicked off their career including the hits 'Wide Open Spaces', There's Your Trouble' and 'You Were Mine'. There's also a great rendition of the Tom Jans song 'Loving Arms' most famously recorded by Elvis Presley for 'Good Times'. Get it for the weeping fiddle, the blissful harmony and a dixie melody. Adios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WIDE OPEN SPACES
WIDE OPEN SPACES by Dixie Chicks (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews