Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this album!
If you want the recordings of Robert Johnson make sure you buy King of the Delta blues singers volume I and II. Don't make the mistake of getting one of the other compilations as you will end up with an inferiour sound quality compared to King of the Delta blues singers volume I and II.
Published on 16 Dec 2010 by musicman

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound Quality excells!
Being a great fan of Robert Johnson I own most of his cds and this one has without doubt the best sound quality of them all. My only reservation is that unlike some of the other cds it does not include all of his tracks which is a pity. For true Robert Johnson fans I would recommend "The Complete Recordings", the sound quality is not quite as good but it is more...
Published on 17 Jun 2007 by Rob Dylan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this album!, 16 Dec 2010
This review is from: King Of The Delta Blues Singers (Audio CD)
If you want the recordings of Robert Johnson make sure you buy King of the Delta blues singers volume I and II. Don't make the mistake of getting one of the other compilations as you will end up with an inferiour sound quality compared to King of the Delta blues singers volume I and II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must Have, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of The Delta Blues Singers (Audio CD)
For many musicians and fans of the blues, this is one of those "where it all started for me" albums. I would recommend having a listen to the track samples before you buy as it may be an aquired taste for some. I like it as a change of mood. Late night music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing more to say -its the very best, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of The Delta Blues Singers (Audio CD)
Five stars not enough for this absolute classic blues album. There is nobody else to touch Johnson, and however often imitated by great musicians (and not so great) this is the towering individual delta guitar set. Widely copied, never matched, If RJ really did sell his soul to the devil in exchange for a unique fingering style, as one of his songs suggests, the rest of us may think the deal was well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Introduction To A Legend, 25 Mar 2007
This review is from: King Of The Delta Blues Singers (Audio CD)
As a musician, I'm always keen to explore new horizons in sounds, hence Johnny Cash, hence The Specials, hence Bob Dylan being in my collection, however I don't think any of those artists could have prepared me for the power of Robert Johnson.

Armed with nothing more than his acoustic and his heart aching voice, Johnson defined the genre known as the blues. Whilst he may not be as popular as the likes of BB King, Stevie Ray Vaughn or T Bone Walker, he still stands a figurehead and this album could be seen as a history lesson in itself.

Recorded in the late 1930's and remastered for the new millenium, Johnson's songs talk about broken relationships, sadness and satanism. Of course, if you have read the stories then you will have heard about how Johnson sold his soul to become a fantastic musician. However, you should not let this put off, songs like Cross Road Blues, 32-20 Blues, Come On In My Kitchen and Last Fair Deal Gone Down are testaments to his talents.

It must be noted there are some glitches, particularly in Terraplane Blues, where Johnson's voice scratches (don't forget this was in the 1930's so there wasn't the technology we have today) but again its almost like finding an ancient artifact.

If you like your music to be relaxed occasionally, with smooth playing and soulful singing, then here you'll be in for a treat. Never has anyone played an acoustic with such skill and remain distinctive, simply put there will never be another like him.

Go on treat yourself :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Robert johnson, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Of The Delta Blues Singers (Audio CD)
Only given four star as first track does not play without getting stuck, generally a fist class blues cd for all blues lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound Quality excells!, 17 Jun 2007
This review is from: King Of The Delta Blues Singers (Audio CD)
Being a great fan of Robert Johnson I own most of his cds and this one has without doubt the best sound quality of them all. My only reservation is that unlike some of the other cds it does not include all of his tracks which is a pity. For true Robert Johnson fans I would recommend "The Complete Recordings", the sound quality is not quite as good but it is more comprehensive and in my opinion represents better value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your Last Fair Deal, 22 Feb 2010
This review is from: King Of The Delta Blues Singers (Audio CD)
Upon hearing these recordings, your respective cities' deltas just won't seem to suffice like Robert Johnson's. This is blues in its element, delivered by an enigmatic hero who basically sneezed the stuff. Discussing Robert Johnson's small but invaluable work's influence only adds fervour to what they are: individual bales of pained and stark beauty from which everything would now be derivative.
The horn-laden Chicago grandeur of the likes of B.B. King (though brilliant in itself), didn't sear through me in the way that the ultimate testament to the Old Nick-troubled blues bard, 'Hellhound on My Trail' did, along with the lonesome sincerity of 'Come On in My Kitchen'. It's still genuine and unsettling to this day, more so than any corpsepainted black metal knobs with development problems, anyway.
And with the music came the folklore of the man. A twelve bar expeditionary I was, this occupation always leading me to the same obscure circumstances of Johnson's ever mysterious life and death.
Johnson was popular music's first Byronic hero. His songs were concerned with and categorised by such pursuits as hard drinking, Satan, and shagging. And this is long before Jimmy Page, or even Aleister Crowley(sort of) were banging on about it, yet a fatal personal insecurity looms over every last cut without a hint of the pretension of future rock myths.
The recording value is nothing short of hypnotic. Just the sound of the moaning troubadour himself, his guitar, and the frying eggs of trouble in the background. An astonishing, historic document of unprecedented worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great but not the one to get, 28 Oct 2002
By 
doublegone (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: King Of The Delta Blues Singers (Audio CD)
This collection was the holy grail for folk blues fans for decades. The songs, lyrics, riffs and emotions contained within it were recycled with varying degrees of success by thousands of would-be bluesers, rock and rollers and pop stars.

It remains the BLUEprint.

But these days, and for only a few quid more - you can have Robert Johnson's Complete Works which has the songs here plus some alternative versions. This music is so important you should really have it all, so best buy the complete works.

(Edit Dec 2011) The complete recordings are now actually cheaper than this album. There is some debate that the sound quality is better here. Given you can get both for less than a chart CD - get the lot I say!

Just wanted to also add an anecdote from the Bob Dylan book, Chronicles: Volume One. It seems that before the release of this album in the 1960s, Johnson was pretty unknown even amongst specialist music fans. Dylan was given an early pressing and was immediately blown away by what he heard. He rushed round to play the record to his friend Dave Van Ronk, a devotee of finger-style blues guitar. Van Ronk, hearing this music for the first time, having never heard of Johnson, was unimpressed and thought he was merely a poor copyist of Charlie Patton. Imagine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Aye, well Hmmmmm, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen J. Farthing "Steve" (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King Of The Delta Blues Singers (Audio CD)
I have the original on LP and the second volume. Also a couple of the CD compilations. All are OK.

Robert Johnson is arguably one of the most over hyped blues guitarists there has ever been. Back in the 60s, when i was a lad, people like Eric Clapton would tell people, in Melody Maker, that Johnson was the best player ever. At the time this was probably the only pre electric era blues recording you could easily buy in Europe. And of course a lot of us budding guitarists went out and bought it. And were happy until we tried to imitate his playing.

Forty years or so on, still playing, still very much a blues enthusiast I have a very different opinion. I have listened to a lot of old blues, courtesy of nice people like Yazoo Records, Document Records and many others. There were many better guitarists about. If you want ragtime blues you will find no better recordings than the early ones by "Blind" Blake. If you want minimalist accurate finger picking try "Mississippi" John Hurt. If you want slide playing try "Blind" Willie Johnson. If you want rude blues Bo Carter is your man. If you want stage presence and fine slide playing check out Son House. The list is pretty much endless.

The best I can say about Johnson is that he was "OK" his real strength was being to play in a number of styles. And he, and T Bone Walker, started me out on a 40 year journey through the blues. very much like Eric Clapton in the John Mayall years. When I first heard him I was amazed. That lasted until I heard the Freddy King version and some Albert KIng records. Then I understood that Clapton, like Robert Johnson, had merely copied those that came before. Nothing wrong with copying, every blues artist did it to some extent, but discovering that they had done took the icing off the cake a bit! Having lit the blue touch paper I'll duck now ..... :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the important recordings are on this album, the rest are just average blues, 7 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: King Of The Delta Blues Singers (Audio CD)
Unlike the other reviewers I would say that if you want to have a collection that shows you can tell the difference between inspiration and the run-of-the mill then you should have this original release (at least on a major label) and if you must have the rest for purposes of comparison then it is best kept to one side. The rest does not demonstrate anything except the difference, and also that the basic blues can be pretty boring even when played by it's greatest artist and perhaps its only genius. I bought this on vinyl in 1968 and can still remember how disappointed I was a year or so later when I got vol.2. There was a lot more of the same but without the intensity. Whoever compiled this first album did a very good job and got it right every time.
The reason is simply that there is no contrapuntal tension in the other recordings and without that there is nothing worth listening to. Johnson's best tracks belong to the 'neo-contrapuntal' category of music with their jumpy, unpredictable Dionysian rhythms in unstable time signatures, and with him playing and singing in different rhythms. He shares this category with the best of Cream's music live, and Stravinsky's 'Rite of Spring'. When live and playing in their most exciting manner, Led Zeppelin and Tom Verlaine's Television sometimes also belong in this category. Studio recordings usually iron out this valuable and rare quality so that the 'life of the body' is removed from the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King Of The Delta Blues Singers
King Of The Delta Blues Singers by Robert Johnson (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews