Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars contains the best ever cover of any Bob Dylan tune
It doesn't matter that Joe Cocker covers other peoples tunes. The fact that most of the songs on this album are cover versions does not discredit it at all. When Joe Cocker covers a song, he makes it his own. Take the title track, in no way, besides the lyrical content, is this song similar to Ringo Starr's version on SGT Pepper. The thing that makes this album great, is...
Published on 20 Nov 2000

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Problems playing
The artist and music are great - but I knew that already - the cd does its own playing up on differing sound systems - have been reliably informed that the technology is the issue so have not returned as I would normally
Published 16 months ago by Jamie Clynch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars contains the best ever cover of any Bob Dylan tune, 20 Nov 2000
By A Customer
It doesn't matter that Joe Cocker covers other peoples tunes. The fact that most of the songs on this album are cover versions does not discredit it at all. When Joe Cocker covers a song, he makes it his own. Take the title track, in no way, besides the lyrical content, is this song similar to Ringo Starr's version on SGT Pepper. The thing that makes this album great, is that it takes songs that everyone knows (Just Like A Woman, Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood, Bye Bye Blackbird) and puts a completely different edge to them. If you need convincing of the greatness of this album, listen to "I Shall Be Released", which is a Bob Dylan number, and in my opinion, the best Bob Dylan cover I have ever heard. (Yes, better than "All Along The Watchtower" by Hendrix and "Mr Tambourine Man" by The Byrds). The album was largely overlooked at the time of its release, despite containing the UK #1 single, but be assured that, as far as 60s rock goes, it doesn't usually get a lot better than this! Even the lesser known tunes such as "Sandpaper Cadillac" and "Change In Louise" are fantastic. The album is a sort of Ray Charles meets Janis Joplin. Powerful, bluesy and sophisticated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sums up how far rock had come during the sixties, 19 Aug 2006
By 
B (Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Without doubt one of the greatest albums ever made. Few albums sum up quite so well, how far rock had come during the sixties and how great it can be both technically and emotionally. There are 8 great tracks on here and two disposable covers (Feeling Alright - the original Traffic versions in far better and Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood). I would love to hear a version of With a Little Help without the accursed fiddling with the volume controls on the mixer - if such a thing exists. Cocker - Stainton was one of the great teams in music at the time. Possibly the greatest vocals ever on any album. The next album Joe Cocker! is very similar, not quite so awesome but still essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential, 26 Aug 2006
By 
martin_peg (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I know its hard to work up enthusiasm for an album of cover versions but this is that rare thing, a set of covers that work as new compositions. His singing is awesome, to use a devalued word properly for once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a golden oldie, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
for me this was a blast from the past I've been meaning to update from vinyl for ages. Its a favourite old blues/ rock album from a great singer with a great sounding gravel voice and hes also from my home town....Also, some of his band went to my old school, which really makes it a nostalgic kind of album. So if you want a slice of a time when things seemed much simpler and straight forward in music terms and what i call honest down to earth stuff this is a great album. I suppose everyone has some kind of music and performer that brings back certain memories and times in their life though!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joe Cocker At His Best, 2 Dec 2013
By 
Neil T. B. Smith "musicmad60s" (shropshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having heard most of the tracks never actually purchased this album when released in the 60's , now having purchased it , oh what a idiot i was , a great debut album , Joe at his great soulful gravely voice , Brill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i bought this for one song but the whole cd is full off classic sounds but fab music from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best compilation of Joe's early material, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All my favourite early Joe Cocker tracks on one digitally remastered CD, with some excellent sleeve notes and at a great price. Everything considered, it doesn't get better than this. There isn't anything I didn't like though my stand out tracks are Feeling Alright, Marjorine and Do I Still Figure In My Life. Anyone who loves Joe Cocker or late 60s music should love this collection. Superb overall quality and value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have loved this album since I was at school dont know why I took so long to buy it on cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Gravel voice himself, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great collection and a good addition to the record collection Joe cocker at his best over many a year. played it a lot since I got it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gread Album, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great Album, Was bought for my wife as a mothers day present and she thinks its great and loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

With a Little Help From My Fri
With a Little Help From My Fri by Joe Cocker (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews