Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Definitive Slice of Bolan
The first 'proper' album I ever heard, although I didn't personally own a copy until a good few years later. Actually a compilation, (something I didn't, in my youthful enthusiasm, realise at the time,) Bolan Boogie features all of T. Rex's pre-EMI hits, plus a liberal sprinkling of other tracks from the Fly era. Over 30 years later this is still my favourite Bolan...
Published on 10 Mar 2004 by S. Jones

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange mix of early & middle periods
This collection represents a mix of Marc Bolan/T-Rex's very early work, like Beltane Walk, King Of The Mountain Cometh and She Was Born To Be My Unicorn, plus the great hits from 1970 to 1971 like Get It On, Ride A White Swan and Hot Love. These three masterpieces saw the band in their prime. The album is enjoyable and the music still rocks, but there are plenty better...
Published on 23 July 2007 by Pieter Uys


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Definitive Slice of Bolan, 10 Mar 2004
By 
S. Jones "Steve Jones" (Telford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bolan Boogie (Audio CD)
The first 'proper' album I ever heard, although I didn't personally own a copy until a good few years later. Actually a compilation, (something I didn't, in my youthful enthusiasm, realise at the time,) Bolan Boogie features all of T. Rex's pre-EMI hits, plus a liberal sprinkling of other tracks from the Fly era. Over 30 years later this is still my favourite Bolan album, not due to nostalgia but because of the varied selection of excellent songs.
I adored the fragile charm of the more acoustic Tyrannosaurus Rex, and I loved the in-your-face strut of T. Rex at the height of their glam-rock fame, so inevitably the transition period between the two extremes provides a rich vein of entertainment for me. This album provides a near perfect snapshot of this stage of Bolan's evolution. As well Ride A White Swan/Hot Love/Get It On/Jeepster, there are such gems as Raw Ramp, Woodland Rock and (for my money) the definitive version of Eddie Cochran's Summertime Blues. If I could only keep one Bolan artefact from my collection then this would be the one. Definitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Curious compilation of early T.rex, 7 Jun 2002
This review is from: Bolan Boogie (Audio CD)
This is quite an odd collection of tracks from Bolan's Late Tyranosaurus Rex period and early T.Rex period! Though at times a little eclectic, the tracks are classic Bolan. Songs that are familiar glam rock staples such as 'Get It On' and 'Jeepster' sit alongside the more innocent songs of 'By The Light Of A Magical Moon' and 'She Was Born To Be My Unicorn'. Then there are great tracks from the more transitional, electric sounding T.Rex e.g. 'Ride A White Swan', with my favourite being the brilliant 'The King of the Mountain Cometh'. This album contains an excellent selection of songs and demonstrates how Bolan's style changed during the early 70's. Well worth listening to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shame it's not remastered, 11 Oct 2002
By 
T. Clark (Sunny Southend) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bolan Boogie (Audio CD)
I bought this for the mighty Raw Ramp, which should be on every T-Rex best of but bizarrely only seems to be available here. The earlier stuff is interesting to hear but I'm into Bolan's sex drenched electric stuff. The sound is terrible by today's cd standards. Compare Get It On here with the remastered Electric Warrior and you'll see what I mean. I give it four stars but to be honest if Raw Ramp wasn't on it I wouldn't have bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Early Bolan Compilation, 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: Bolan Boogie (Audio CD)
The 1972 compilation album Bolan Boogie is as good an introduction to the music of Marc Bolan as any of his albums, either in the guise of T.Rex or their predecessors Tyrannosaurus Rex. Just to put things in perspective, I rate Bolan as one of the greatest ever 'pop music' composers, along with David Bowie and Ray Davis.

Bolan Boogie is an inventive mix of single A and B-sides, together with a selection of songs from T.Rex and Tyrannosaurus Rex albums. It contains T.Rex's first four hit singles Ride A White Swan, Hot Love, Get It On and Jeepster (the first and last of which are, for me, T.Rex's greatest singles), the outstanding Beltane Walk and Jewel from T.Rex's debut album and a selection of songs from the Tyrannosaurus Rex albums Unicorn and Beard of Stars. However, for me, the outstanding (largely unrecognised) song on the album is the magnificent Raw Ramp (B-side to Get It On), an absolutely epic mix of dreamy, early-Bolan style whimsy-infused introduction, followed by an awe-inspiring rock beat, equal to anything T.Rex subseqently produced. Raw Ramp also appears on very few of the other available T.Rex compilations.

However, regardless of whether you wish to simply rock out to some of the greatest 'glam rock' riffs ever or simply lie back and let Bolan's magical (and completely incomprehensible) lyrics ('the woman from the plateaus of Persia came to sell me a wondrous thing, in a horn of oak with a sulphurous smoke, she gave me King Solomon's ring' or 'Jackdaw winter head clean his chalcedony bed, a silken word of kind was returned from Nijinsky Hind') wash over you, this is the perfect album for it. Whilst some may regard the masterpieces that were Beard Of Stars, Electric Warrior or The Slider as more clearly defined conceptual albums, this compilation contains some rare and essential listening.

And of course, Bolan was a massive influence on some of the later, great music produced by Bowie, Mott The Hoople and The Smiths (Johnny Marr citing Bolan as one of his major guitar influences).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good compilation but due a remaster, 9 Aug 2010
This review is from: Bolan Boogie (Audio CD)
Released as a cash in at the time of his phenomenal success during 1972, this is actually a worthy compilation mixing Tyrannosaurus Rex and T.Rex tracks, with some great b-sides thrown in, like the peerless 'Raw Ramp' - a b-side!?
But I do have to agree with the other poster here that it should be remastered. Nevertheless, a good compilation for the casual Bolan fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange mix of early & middle periods, 23 July 2007
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bolan Boogie (Audio CD)
This collection represents a mix of Marc Bolan/T-Rex's very early work, like Beltane Walk, King Of The Mountain Cometh and She Was Born To Be My Unicorn, plus the great hits from 1970 to 1971 like Get It On, Ride A White Swan and Hot Love. These three masterpieces saw the band in their prime. The album is enjoyable and the music still rocks, but there are plenty better compilations available that cover both the early and later periods. I recommend the VERY BEST OF T. REX, Vol. 1 and Vol. 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My own personal slice of the weird, 17 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bolan Boogie (Audio CD)
I was brought up with a diet of haunted houses, hippies as neighbours, Desmond Dekker, local impossible legends, psychedelic poetry, science fiction, all of which was forbidden, dark knowledge of all sorts of stuff, poetry, Lord of The Rings. Crazy. I remember I used to really like the phrase "you've got the universe reclining in your hair", and my friends used to compare our renditions of half a dozen of these songs... but I was shy, and only translated these folk ballads into genuine pickup lines when I was 20ish. It worked so fast I was laid flat out in no time... that was then. How much is where? When is who?
Where are you, brave boys?
This a collection of stuff that no-one would dare write unles they actually LIVED with fairies, goblins, books that are bound heavily, and sit on a desk with thick candles occasionally burning on them. On the other hand, you also should preferably have the one girlfriend who is beautiful, distinctly dangerous, and who clings onto you while you're biking it at 100+.
If you can't do all of that, only some, the music does it's best to make it all up for you. Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sound,quality songs, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bolan Boogie (Audio CD)
A must for any T.rex fan. Good mix of Bolan's work. Includes raw ramp not available on any other official album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early compilation, 20 July 2010
This review is from: Bolan Boogie (Audio CD)
This was Marc Bolan's second 'Best Of' and contains a mixture of T.Rex and Tyrannosaurus Rex songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fun but could live without, 12 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Bolan Boogie (Audio CD)
This early 1970s compilation is far from representative or needed.It was better left as a never ever to re-released.Fans 4get it everyone else make for the hills.There are many better releases.This was just a cash in at the time.Do buy MARC BOLAN 20TH CENTURY SUPERSTAR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bolan Boogie
Bolan Boogie by Marc Bolan & T Rex (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews