Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the remixes
I absolutely loved all the remixes of Cassius tracks such as "La Mouche" (by DJ Falcon), "Feeling For You" (by Les Rythmes Digitales) and "Casiuss '99" that were available on the singles, but was slightly (and only slightly) disappointed with this album. It's a lot darker than the remixes, although it's still a work of genius. If you haven't heard any of the remixes,...
Published on 6 Jun 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very much hit and miss
I have to agree with the last reviewer. I bought this in 1999 and while it is generally a decent album, I think it is too long and too many fillers. Having said that there are some very good tunes but I generally have to in the mood to listen to the whole lot without skipping through. It is quiet unfair to say this but it ain't "Daftpunk" and just too bland.
Published on 22 Feb 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the remixes, 6 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 1999 (Audio CD)
I absolutely loved all the remixes of Cassius tracks such as "La Mouche" (by DJ Falcon), "Feeling For You" (by Les Rythmes Digitales) and "Casiuss '99" that were available on the singles, but was slightly (and only slightly) disappointed with this album. It's a lot darker than the remixes, although it's still a work of genius. If you haven't heard any of the remixes, you will absolutely love this. Funky, clever and anthemic in one fell swoop. Well worth buying if you're into all that French disco stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Le Funk + Le Disco = Cassius, 21 Feb 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 1999 (Audio CD)
Cassius have been an interesting movement in French house, with Phillipe Zdare - a producer who knows about hip-hop, house and disco and Boom Bass, who's also produced hip-hop (Paradisiaque by MC Solaar was a big project for them), are now together to produce an interesting house album.

Here we have 1999, a disco tinged house album with a bit of speed garage, funk and soul thrown together. Some of the best tracks on here include 1999 Remix, which I thought was better than the original, as it's funkier and more manic - with it's vocal chop ups. There's also La Mouche with it's whiney 1 finger lead synth which reminds me of the early instrumental disco records. There's also a bit of breakbeat too - with Crazy Legs, it's dark dub sound with 808 beats makes it a good mid mix track.

One thing I didn't really like about the album is it sounds rather similar from start to end, but otherwise this is a ground breaking début for Cassius and should be in everyone's collection if they like Basement Jaxx, Daft Punk, Supermen Lovers and any other artists from the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb mash-up of quality French house, disco and breaks, 22 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: 1999 [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This item is a must for any respectable consumer of quality dance music. The album of some sixteen tracks is an ingenious mash-up of all that is good about the French music scene. From the widely know title track 'cassius 1999', the artist takes us on a delightful journey through disco, house and quality breaks. Awesome basslines and a collection of sublime samples lift the tracks onto a distinctively funky plain, and the use of varying beat styles give the album a gloriously unpredictable edge. The great bonus with this particular item is that the two unmixed vinyls give any DJ the chance to mix-up the tracks and drop them into any set (they go down a treat - believe me !!). When you buy this item you are effectively getting sixteen quality tunes, the vast majority of which have never been released individually. There are no specific tracks which 'make the album what it is', or even stand apart from others - all are fantastic and beautifully unique. The French dance music scene really is coming of age at last and this album shows why. I cannot stress enough the overriding quality of the whole album so if you want the chance to be able to play any of these tunes in a DJ set, or you are just a lover of quality music wanting to add a classic piece of work to your collection, this item is for you. Invest in it, you'll be very glad you did - c'est magnifique !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very much hit and miss, 22 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: 1999 (Audio CD)
I have to agree with the last reviewer. I bought this in 1999 and while it is generally a decent album, I think it is too long and too many fillers. Having said that there are some very good tunes but I generally have to in the mood to listen to the whole lot without skipping through. It is quiet unfair to say this but it ain't "Daftpunk" and just too bland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars vive le france, 8 Aug 2002
This review is from: 1999 (Audio CD)
Cassius are the kings of the french house seen, their debut album 1999 is a masterful piece of music that cannot be missed. every track goes perfectly together to create an excellent album. Cassius combine soul, jazz, funk, house and in an aray of excellence to make one of the best albums that has come out of france. A pleasure to listen to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fresh French disco longplayer, 11 Dec 2002
This review is from: 1999 (Audio CD)
It's always a challenge making a house music long-player, even tougher when consisting mainly of funky French disco. So are the two men of Cassius (one of which is half the Daft Punk duo, and somehow one-third Stardust if my Parisian math is correct) up to the task?
Mostly yes. Over 16 tracks (!) the hits come early, such as "Feeling For You," and follow a devised formula: choice vocal sample, mid-tempo disco groove, and enough quirky funk to keep things flowing. In fact, not even these elements are needed in songs like "Foxxy" and "La Mouche" which survive off the strength of a swirling beat.
As skillfully produced as the numbers are, this sound is hard to sustain, and indistinguishable filler tracks like "Crazy Legs" and "Planetz," do creep in. Hang around for the "Cassius 99 Remix" at the end, and shuffle the album in with a few others when listening to fully appreciate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French funky house at its best., 28 April 2000
This review is from: 1999 (Audio CD)
Along with Daft Punk, Cassius have revitalised the French Disco scene. I bought the album after hearing Cassius 99 the single. The album is different from the single, not as "pop" with more pumping beats and the drums really making the tracks. Buy it-You wont regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Urm...right...OK, 23 Jan 2004
This review is from: 1999 (Audio CD)
Two words, HIT and MISS. There are some belting tracks on here like 'Cassius 1999'(and the remix)'Feeling For You' and 'Foxxy' and there are some tracks that I think are classed as "fillers".
Like all good french house groups Cassius are a duo Zdar and Boombass (nether of which have anything to do with Daft Punk or Stardust, as other reviewers would have you beleive) but Cassius are no Daft Punk. They are more like Superfunk (more french house) in that they have the ability to make some great tracks but also some fairly duff ones, unfortunately in equal meassures.
Not bad but not great. Buy Daft Punk 'Homework' instead. If you already have 'Homework' see if a mate has Cassius and try to borrow it off them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1999 (Audio CD)
CD scratched. 3 tracks unplayable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1999
1999 by Cassius (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews