Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Great Music
Many people believe Gary numan's career began and ended with "Cars". If you base your opinion on the fickle top 40 charts - this is true; but Gary Numan has been putting out music non-stop to a rabid cult following since 1978. I am a proud member of this cult. His 1985 release, "The Fury" tends to be a "mixed bag" amongst his loyal legion of...
Published on 21 Nov 2001 by James Choma

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Certainly worth a listen...
I love Gary Numan, but this has never been one of my favourites - though it certainly does have some good moments.
I originally bought this back in the summer of 1985 (on vinyl), & I've always thought the cover photo (a laid-back looking Gary in a lounge suit, with glass of wine, & less make-up than usual) rather betrays the sounds within - it's very much business as...
Published on 25 Jun 2007 by Steve Cann


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Great Music, 21 Nov 2001
This review is from: The Fury (Audio CD)
Many people believe Gary numan's career began and ended with "Cars". If you base your opinion on the fickle top 40 charts - this is true; but Gary Numan has been putting out music non-stop to a rabid cult following since 1978. I am a proud member of this cult. His 1985 release, "The Fury" tends to be a "mixed bag" amongst his loyal legion of fans. Many claim it's too "pop" and lightweight, while others, like myself, think it's one of his better albums. Numan keeps his dark writing style in tact with signature tunes such as "Call Out The Dogs," "1. Call Out The Dogs," "Your Fascination," and "God Only Knows." A word of warning - this album is very keyboard heavy. If you're looking for something similar to his recent efforts ("Sacrifice" or "Exile"), this wouldn't be a good place to look. I like this album for its dark lyrics, dark theme, and Blade Runner association.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Great Music, 15 May 2004
This review is from: The Fury (Audio CD)
Many people believe Gary numan's career began and ended with "Cars". If you base your opinion on the fickle top 40 charts - this is true; but Gary Numan has been putting out music non-stop to a rabid cult following since 1978. I am a proud member of this cult.
His 1985 release, "The Fury" tends to be a "mixed bag" amongst his loyal legion of fans. Many claim it's too "pop" and lightweight, while others, like myself, think it's one of his better albums. Numan keeps his dark writing style in tact with signature tunes such as "Call Out The Dogs," "1. Call Out The Dogs," "Your Fascination," and "God Only Knows." A word of warning - this album is very keyboard heavy. If you're looking for something similar to his recent efforts ("Sacrifice" or "Exile"), this wouldn't be a good place to look. I like this album for its dark lyrics, dark theme, and Blade Runner association.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still very classy, 24 Mar 2009
This review is from: The Fury (Audio CD)
Call out the dogs, pleasure skin, god only knows, and especially : Puppets are great songs. The one saying that this lacks imagination should use his own to enter this album. Puppets got the greatest melody/soundscape-line in wave I've ever heard. This is at the same time pop, dark, icy, futuristic, minimal... music with a very strong beat in it. Cinematic, visual and gritty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Certainly worth a listen..., 25 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: The Fury (Audio CD)
I love Gary Numan, but this has never been one of my favourites - though it certainly does have some good moments.
I originally bought this back in the summer of 1985 (on vinyl), & I've always thought the cover photo (a laid-back looking Gary in a lounge suit, with glass of wine, & less make-up than usual) rather betrays the sounds within - it's very much business as usual (& certainly not a laid-back new direction), & carries on really where Berseker left off.

On the whole these are keyboard-driven songs, some with funky bass (& augmented with female vocals, as per Berserker) and some with atmospheric sax - but Gary's still rather doomy lyrics - he sounds (justifiably) hurt & angered by the apathy of the media, radio stations & the record-buying public in general towards his music.

The main problem is the cluttered 80s production, and that the album lacks a strong central focal point - there is no big hit on here. I believe 3 of the songs were low-charting hits - the best being the moody sax-laden 'I Still Remember', which closed the original album, and sounds much less dated now than 'Call Out the Dogs', for instance. Gary's formula seem to be wearing a bit thin at this point - a change was needed.
To be fair, if the contemporary catchy & surprisingly good Sharpe/Numan chart hit 'Change Your Mind' had been included here, it could have lifted this whole album up a notch.

The female backing singers become overused & irritating too, as if Gary doesn't feel he can cut it as a singer anymore without them drowning him out on every chorus.

As other reviewers have said, the extra tracks added for this release are excellent, & certainly make it worth buying this CD version.
The Blade Runner extracts are interesting too - this is obviously a film that inpsired Gary.

This seems to mark a transational period for Gary, where he lacked a genre. It's pre-goth/industrial, & 'new wave' has long since been absorbed into the mainstream.
He was to briefly bounce back chart-wise in fine form however the following year though with the stonking autobiographical hit 'I Can't Stop'.
He would eventually, after years of unwisely flirting with electronic funk & alienating his fans after this, find his feet in new realms - realms which he'd probably inspired in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The One Where The Rot Set In, 10 Feb 2012
By 
Pink (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fury (Audio CD)
Opinion is divided among fans as to when exactly the rot started to set into Gary Numan's work, but for me this was the one.

By this time Gary was composing solely for the PPG Wave sampler/sequencer and in contrast to previous album `Berserker', here its hard sound is not softened by a human rythmn section or any organic instrumentation. The result is a cold, soul-less affair that, while not necessarily repelling the listener, doesn't exactly draw you in.

It's not all bad though. Numan's peerless songwriting was still intact and there are some great songs on `The Fury', such as the poppy `Your Fascination', the clanking robotic `Creatures' and the sleazy machine-funk of `Tricks'. Add those to the beautiful ballad `I Still Remember', the chilling, claustrophobic `God Only Knows' and the stomping single `Call Out The Dogs' and you've got some excellent material, it's just that it's presented in such a dry, charmless manner.

This was also his first album to include any filler; the drab and uninspired `Pleasure Skin' and tuneless `This Disease' would not be missed if they were accidentally deleted from your I-Pod, and neither would the forgettable single 'Miracles' nor any of the B-sides from the era.

If you're a fan, you'll already own at least one copy of `The Fury'. But if you're new to Numan, `The Fury' is hardly a dreadful album but there are way, way better ones. I'd recommend you start somewhere earlier in his catalogue, or with any releases from 1994 onwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the fury, anger and frustration, 30 Aug 2003
This review is from: The Fury (Audio CD)
The fury is the best of the albums in his "ive lost my direction slightly" period. It has the moody feel of I assasin,but a more rock sound, it has the funky/ bluesy side of warriors,Its miles better than Metal rhythm, which was just a very samey album,and i cant play Metal Rhythm all the way through, with out feeling as if he was very disappointed after he had finished making it. Though he does have a dig at radio stations not playing his music on one of the tracks.Maybe aimed at the american market.Its better than Machine and Soul, which has more Machine in it , than Soul in it. If you liked I assasin, you ought to like this too. There are samples of bits of the soundtrack to blade runner in it,some of it could easily BE the sound track to blade runner, its very futuristic/moody sound would fit perfectly in blade runner.If you like numans darker/moody/anti god side, buy Exile and Sacrifice.If you didnt like Outland, his attempt at a "concept " album,good in places, but generally a bit "plastic and manufactured sounding" you will like The Fury
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars INDUSTRIAL POP/FUNK !!!!!!, 7 Mar 2006
By 
JUAN MARTIN GABASTOU (Weston Hills, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fury (Audio CD)
Another nice album by this master of the genre.Similar to Berserker in style only Berserker is a better listen.This is a weird mix of industrial machine drums and bass and funky elements,with female backing vocals and a certain ¨Prince¨ air to some of the songs.Heavily and very personal and processed vocals add the final touch.
What I found the most appealing,though,were the incredible bonus tracks (last 5 songs).Incredibly dark,obscure,sombre,moody industrial songs taken from singles released the same year as the album,which could have marked the direction he was to follow from his Sacrifice album on.Instead,he continued with a string of good albums in this and similar veins.
Advice: tthe bonus tracks alone are worth the price of the abum.
BY OLDESTPUNKINARGENTINA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funky Foray, 6 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fury (Audio CD)
This album is somewhat of a landmark of sorts for Gary. I believe it's the first of his albums to contain completely sequenced drum samples rather than a live drummer, the first to use audio samples from movies (Bladerunner, etc.) and the first to be heavily influenced by funk/rock artists such as Prince. The drums have a distinctive industrial clatter that I'm sure was very influential as was the deep layered synth bass that I think Gary must have stolen from Eno's "Sky Saw". You could probably sum this album up as "industro-funk" as it is a slightly sharper turn in the ever winding evolutionary road of Gary's music. More clinically precise and mechanical than "Warriors" and less cinematically grandiose than "Berserker", "The Fury" is a pivotal and enjoyable recording. "This Disease", "Tricks" and "I Still Remember" are among his best compositions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars In-Fury-ating..., 21 Feb 2011
By 
M. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fury (Audio CD)
After the pretty decent "Berserker", "The Fury" sees Numan's musical output hit a new low with one of his poorest efforts to date. Fans must have been "Furious" with this record which sees Gazza drowning himself out with an endless cacophany of female backing singers and dreary sax music while almost every track sounds the same and is stretched out way beyond their justified lengths. The majority of the album just passes you by as a wall of drudgy sound with only "God Only Knows" having any discernable melody, and finishing with the gloomy "I Still Remember" where he teases his fans by hinting that "this could be my last song" (thank god, they were probably thinking). Even the bonus tracks are nothing to really shout about on this one. "The Fury" is one of Numan's worst albums, with tracks like "this Disease, "Your Fascination", "Creatures" and "Call Out The Dogs" being some of the best examples of how awful his music got in the 80's. And as for the cover...Bryan Ferry might just get away with a white tux and red dickie bow but not our Gazza Sadly this album was still not as bad as things got for poor Gary. Just check out the dire "Machine & Soul" for an all time turkey....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Furious after purchase!, 15 April 2008
By 
ndb_master (west midlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Fury (Audio CD)
Even for fans of the day, this was noticeably a last-gasp of a dying pop act- the production is abysmally poor- this sounds as if it were made at 6th form and the packaging is woefully amateurish. There is no 'music' here, but the same old drum beats and synth chords that Numan ploughed out since 1980 with different lyrics. His voice at this point could not be disguised no matter how many female backing singers were used. With no money to employ session musicians of skill, Numan was finally exposed here with probably one of the worst albums of the 1980s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fury
The Fury by Gary Numan (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews