Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars29
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2004
I still regret this magnificent disc remains underestimated by the majority of the fans of Neil, exception made of course for the "specialists of Neil Young" or folk music lovers in general.
As to me, of his studio albums, it is still the greatest together with "After the Gold Rush", right behind "HARVEST". From the beginning the artist sets the good tune with "Good to see you", followed by some numbers of the greatest quality like "Silver and Gold", the unforgettable "Daddy went walking", "Red Sun" and "Razor Love", to name the best as to me.
In fact this is one of those rare albums where one finds no bad notes or mediocre songs. In "Buffalo Springfield Again" Neil has put some swing and changes immediately to the calm tune of the marvelous "The Great Divide", first rank top folk, together with the last number "Without Rings".
A GOLDEN DISC (as is his "Harvest" of course), that will remain so forever, on which one hears nothing else but the "real Neil Young of folk" as heard in circles of great lovers of this superb American artist. Credit also to the other musical styles he has been playing especially since the nineties: that is for certain the biggest talent of Neil. With great class he's been playing rock, even hard rock, not seldom with a "heavy" guitar and rather acoustic music. BUT HIS FOLK, THAT'S THE TOP, THE BEST OF NEIL YOUNG. This disc proves it without any doubt!
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2002
This album is a real slow burner. At first the songs seem naive and simple, with Neil spending a lot of time eulogising about getting old and still loving his wife and family. But that's the point. After a few listens you realise that it's that simplicity which is this album's beauty. Songs like Silver & Gold and the stunning Razor Love (possibly his greatest song of the last 15 years) soon go straight to your heart once the delicate melodies and Neil's soft, vulnerable voice settle in your ears. For sure, it's a huge contrast to the Godfather of Grunge we know and love from the Crazy Horse albums, but Neil has always been so much more than that and this album sits very comfortably alongside Comes A Time, Harvest Moon and Harvest. And if you love those then you really should hear this. A warm, gentle record.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 October 2000
Neil Young likes to sort his output by style. The grunge goes into one CD then the softer almost country material goes onto the next. This CD is the softer side of Neil Young.
If you think that means that it sounds like Harvest Moon you'd be wrong. One of Young's greatest talents is that he can take one of his stylistic forms and move it on. These songs are very simple and also beautiful and delicate. Listening to "Daddy Went Walkin'" from this album and "Old King" from Harvest Moon is a perfect example of how Neil Young takes a certain style and develops it further.
The title track crystallises the mood of this album perfectly. Neil's voice is so clear. It's hard to understand that this is the same voice that can also deliver his powerful grunge style. It's also amazing that he has kept his voice so well over the years.
This is not the best, or most accessible of Neil's gentler work. After the Goldrush, Harvest and Harvest Moon all rank above this but, if you like those, you will be captivated by this CD.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2009
I was never a huge fan of Neil Young but I always liked his albums.

At first I thought that an album so many years after his golden-era would just be average.
I was wrong. This album can look in the eyes his older classic albums. His style is simple and folklike without many innovations, just like past albums. His voice is still innocent-like, and the sound seems refreshing as if you're living in an previous era. It is a nice relaxing and *travel*-like cd.

While not his greatest album, a very nice addition to any rock library.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2010
soothing for the edgy. on the edge. or over the edge . one of the best of neil young's.

unsuitable for psychiatrists and cynics. just fantastic. what's sentimental about it?, but if you don't like neil young , listen to somethingelse , if u like x factor stuff don't listen to someone who plays the harmonica.

music and lyrics are very evocative
hearts of stone just won't get it. great value and quality from used, don't dismiss

gorgeous and cry if u want.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
While seeing Neil Young live at the O2 last month, he played a song called 'Red Sun' which I found quite beautiful. I'm a big fan of NY and somehow missed this song originally and also the album it was taken from. My mistake has now been rectified and Silver and Gold has joined the rest of my collection. In truth, as a whole, it's probably not one of his best albums but there are probably three outstanding tracks that make it a worthwhile purchase.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2005
This beautiful piece of music got me through a rough period of uni work! i had it on repeat for 2-3 hours or more a day. Its a testament to the talent of a man who uses no more that 3 or 4 notes on a whole album yet pushes every ounce of emotion out of every one. A very rare and precious talent that has never been matched. Long live Mr. Young and i look forward to the next offering.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
If you've read my review of Prairie Wind, you'll recognise that this review is virtually word for word the same, with the album names reversed. Why? because I feel these albums compliment each other and have a very similar feel.
I've always preferred Neil's acoustic material as opposed to his more rocker side, so Silver & Gold hits the spot. There is a country feel to this album although not as pronounced as "Old Ways" which is pure country. This suites me as someone who enjoys "modern country" music. If you like Neil's "Prairie Wind" album I'm sure you'll enjoy "Silver & Gold".
I bought this album via Zoverstock and yet again the CD/Packaging was in excellent condition and delivered promptly. Great service Zoverstock.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2005
Actually,more like 'After The Goldrush' this album is quality and His best since 'Comes A Time' or even before. . . The songs are comforting but never dull, his vocals are stronger than ever, particularly on 'Good To See You' and 'Silver and Gold'. 'Buffalo Springfield Again' shows at last that He has sucessfully laid some of the ghosts of the past to rest and 'Daddy Went Walking', although a little saccharine on 1st listen, is heartfelt and touching when you consider how Youngs own father walked out when he was very young. Personally, I cant wait for what I hope will be the similar 'Prairie Wind' on Sept 20th!
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
Soft and beautiful. I'm not a fan of Neil Young in general but after hearing "Razor Love" I had to add this record to my collection. The record is just beautiful and suites my collection of more delicate Americana. Stream and definitely listen to "Razor Love" and if you enjoy that track you will enjoy the entire record.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)