Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still in Love after all these years
This album is a real slow burner. At first the songs seem naive and simple, with Neil spending a lot of time eulogising about getting old and still loving his wife and family. But that's the point. After a few listens you realise that it's that simplicity which is this album's beauty. Songs like Silver & Gold and the stunning Razor Love (possibly his greatest song of...
Published on 27 Mar. 2002 by Joe

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good - But Not His Best
"Silver + Gold" contains Neil Young's basic song setups from years past. Speckled with innocuous, repititous lyrics, there are few surprises. However, there are some true stand-out tracks. "The Great Divide" and "Buffalo Springfield" are inventive upbeat tracks, the latter a song lamenting about Neil Young's late sixties rock band. "Horseshoe Man" is a heart-breaking...
Published on 16 Dec. 2002 by Martin A Hogan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still in Love after all these years, 27 Mar. 2002
By 
Joe (Portsmouth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Silver & Gold (Audio CD)
This album is a real slow burner. At first the songs seem naive and simple, with Neil spending a lot of time eulogising about getting old and still loving his wife and family. But that's the point. After a few listens you realise that it's that simplicity which is this album's beauty. Songs like Silver & Gold and the stunning Razor Love (possibly his greatest song of the last 15 years) soon go straight to your heart once the delicate melodies and Neil's soft, vulnerable voice settle in your ears. For sure, it's a huge contrast to the Godfather of Grunge we know and love from the Crazy Horse albums, but Neil has always been so much more than that and this album sits very comfortably alongside Comes A Time, Harvest Moon and Harvest. And if you love those then you really should hear this. A warm, gentle record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB GOLDEN FOLK CD, 5 Dec. 2004
By 
alaskadoggie (Boom (near Antwerp), BELGIUM) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Silver & Gold (Audio CD)
I still regret this magnificent disc remains underestimated by the majority of the fans of Neil, exception made of course for the "specialists of Neil Young" or folk music lovers in general.
As to me, of his studio albums, it is still the greatest together with "After the Gold Rush", right behind "HARVEST". From the beginning the artist sets the good tune with "Good to see you", followed by some numbers of the greatest quality like "Silver and Gold", the unforgettable "Daddy went walking", "Red Sun" and "Razor Love", to name the best as to me.
In fact this is one of those rare albums where one finds no bad notes or mediocre songs. In "Buffalo Springfield Again" Neil has put some swing and changes immediately to the calm tune of the marvelous "The Great Divide", first rank top folk, together with the last number "Without Rings".
A GOLDEN DISC (as is his "Harvest" of course), that will remain so forever, on which one hears nothing else but the "real Neil Young of folk" as heard in circles of great lovers of this superb American artist. Credit also to the other musical styles he has been playing especially since the nineties: that is for certain the biggest talent of Neil. With great class he's been playing rock, even hard rock, not seldom with a "heavy" guitar and rather acoustic music. BUT HIS FOLK, THAT'S THE TOP, THE BEST OF NEIL YOUNG. This disc proves it without any doubt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neil's gentler side, 15 Oct. 2000
By 
John Peter O'connor - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silver & Gold (Audio CD)
Neil Young likes to sort his output by style. The grunge goes into one CD then the softer almost country material goes onto the next. This CD is the softer side of Neil Young.
If you think that means that it sounds like Harvest Moon you'd be wrong. One of Young's greatest talents is that he can take one of his stylistic forms and move it on. These songs are very simple and also beautiful and delicate. Listening to "Daddy Went Walkin'" from this album and "Old King" from Harvest Moon is a perfect example of how Neil Young takes a certain style and develops it further.
The title track crystallises the mood of this album perfectly. Neil's voice is so clear. It's hard to understand that this is the same voice that can also deliver his powerful grunge style. It's also amazing that he has kept his voice so well over the years.
This is not the best, or most accessible of Neil's gentler work. After the Goldrush, Harvest and Harvest Moon all rank above this but, if you like those, you will be captivated by this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sunrise and sunset, 4 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver & Gold (Audio CD)
soothing for the edgy. on the edge. or over the edge . one of the best of neil young's.

unsuitable for psychiatrists and cynics. just fantastic. what's sentimental about it?, but if you don't like neil young , listen to somethingelse , if u like x factor stuff don't listen to someone who plays the harmonica.

music and lyrics are very evocative
hearts of stone just won't get it. great value and quality from used, don't dismiss

gorgeous and cry if u want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lifesaver, 23 Mar. 2005
This review is from: Silver & Gold (Audio CD)
This beautiful piece of music got me through a rough period of uni work! i had it on repeat for 2-3 hours or more a day. Its a testament to the talent of a man who uses no more that 3 or 4 notes on a whole album yet pushes every ounce of emotion out of every one. A very rare and precious talent that has never been matched. Long live Mr. Young and i look forward to the next offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An original Neil-Young album, even after many years, 28 Jun. 2009
By 
George Spiros (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silver & Gold (Audio CD)
I was never a huge fan of Neil Young but I always liked his albums.

At first I thought that an album so many years after his golden-era would just be average.
I was wrong. This album can look in the eyes his older classic albums. His style is simple and folklike without many innovations, just like past albums. His voice is still innocent-like, and the sound seems refreshing as if you're living in an previous era. It is a nice relaxing and *travel*-like cd.

While not his greatest album, a very nice addition to any rock library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Top marks for the old grizzly, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver & Gold (Audio CD)
While seeing Neil Young live at the O2 last month, he played a song called 'Red Sun' which I found quite beautiful. I'm a big fan of NY and somehow missed this song originally and also the album it was taken from. My mistake has now been rectified and Silver and Gold has joined the rest of my collection. In truth, as a whole, it's probably not one of his best albums but there are probably three outstanding tracks that make it a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Warm, Contented 'Harvest' from Young. . ., 27 July 2005
By 
Mr. M. B. Powell "mikeyp59" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silver & Gold (Audio CD)
Actually,more like 'After The Goldrush' this album is quality and His best since 'Comes A Time' or even before. . . The songs are comforting but never dull, his vocals are stronger than ever, particularly on 'Good To See You' and 'Silver and Gold'. 'Buffalo Springfield Again' shows at last that He has sucessfully laid some of the ghosts of the past to rest and 'Daddy Went Walking', although a little saccharine on 1st listen, is heartfelt and touching when you consider how Youngs own father walked out when he was very young. Personally, I cant wait for what I hope will be the similar 'Prairie Wind' on Sept 20th!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gold & Gold, 30 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver & Gold (Audio CD)
For some reason this NY album passed my by...but since buying it I don't think it's come out of my CD player.
The album is acoustic, with gentle backing from the usual players.
The songs are simple and concise but also catchy as hell.
This is a classic Neil album, on par with his commercial best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Neil Young, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver & Gold (Audio CD)
Previously I only had the track Silver & Gold on Neil Young's dvd. This album is a brilliant buy. Would definitely recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silver & Gold
Silver & Gold by Neil Young (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews