Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic
This recently became fashionable again, popping up in a BBC link thing, and Alexander McQueen's runway show, over the last couple of years. Of course, I dug it out before that because I'm so cool. It's very cool, with its very 60s tum tee tum thing. The most famous tracks are the South American getaway and Raindrops. It's a pretty essential soundtrack, if soundtracks...
Published on 4 Sept. 2000

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars unsatisfying
Several of these reviews seem to be for the film, which of course is brilliant. And I love the music - within the film; but it doesn't add up to a good album. Three versions of Raindrops, out of only nine tracks, isn't a good start; there are a couple of other fillers; so there are only really three or four strong pieces. Even then, these are not the exact same recordings...
Published on 4 April 2012 by gille liath


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 4 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (Audio CD)
This recently became fashionable again, popping up in a BBC link thing, and Alexander McQueen's runway show, over the last couple of years. Of course, I dug it out before that because I'm so cool. It's very cool, with its very 60s tum tee tum thing. The most famous tracks are the South American getaway and Raindrops. It's a pretty essential soundtrack, if soundtracks are your bag, and it's soft and easily listenable, and innovative and you'll probably like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Raindrops" is definitely not the only reason, 27 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (Audio CD)
Come Touch The Sun (and Not Goin' Home Anymore -- same song, different arrangement) and South American Getaway are gems. The Sundance Kid (song #1) was responsible for a cousin of mine falling in love with Bacharach's music (a 30 year-old affair), and it isn't even in the movie.
Compare South American Getaway, Raindrops, and Come Touch The Sun. Any similarities? Only one: they are the work of a an exceedingly versatile musical genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BUTCH CASSIDY & THE SUNDANCE KID- CAPTURES OUR HEART AND STEALS THE OSCARS, 20 Aug. 2011
By 
Rob Stoneman (Mother Earth The Milky Way) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (Audio CD)
Butch Cassidy & The Sundance Kid.

The heart of the Outlaw's legend is a love story.

Two men solidify their bond through one woman they respect and dote on.

A School Teacher with beautiful long Auburn hair, and big eyes, Etta Place.

Etta is the Hole In The Wall's favorite guest.

The old abandon hideout will have succumb to the ravages of time, but the dirty worn floorboards which needs sweeping and old stove that could use stoking will have absorbed and recorded alot of her warmth.

Burt Bacharach's Soundtrack captures the dynamic.

Listen to Come Touch The Sun.

Burt Bacharach likes talking about how he had a lot to do with inserting Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head into the bike scene.

I guess. Thanks for the astounding lyrics, Hal.

I don't know if anyone has come forward to confess, but the song was nescessary for the audiance to catch their breath.

Etta has been grading school papers, she makes her way across the yard at sundown to her little room, Sundance is waiting for her and startles Etta.

Sundance instructs, "Teacher lady" to let down her hair and undo some buttons at gunpoint, only to find out she likes it as much as him and wonders why he can't get there earlier.

That's a lot of information.

Especially for a boy of ten, fall of '69.

My family was entertaining a Soccer family from out of town.

Dougie and I snuck off to watch the film by ourselves, I'm not sure what I would've done if I was sitting by my parents, shrunk into my seat, I suppose.

As the audiance lets out one big exhale, I can feel the sweeping shots of sun flicker on the audiance while Burt, Hal, B.J., Butch and Etta manage to steal our hearts.

Smiles mixed with laughter.

It was a big moment, it awoke something deep within me.

Love is messy... A little horsin' around is healthy!

Burt, Hal and B.J. continue to lend support.

I've noticed, nowdays, in spite of the main lyric's sentiment, I have a tendacy to cry when I listen to the Soundtrack.

The melodies and arrangement make me so proud and happy.

Like coming home to that Ol' Gang of mine.

I'd like to thank all the people who help put together Butch Cassidy & The Sundance Kid.

One heck of a run.

Thanks, guys.

Rich Gold vein.

Whew!

Oscar material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great to hear again!, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (Audio CD)
If like me you haven't seen the film for years, because you know it so well, i grew up with this film, Butch and Sundance were hero's.
Then one day i get a tune in my head i couldn't shake off, not the well known Raindrops are fallin on my head, but the Burt Bacarach music it turns out where they go to Bolivia, and there's a series of still photos on the film. Found the music on Youtube along with other classic film scores, and had to get this CD. It's not a long CD, all by Burt and Hal David, and only a few pounds, but be warned, if you haven't heard it for years, it will reduce a grown man to tears, and a gibbering wreek, look at me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top of the class, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film is a classic, and so too is the soundtrack. Burt Bacharach is the master for beautiful and lyrical songs. His compositions capture the adventurous, cheeky, romantic and ultimately sad tale of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid. These tracks have haunted me, in a nice way since first seeing the film. I first had the soundtrack on vinyl in about 1974, later CD and a few weeks ago by digital download too. Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I gave it five stars as it was a gift ..., 12 April 2015
By 
Craig J. M. Thomson "Craigzoot69" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (Audio CD)
I gave it five stars as it was a gift for my mother and she loves it.
Personally it reminds me of a tortured upbringing having to listen to her crooning as a child. Thankfully she can sing to her hearts content now I'm long gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars unsatisfying, 4 April 2012
By 
gille liath (US of K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (Audio CD)
Several of these reviews seem to be for the film, which of course is brilliant. And I love the music - within the film; but it doesn't add up to a good album. Three versions of Raindrops, out of only nine tracks, isn't a good start; there are a couple of other fillers; so there are only really three or four strong pieces. Even then, these are not the exact same recordings used in the film, and they often don't seem quite right. I don't remember there being quite so much bossa nova, for example. Or maybe it just doesn't work as well without the visuals.

It's cheap enough, I suppose; but don't feel you need to get this just because you love the film. You could be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Soundtrack From A Different Era, 5 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (Audio CD)
Butch Cassidy and the Sundance kid was a classic film,and this is certainly a classic soundtrack to match,winning both the academy award for best original score and best song in 1969.The score seems a little light at first glance,being only about 25 minutes combined,but never could this better illustrate the concept of "less is more". Never does the soundtrack miss a well placed moment (the irrelevance of "raindrops keep fallin' on my head,the fast paced excitement of "south american getaway"),but seems only to be based on two major themes,the theme to "raindrops" and to "Not going home anymore".This works fine in the film,in fact is advantageous,but when listening to the whole album from start to finish can seem repetitive(despite its short length).the film was unusual for its time for having a quite sparse score (there is no music at all in the longest "action" scene in the film), and this tied perfectly to Burt Bacherach's songwriter background.
the highlights of the album for me include well known tracks such as "Raindrops"(which is in to different versions,the commercial edit and the one in the film)and also relatively obscure ones such as " The old fun city",a brilliant blend of vaudeville and clever cross rhythms,and "Not coming home anymore(reprise)", a truly atmospheric solo piano rendering of the earlier theme perfectly capturing the mood of the scene despite its miniscule length.
There are some slightly bad parts to this album,as for example it seems not to be the same recordings as are in the film,but overall a brilliant soundtrack that I certainly would recommend
to anyone who wants a glimpse of how soundtracks used to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (Audio CD)
took a while to arrive...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (Audio CD)
Great old time music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid
Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid by Burt Bacharach (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews