Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolly's first bluegrass album
Although Dolly had recorded the occasional song in a bluegrass style before, I'd never have expected her to do a whole bluegrsass album.
With backing vocals by the three finest bluegrass ladies (Claire Lynch, Alison Krauss and Rhonda Vincent) and a stellar cast of bluegrass musicians (Jerry Douglas on dobro, Sam Bush on mandolin, Bryan Sutton on guitar, Stuart Duncan...
Published on 3 Nov 2002 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
its ok
Published 2 months ago by minniemoo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolly's first bluegrass album, 3 Nov 2002
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Grass Is Blue (Audio CD)
Although Dolly had recorded the occasional song in a bluegrass style before, I'd never have expected her to do a whole bluegrsass album.
With backing vocals by the three finest bluegrass ladies (Claire Lynch, Alison Krauss and Rhonda Vincent) and a stellar cast of bluegrass musicians (Jerry Douglas on dobro, Sam Bush on mandolin, Bryan Sutton on guitar, Stuart Duncan on fiddle, Barry Bales on bass and Jum Mills on banjo), the album is one of the best Dolly has ever recorded.
The songs include covers from a variety of sources, including Billy Joel (Travelin' prayer), Louvin brothers (Cash on the barrelhead), Hazel Dickens - another fine bluegrass singer (A few old memories), Lester Flatt (I'm gonna sleep with one eye open), Johnny Cash (I still miss someone) and traditional folk (Silver dagger).
Dolly's own songs are included - some old (Steady as the rain, first recorded by her sister Stella) and Will he be waiting for me (originally recorded by Dolly on her Touch your woman album) - and some new, including the title track.
The tempo of the album is generally upbeat. Much credit is given to the O brother soundtrack for the current popularity of bluegrass, but it's popularity had already risen significantly as a result of this excellent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master-class bluegrass, 12 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Grass Is Blue (Audio CD)
With the Grass is Blue,' Dolly is now the diva of modern bluegrass. Backed by vituosos like Sam Bush, Dolly's interpretation of classic and self-pended bluegrass has a flawless interpretation mixed with excessive drive. Bang-on,sung from the heart and played from the hip, Dolly and her band should put bluegrass on the map for a whole new audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Rivers flow backwards, valleys are high', 21 Feb 2002
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Grass Is Blue (Audio CD)
The up-tempo Travellin' Prayer opens the album with impressive picking & is followed by another fast-paced track, the classic Cash On The Barrelhead. The sad ballad A Few Old Memories has exceptionally beautiful harmony vocals and reminds me of the song Just Someone I Used To Know on the 20 Greatest Hits album with Porter Wagoner. The Grass is Blue is a brilliant album but not quite as mournful & spiritual as the Emmylou Harris bluegrass masterpiece Roses in the Snow.

There are three laments in sequence; Steady As The Rain where Dolly doesn't sound sad at all, I Still Miss Someone where she does, and her own composition Endless Stream of Tears. The spectacular instrumental arrangements on Train Train are executed with great virtuosity; Bluegrass cannot be amongst the easiest styles of music to play. Then follow three highlights: the mid-tempo ballad I Wonder Where You Are Tonight where Dolly wails with aplomb, her own Will He Be Waiting For Me, a stunner with a catchy tune, striking imagery and soulful yearning in the vocals.

The title track, one of her most moving compositions, blends a beautiful melody with poetic lyrics that treat a melancholy subject with admiring subtlety and grace. The album closes with the stirring gospel song I Am Ready. The harmony vocalists Alison Krauss, Dan Tyminski, Claire Lynch, Keith Little, Patty Loveless, Rhonda Vincent, Sam Bush, Barry Bales, Darrin Vincent & Alan O'Bryant merit mention for helping to make The Grass Is Blue so special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 3 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: The Grass Is Blue (Audio CD)
I really wasn't too sure what to expect from this, handed to me by a friend, but it's totally got me! I've listened to this album an embarrassing amount of times, with equal pleasure.... Genuine, delightfully unironic, heartfelt, damn good get-you-going music and an excellent soundtrack to pretty much any hardship one might encounter in life (especially the broken heart variety). Dolly will see you through! Solid quality music-wise, of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolly's back!, 21 July 2000
By 
This review is from: The Grass Is Blue (Audio CD)
Dolly Parton serves us up a rare treat with this collection of traditional and contemporary Bluegrass music. To say that this is a career highlight tells you just how good it is after a career with so very many highs (Remember Heartbreaker? Remember Daddy come and get me?). Treat yourself to an album of rare genious. Atta girl Dolly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 'The sky is green and the grass is blue', 23 Nov 2008
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Grass Is Blue (Audio CD)
The up-tempo Travellin' Prayer opens the album with impressive picking & is followed by another fast-paced track, the classic Cash On The Barrelhead. The sad ballad A Few Old Memories has exceptionally beautiful harmony vocals and reminds me of the song Just Someone I Used To Know on the 20 Greatest Hits album with Porter Wagoner. The Grass is Blue is a brilliant album but not quite as mournful & spiritual as the Emmylou Harris bluegrass masterpiece Roses in the Snow.

There are three laments in a row; Steady As The Rain where Dolly doesn't sound sad at all, I Still Miss Someone where she does, and her own composition Endless Stream of Tears. The spectacular instrumental arrangements on Train Train are executed with great virtuosity; Bluegrass cannot be amongst the easiest styles of music to play. Then follow three highlights: the mid-tempo ballad I Wonder Where You Are Tonight where Dolly wails with aplomb, her own Will He Be Waiting For Me, a stunner with a catchy tune, striking imagery and soulful yearning in the vocals.

The title track, one of her greatest compositions, blends a beautiful melody with poetic lyrics that treat a melancholy subject with admiring subtlety and grace. The album closes with the stirring gospel song I Am Ready. The harmony vocalists Alison Krauss, Dan Tyminski, Claire Lynch, Keith Little, Patty Loveless, Rhonda Vincent, Sam Bush, Barry Bales, Darrin Vincent & Alan O'Bryant merit mention for helping to make The Grass Is Blue so special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grass Is Blue (Audio CD)
Wonderful bluegrass album highlighting Dolly's fantastic musicianship. I love the track "Endless Stream of Tears" - a contradiction of sad lyrics and an upbeat melody that works! One of my favourite albums ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Grass Is Blue (Audio CD)
This album would be worth it just for the title song - but the rest doesn't disappoint.

The Grass is Blue has to be one of the best love songs of all time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is absolute mustard, 13 Nov 2001
This review is from: The Grass Is Blue (Audio CD)
This album is absolute mustard. A definitive album of songs that will end up being Dolly classics. She shows her vocal versatility and shows it off like very few others can or will. "Travellin' Prayer" and "Train Train" will get ya, if no others do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and this is my favourite of all her CDs, 25 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Grass Is Blue (Audio CD)
I am a big Dolly Parton fan, and this is my favourite of all her CDs. Good fun Bluegrass twists to many of the songs. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Grass Is Blue
The Grass Is Blue by Dolly Parton (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews