Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure class!
What can you say about Elvis Costello that hasn't already been said? This man is pure class. His songwriting genius is all too evident on this well structured compilation. Elvis Costello is undoubtedly one of the finest (though sadly under-rated) songwriters to come out of Britain. In my humble opinion, his songwriting skills rank up there with Britain's finest -...
Published on 9 May 2000

versus
24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Re-packaged 'Best of...' collection originally from 1999.
I'm not criticising the music. I rate Costello as one of the greatest songwriters and performers of the last fifty years and almost all of his records offer something special to the listener. My problem is with this new best of compilation. Such a thing is important when we're dealing with an artist as prolific and idiosyncratic as Costello, especially as it gives new...
Published on 28 Aug. 2004 by Jonathan James Romley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 1 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I love Elvis Costello! I forgot he wrote so many songs and performed loads more. The early stuff is the best and should be played loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ELVIS COSTELLO DOESN'T DISAPPOINT, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very best of (Audio CD)
Elvis Costello has an exceptional voice and this CD is a nice, compact insight into his oeuvre and a good introduction for newer fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars elvis costello, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
well what can i say. elvis costello is such a fantastic songwriter. i could listen to him all night with his spectacular voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great CD with almost all Mr. Costello's hits so far..., 10 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
This is really a phantastic "Best Of" CD, which contains almost Elvis Costello's greatest hits so far and rare gems! Beginning with late Seventies punk and pure rock "n" roll the CDs then goes further to the "pop-years" in mid-Eighties. Some tracks from the Warner Bros. years has been realeased on the two CDs, though Mr. Costello himself had a hard time to get the permission from Warners! Thank God the Warner yaers now are over :-)! His best backing group The Attractions, Nick Lowe, The Brodsky Quartet, Sir Paul McCartney and others are also present on the CDs. This "Best Of" is worth five stars, and I hope that many people will buy it. If you don't know the work of Elvis Costello then the CDs will give you a good time - that is a promise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 26 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very best of (Audio CD)
A Xmas present but I already own it myself. The essential collection for any Elvis Costello fan. A bit of a bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brought back memories, 25 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great album and it brought back a lot of memories. Listen to it all the time. You can't beat 70's music. Pedro x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Costello greats, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The reason 4 getting this album was because I enjoy the unique way of his music would recommend 2 any Costello fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic hits and misses., 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Fantastic collection of all his great hits and misses,and lost gems that are well worth checking out,buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Prompt delivery of item exactly as described...
For review of album see Many Many others !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Oct. 2014
By 
Lesley Wells - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Takes me back to my teenage years. All the songs I could remember and a few I'd forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of
The Very Best Of by The Attractions (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews