Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 February 2004
Could the mountainous landscape on the cover of this album be a subliminal image chosen by the band because this is the record where they subconsciously reach their musical peak?
Most likely not, but visual coincidences aside, this is easily my most favourite of all of Moloko's albums. My interest in the band started when a friend of mine bought Do You Like My Tight Sweater? mainly based on its quirky title and bizarre sleeve as spotted in miniature somewhere in the pages of a Britannia catalogue. But where I found that album a great, if patchy, mix of happily unclassifiable, cross-genre electro-trip-ditties, I Am Not A Doctor is a complete record with not a stinker on it.
Sing It Back appears in its true, haunting form instead of the blandified pop-club version, though is not the stand-out track in this truly versatile mix. My favourites are probably Over My Head for its tongue-twistingness and Should've Been... for its never-wanting-to-end-ness a la Desolation Row, for alas it signals the finish.
Why this album is so overlooked beats me, but then why aren't Saint Etienne permanently at no.1? I'm glad Moloko decided to branch out and try different things for their subsequent albums, but I really don't think they'll ever top this monolith of manic, multi-style, flippant trip-hoppery.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2000
It's a great shame that I Am Not a Doctor received such unfair treatment by nearly all critics. The album is packed with brilliant and original songs, a deep and harmonic sound with surprising moves making it exciting and never dull. Its cool yet warm expression makes it perfect for winter night playing. The brilliant house mix of Sing It Back differ a lot from the original on I Am Not a Doctor and is not included. You should buy this as well and you soon realize why the song stands alone! The mood is totally different.
The album is a refreshing breeze of pop loyal to its electric roots without any unsuitable rock blend. I have no doubt when handing over the 5 stars it deserves.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2001
Looking beyond the remixes of 'Sing it Back' and 'The Time is Now', Moloko are producing some of the most exciting and fresh music on the scene today. Fusing together trip hop, jazz, rock, pop and funk, the result is a totally unique and fantastical blend of brilliance. Buy this album and listen to Dr Zee or Caught in a Whisper or... well, listen to the whole album to see what I mean.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Moloko's second superb outing - more focused and slightly less avant-garde than Do You Like My Tight Sweater?
What a great duo they were - experimental, haunting, thought provoking, electronic funky soul with Roisin Murphy's voice sweet honey gliding over the top of the danceable, thumping shimmering electrobeat.
If you like groups like Goldfrapp, Ladytron, New Order, Kate Bush, Tori Amos you will love them.
Such a shame they only recorded four albums and a greatest hits package, but Roisin's three solo albums are worth checking out also.
If I could give it more than five stars I would.
Stunning and Essential, if only all music were as good as this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2006
arriving late to the review party but you'll never a dull moment from start to finish with this album.

if you like the quirks and effects heard on ...tight sweater fused with the anthemic moloko tracks we are used to hearing (sing it back etc) then have a pece of this pie because it is good.

opening with a D n B number the album sets the bar high and it carries on delivering constantly shifting tempo and mood. Through from electronica, broken stilted beats, lazy lucid vocals, craftwerk-like interludes, fat dance beats iam not a doctor has it all.

this is good good good. do it get it!

umar

35yd beat experiment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
one of my favourite albums of Moloko, dont know why but yes. :-D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Item was as described and in good quality. Arrived quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2001
Three stars may seem unfair as this album is very good but highly original she isn't - unless you have a limited music collection. She's the latest in a line of female singers who have opted out of the commercial music pulp scene to explore music with real expression. A modern day Nico. More art than pop. A sort of laid back dance version of Laurie Anderson with touches of PJ Harvey and Grace Jones. Orchestration a bit too minimalist and the drum machine sounding kit gets a bit tedious after a while - rhythms could be better explored. I think she needs to team up with some more imaginative musicians (Golden Paliminoes, Perrinormal, etc). Good stuff at night to chill out to.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.85

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)