Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic collection of easy cheesy high notes and tunes
Frank is the crowned king of crooners.His voice belongs somewhere in the Alpine range echoing through the mountains in a chilling crisp tone. There is not one bad song on this album.Ifield does not know what a bad song is, with his vocal range he could turn the Birdie song in a hit. Please go and buy this, you will not regret it.
Published on 22 Jun 2000 by rob.browning@oceancatalogue.com

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All the hits and more....
Beautifully remastered recordings of all the big hits. That was the reason for my purchase. It's a pity that some of the album tracks featured fail to even approach the heights of I Remember You.

However given the price, overall tracklisting and the quality of the recordings this is an excellent purchase.
Published on 28 Nov 2009 by S. W. Ladd


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic collection of easy cheesy high notes and tunes, 22 Jun 2000
This review is from: The Essential Frank Ifield Collection (Audio CD)
Frank is the crowned king of crooners.His voice belongs somewhere in the Alpine range echoing through the mountains in a chilling crisp tone. There is not one bad song on this album.Ifield does not know what a bad song is, with his vocal range he could turn the Birdie song in a hit. Please go and buy this, you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic work from the king of yodeling, 20 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Essential Frank Ifield Collection (Audio CD)
Frank Ifield is in fantastic form here, from his proud and jutting rock stiff quiff on the cover, to the dying note. Frank makes music which makes you humm, tap your feet, and just bloody smile! Work colleagues will want to know your secret of happiness, as you wonder the office with a fixed grin reciting the tunes in your head. Buy it now, this is timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A country singer at heart, 30 Sep 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Frank Ifield Collection (Audio CD)
Frank was born in England but raised in Australia, later to return to the UK to establish his singing career - a pattern repeated by Olivia Newton John. Whereas Olivia eventually based herself in America, Frank remained in the UK, playing the small country music circuit long after his pop successes were a distant memory. Country music has never been huge in Britain but it has enjoyed a reasonable level of support especially since the seventies. In the sixties, Frank Ifield discovered - as did the husband and wife team of Miki and Griff - that there was no significant following for the music. Frank, together with Miki and Griff, George Hamilton IV and a few others, helped to change that.
Like Miki and Griff, Frank had to compromise his music to get it heard but anybody listening to it will realize that Frank is a country singer at heart. A look at the track listing will show that Frank liked to cover country songs, although many pop singers also did that in those days. This compilation contains all the essentials.
Frank started his UK chart career with a couple of minor hits (Lucky devil, Gotta get a date) in 1960 but then disappeared from the charts until the summer of 1962, when he began a sequence of big hits - three number ones (I remember you, Lovesick blues, Wayward wind), a number four (Nobody's darlin' but mine) and a further number one (Confessin'). He then had another minor hit (Mule train) in October 1963. In the summer of 1964, Frank had one last top ten hit (Don't blame me) followed by six further minor hits up to the end of 1966. After that, he disappeared from the charts completely until a he had surprise minor hit in 1991 on a different label (The yodelling song), which is not included here.
Frank did much to improve the status of country music in Britain. He may have compromised his sound to appeal to pop music fans, but so have plenty of others. If you enjoy country music and sixties pop music, you will probably enjoy this. And if you do, check out Miki and Griff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 4 Feb 2011
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Frank Ifield Collection (Audio CD)
Frank Ifield was not the sort of singer that I would listen to when I was growing up. He was someone that the older generation were into. I remember his hit records on the radio as I was growing up and tracks like "I remember you" have often been played over the years. Now that I am older I can appreciate the music and world of Frank Ifield myself.
Frank Ifield has a great voice and it is easy to see why he was so popular just on that basis alone. But the sort of music and style of songs he recorded have a magic quality. Each track was recorded during a classic era of pop music and the style of arrangement is balanced well. Lots of interesting sounds and not over complicated is the recepie. And the colourful sixties stereo sepertation offer an interesting and entertaining sound board.

Frank had fifteen UK hit singles in the years 1960 to 1966 and one hit single in 1991. "Lucky Devil" and "Gotta get a date" were modest starts to his hits success during 1960. Then 1962 to 1963 gave him four number one hit records with tracks like "I remember you", "Lovesick blues", "Confessin" and the "Wayward wind". And in amongst those was the number four single "Nobody`s darling but mine" which is an excellent track. "Don't blame me" from 1966 was a impressive number eight hit and then the remaining seven hits of the sixties all got into the lower top 30 all in the same year 1966. All of the tracks were recorded on Columbia records as part of EMI and one track was issued, and charted for the first time in 1991. This was "She taught me how to Yodel". This time released on EMI records. Frank had used elements of Yodelling in his records and this track is perhaps the strongest example. This compilation is brilliant since it contains all of these singles. Also there are some tracks that are expertly placed in this programme running order. There is Frank`s version of "Riders in the sky" which is great and there is also a wonderful version of "Scarlett Ribbons".

If you want one CD to represent the flavour and magic of Frank Ifield, or if you are just looking for an introduction to his work, then this is a great place to start. It is truly a fantastic compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All the hits and more...., 28 Nov 2009
By 
S. W. Ladd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Frank Ifield Collection (Audio CD)
Beautifully remastered recordings of all the big hits. That was the reason for my purchase. It's a pity that some of the album tracks featured fail to even approach the heights of I Remember You.

However given the price, overall tracklisting and the quality of the recordings this is an excellent purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Frank Ifield Collection (Audio CD)
The love rating is for my mother. I purchased this for her CD player in her care home. The CD is regularly borrowed and played in the main lounge where all the residents will sing along to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The other Frank, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Frank Ifield Collection (Audio CD)
I remember what a huge star Frank Ifield was in the early '60's. "I remember You", "Wayward Wind", "Confessing" "Lovesick Blues" were huge hits and Frank was always top of the bill. Somehow he faded from the limelight but this cd reminds me of what a great singer (and yodeller) he was (and perhaps still is). All his best known songs on this CD. Clear and vibrant recordings. Fantastic. A real "blast from the past".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frank Ifield, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Frank Ifield Collection (Audio CD)
Really good cd.very nice collection of his songs. We have both always been a fan of his.good to hear him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frank Ifield, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Frank Ifield Collection (Audio CD)
He was my Mum's favourite singer so listening and singing along with the CD brought back happy memories. The only draw back was that the cads was broken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frank Ifield album, 9 May 2013
By 
Lizzie (Brighton UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this guy he has such a good voice. And the yodelling is great. Another one of my favourite singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Frank Ifield Collection
The Essential Frank Ifield Collection by Frank Ifield (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews