Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It changed my life...
well, not quite, but this is one of the jewels of my music question. If you love the cartoons and wanna hear the 'Stop the Pigeon' theme tune again, or relive the euphoria of the Banana Splits, or want to write down all the Wacky Racers for any pub quizzes....buy this CD. It really showcases all their greats, and even stuff I'd never heard of. As well as that, it features...
Published on 11 Aug 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit Meh
Could definitely be better, more tunes, less repeats, full themes, but it's good for a laugh and a bit of nostalgia, had it playing in the clothing shop I manage got good feedback from the older generations.
Published 1 month ago by Richard Gledhill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It changed my life..., 11 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Hanna-Barbera: Tunes From The Toons (Audio CD)
well, not quite, but this is one of the jewels of my music question. If you love the cartoons and wanna hear the 'Stop the Pigeon' theme tune again, or relive the euphoria of the Banana Splits, or want to write down all the Wacky Racers for any pub quizzes....buy this CD. It really showcases all their greats, and even stuff I'd never heard of. As well as that, it features background music to some of the big ones, so you can read the papers on Sunday to the tunes of the Flinstone household.
Buy this if you love the cartoons and wanna be pleasantly surprised by how fun this CD is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuis, 29 May 2011
By 
D. Izod - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Hanna-Barbera: Tunes From The Toons (Audio CD)
This CD is massively evocative of a special era in the lives of anyone born in the 60's. The sleeve notes conjure up this magic very well, a magic that is predicated on one simple idea: HOME TIME! Getting home at 4pm did not mean homework (working class)or prep (middle class) for that could wait until we had had a cup of tea, eaten a sandwich or a bowl of cornflakes and spent two glorious hours vegging out in front of the TV watching some programmes that ranged from the dreadful to the sublime. Most of the cartoons here fall into the latter category. It still produces in me a visceral response of pure pleasure to hear the opening theme to Top Cat or The Flintstones, Wacky Races or Secret Squirell. The sun shone, we had no worries except what mum was making for tea and we could indulge ourselves in the glory of H and B cartoons. Some of the latter ones are a mystery to me (Josie and the Pussycats?) but those that the BBC bought and aired in the late 60's and early 70's are burned into the very fibre of my being.

This CD has got it all: the theme tunes, the outros and best of all, the underscores, which are genius unrivalled. Buy and indulge yourself.

Best listened to in the afternoon while drinking tea and eating toast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia and in car child entertainment, 2 Oct 2010
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best of Hanna-Barbera: Tunes From The Toons (Audio CD)
Two birds and one stone - nostalgia for you, as you re live those halcyon days when cartoons were proper cartoons, not like the rubbish now (yes, I know,I sound like a grumpy old man) and sing along with your favourite themes, the Hair Bear Bunch, Scooby Doo, Top Cat, the Flintstones and many more.
Entertain the children on car journeys with a CD they they will love and you can sing along with - watch as your older children squirm with shame as you show that you can remember all the words to the Banana Splits - it's a fixture in our car and I can't recommend it enough - Yabadabadoo !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bit Meh, 11 Mar 2014
By 
Richard Gledhill (Pembrokeshire, Uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Hanna-Barbera: Tunes From The Toons (Audio CD)
Could definitely be better, more tunes, less repeats, full themes, but it's good for a laugh and a bit of nostalgia, had it playing in the clothing shop I manage got good feedback from the older generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Hanna Barbara Tunes From The Toons, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Hanna-Barbera: Tunes From The Toons (Audio CD)
Love all the cartoon theme tunes on it. From The Flintstones, Wacky Races, Darstardly And Muttley, Wallygator, Top Cat what more could you ask for! Original TV Theme tunes as if you were watching the cartoons as well as a great 1970's memory of childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Original Themes Recordings, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Hanna-Barbera: Tunes From The Toons (Audio CD)
Fantástic for any Hanna-Barbera fan. Why don't make movies and soundtracks like theses anymore? I've been looking for this for a long time and thank God I found it. I'm do really recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 9 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Best of Hanna-Barbera: Tunes From The Toons (Audio CD)
these are the originals and the cd arrived really quickly. i was very impressed and pleased. its also a really good price even with the postage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa952d9fc)

This product

The Best of Hanna-Barbera: Tunes From The Toons
The Best of Hanna-Barbera: Tunes From The Toons by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews