Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars22
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 March 2005
Now you listen to me! dont listen to anyone else, this is an album worth buying twice!
Some say its too clean and not like the older stuff, but if it was, that would just be silly. some say its not as agressive as DANZIG, but please, let me enlighten you...
In the song SATURDAY NIGHT, he sings about how he kills all of his girlfriends, in the song SCREAM, he sings about how he wants to hear his victims scream (funny enough) and in the song HUNTING HUMANS, well, you can kinda guess cant you?
So if you can find a song on there that isnt catchy, E mail me, i challenge you!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 1999
This is a fantastic album, combining the original Misfits feel with much better produced sound, notably Doyle's guitar and Michale Graves' new improved voice, which is distinctly better than the vocals on "American Psycho". Jerry Only said once that if he ever made a record that was not better than his last, then he would quit the business. Well it is obvious to see that this is not necessary, as this is a clear improvement. The horror jokes wear thin after a while, but the music more than makes up for this. There is a clear Fifties fell to a couple of the tracks, such as the doo-wop inspired Saturday Night, and the hellish rockabilly-style Scarecrow Man, which show that the 'fits acknowledge their roots. Highlights of the album include Forbidden Zone, Scream and hunting Humans. True, one or two songs might be considered mediocre, but then there are 18 songs on the album. Essential listening for any fiend.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2001
This album gets alot of bad rap because it's not like Danzig-style Misfits. Well I love the Danzig style (I have the coffin set) but I still adore this album.
The comic book presentation of this album gives an idea that this is going to be quite the "fantasy" album. That it is, the death-obsessed lyrics of the 80s are still there as well as a more mature approach (i.e. Saturday Night) and a classic comic book idea (i.e. Forbidden Zone and Lost in Space).
The album is so much futher than the old (and great) dirty old school punk style and is more like a punk metal album. Heavy riffs, amazing solos, great vocals...a great album. The best Misfits album and one of the best albums ever made.
Best songs include Forbidden Zone, Scream (which they made a good music video for), Saturday Night, Descending Angel and Helena. Get this CD, it's amazing. The 3 extra tracks are a bonus too (even though Helena (2) is near identical to the first one).
Anyway get this album, it's an uplifting and heavy album and sounds nothing like Elvis (unlike Danzig's voice).
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2006
people predicted the misfits would suffer when they returned with michael graves on voclas instead of glenn danzig,this is proof that was never gonna happen,graves does a fantastic job leading one of the greatest bands of all time,the shock horror rockers are in immense form here and they are taking no prisoners here,simple as that really.

the album is filled with misfits classic after classic,cracking 3 minute or under anthems that sound immense live and superb on cd as well,songs like forbidden zone,dust to dust,witch hunt and the startling scream which has a killer video highlight the quality of this album,helena is a moody,brooding number which is class yet again,the misfits know how to write a catchy number,they do it better than most,there isnt a bad song on here,the album was produced by roadrunner records who didnt appreciate this band or album enough,shame on them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2015
I like all eras of the Misfits & I personally I think this is a fantastic album. I love American Psycho which is probably heavier and more aggressive but the song writing on this album is better, personal favs: Scream!, Saturday Night, Descending Angel & Helena all have great horror themed lyrics, brutal guitars killer melodies that you just cant help but sing along to. There are no bad songs but there are one or two that aren't as strong - Kong Unleashed for example.

The Graves era gets a lot of stick from the Danzig hardcore which I could understand if he (Graves) was trying to emulate Danzig but he doesn't he does his own thing. If you can't stomach the idea of someone other than Danzig singing for this bad this isn't for you. Otherwise you will probably find something to enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2004
I like this album a lot. Its true, it wont appeal to all fans of Danzig-era Misfits, but this is very different. But then, Earth AD was very different to Static Age and Walk Among us.
The point I'm trying to make is that yes, its different. And thats a good thing. There wouldn't be much point in trying to copy the old style, as they would end up sounding an imitation. Its far better they moved on.
The production is far cleaner than the old stuff, and it is closer to metal then punk in many respects, but its still good. Helena is a highpoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2004
Okay, so Cpt. Glenn is noticeably missed, and it hasn't got that gravelly, untamed sound to it as Walk Among Us or Earth A.D- but what the Misfits have produced with new front man Michale Graves is impressive nonetheless. The sound quality is greatly improved, Michale Graves brings a different and updated quality to the vocals - lets face it, he had bloody big boots to fill after Danzig, and it was obvious he would never be able to fit them, or imitate Glenn's unique style.
Despite Famous Monsters appalling cover artwork, its an enjoyable album, filled with instantly howl-along songs to perhaps rival Last Caress, Attitude or Die die my darling. It also features some amazing songs such as Scream, Helena and Descending Angel that definitely deserve a listen to even by the most hard-core Fiend.
So it's not Danzig, but Jerry Only is still there, Doyle is awesome on the guitar and Michale Graves seems much more comfortable than he was on American Psycho.
I would definitely recommend buying Famous Monsters...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2000
As a Metallica fan, I am already familiar with the Misfits in their original guise (e.g. "Die, die, my Darling") - Cliff Burton was totally dedicated to the 'fits - but "Famous.." knocks the socks off their previous stuff. If you love a) New York Punk, b) Rockabilly, c) out-and-out metal and d) cheesy old 50's B movies - this album is for you. It has a permanent place in my car CD changer, and brings a tear to my eye whenever I listen to it - for all the wrong reasons, of course!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2007
well i have only been a misfits fan for say almost a year now and i originally started with the misfits collection vol.1 and was blown away by that. so i decided to buy famous monsters and wow was it a good choice!!! its simply pure awesomeness!!! i love it and if you want a good misfits album in your collection then i suggest this one!!! stand out tracks for me are, fiend club, dust to dust, helena and scarecrow man!!! get it now!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2010
When I first heard about this cd, i thought it would be pretty bad considering they were without danzig, but actually the songs sound awesome! Graves' voice fits the song styles perfectly. They sound quite different to the songs from the danzig era but don't be put off, songs such as the forbidden zone and lost in space are both masterpieces! so if your a misfits fan, buy this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)