Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars36
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2003
To my mind, the best McCartney album. No pretention, no churn-'em-out rubbish. No doubting the fact that he's a master songwriter, having written upmteen timeless classics, he's also output some less-than-credible works over the years. OK, so nobody's perfect. But this album captures the raw live energy and enthusiasm that you wouldn't expect from an old codger! When you listen to this recording, you can't help but feel that he loved every minute of making it and that sort of thing comes across so rarely these days. He can still make it work. Youth of today, take note!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2000
I love rock 'n' roll, so when I heard that Sir Macca had gone back to his roots, I was very excited. The end result unfortunately didn't quite live up to my hopes.
The spirit is there, there is no denying that - but simply put, there are modern rockin' bands out there who could have done this so much better: but don't get the major label support that McCartney enjoys.
Major gripes? The solo on "Twenty Flight Rock" - how can you not include Cochran's flying fingers solo? And too many of the tracks simply drag... "No other baby", "Lonesome town", "Shake a hand"...
Saving graces though are when McCartney lets rip -a fine interpretation of the Burnette's "Honey Hush", a nice take on Berry's "Brown Eyed Handsome Man" and "All Shook Up" and "I Got Stung" - a couple of brave choices.
This is very much a 70s style Teddy Boy stomping album... I can't see it bringing many new converts into the fold: but I might be wrong, it has sold well and might have inspired some younger listeners to find the original recordings, as The Beatles and Stones did for me.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
Back to hs roots, and proving no-one can do it like him, McCartney is raucous, rocking and great fun. I really enjoy listening to a true rocker show how it's done.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2011
Essential listening from the start with McCartney's Elvis vocal on opening track 'Blue Jean Bop'. Later nighlights include a Cajun flavoured Chuck Berry cover.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2000
The best thing about this album is that it doesn't attempt to be anything grandiose or significant - just some talented guys playing rock'n'roll. My favourite track is Coquette - Paul really does sound like a pub singer.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
Where did I miss this one..?. I didn't know this cd even existed, Paul McCartney at his rock 'n'roll best.
Once you press play you cannot miss a track until the last rockin note.
As McCartney says on the last track " I'm gonna have a party"
McCartney put together a "Super Group" and does it show. WoW
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 1999
What better way to kick off the new millenium than to review the old...roots that is. He's done it again. He never fails to amaze with his originality and musical leadership. Props to Paul for doing something that should have been done many moons ago. Maybe this will change the path of today's nonmusic music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2016
A really great album of classic '50s covers by Macca. Hearkens back to early Beatles albums such as "With the" & "For Sale". Sir Paul is clearly enjoying himself on this disc - which sounds a bit cathartic for him as well, this being his first album since the passing of Linda.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2000
I bought this with some reservations - who wants to hear another Elvis cover, and who ever did them better? Within two listens, this had become a must play CD that swept away all reservations. Superb vocals and arrangements, intense passion, lovely switches in pace and mood - and all great fun. I rate this as among the very best post-Beatles work by any of them. Well worth buying, and in the end completely irresitable. Buy, or live and regret!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
For my money the second best Macca album to RAM - couldn't believe he still had it in him - "No other baby but you" is a gem. Delivered on time so not by City-Link.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.86
£4.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)