Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock 'n roll --you either do it or you don't
One star for this album? Please try to be serious, listeners. If you have ever wanted to know what it was like to hear the Beatles selling beer to the Kaiserkeller crowd, this album is as close as you deserve to get. The fast tracks crackle with energy, the slow ones are deeply and honestly emotional, and this entire crowd of grizzled veterans plays as though they...
Published on 2 Mar 2000 by C. Cleveland

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some Really Good Stuff mixed in with the bland
Like everyone of my generation I have been [over] exposed to the Beatles. I think it is impossible to view them objectively due to the massive media hype. I think that squirreled away behind the myth has always been the amazing oral music skills of McCartney in particular and the band as a whole. The songs may at times leave me cold [more and more the older I get] but the...
Published on 19 Feb 2007 by Sceptic a la M. Teste


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock 'n roll --you either do it or you don't, 2 Mar 2000
By 
C. Cleveland (Dryden, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Run Devil Run (Audio CD)
One star for this album? Please try to be serious, listeners. If you have ever wanted to know what it was like to hear the Beatles selling beer to the Kaiserkeller crowd, this album is as close as you deserve to get. The fast tracks crackle with energy, the slow ones are deeply and honestly emotional, and this entire crowd of grizzled veterans plays as though they were eighteen, and enjoying every split second of it. Why it would occur to anyone to compare this album with Flaming Pie I don't know, as the creative impulses behind them are quite different. This is a great performance album; Flaming Pie is a great one-man-band in his studio album, with a lot of new McCartney classics on it. You need both albums, honestly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB, ROUSING COLLECTION OF BRILLIANT SONGS, 27 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Run Devil Run (Audio CD)
As soon as you place this album in the CD Player and press play, you are aware that you are listening to music of a kind not often seen today. Live, REAL music, recorded by musicians who are doing it because they love playing Rock N' Roll, instead of a bunch of synthesisors and a DJ who is assured of another million pounds from his mono-tone, boring excuse for music.
Paul is in top vocal form here, and proves that, given the right circumstances, he can still belt the old numbers out to perfection, even at the age of 57.
If you have seen Paul's live performances to promote this album, you would have wondered if the album really did capture that same atmosphere. Well, the answer has to be an emphatic yes. This is brilliant music, the recording even sounds like an old fifties record, without sacrificing the superior quality of a nineties compact disc recording. Don't understand? Then listen to the album!
The only low point on the album is "No Other Baby" which is too slow and shows Paul's vocals up a little. This is most apparent where he tries to imitate John Lennon at the end of the track.
The best songs on the album have to be "All Shook Up", "Try Not To Cry", "Run Devil Run" and the closer "Party". But having said that, most of the other songs are equally good, so choosing best songs is difficult. A valid sign of an excellent album.
As for Paul's own compositions, they fit into the mood of the album brilliantly.
The packaging even harks back to the fifties, with the disc itself designed to look like an old LP. Great stuff.
Overall, a superb album and a MUST have. Well done, Paul!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Other, 5 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Run Devil Run (Audio CD)
Just to add to the other 5 star reviews (and I know that this is a very late review for this but I live in a remote area where things are a bit slow...).It seems to me that those who object to this album do so on the grounds that when they buy an album they want it to be by a singer songwriter...

Well the Beatles earned their daily bread as what would now be called a cover band.Except that then the concept did not imply derision. Then it was the norm for every group to want to play their favourite American songs and put their own stamp on it.For example , in my younger days I saw three top British groups take on Beautiful Delilah by Chuck Berry.And why not!And John Lennon's Twist and Shout , which took an EP into the charts for over a year, has far more energy than the original.In the same way Jagger's You'd Better Move On, which took an EP etc etc, has far more power than the original.

Anyway the low raters among these reviews surprise me because the three McCartney songs on this album are just great. And , of course, the group stamp their own authority on the covers. I am sad enough to have the original Shellac purple Parlophone Vipers 'No Other'. In the slieve notes McCartney says he never even had the original, but the tune stayed in his head. Well the original (and I speak as a huge Vipers fan (told you I was sad)) is not Wallys finest hour. But the cover is a deeply moving song. Thankyou. I also greatly appreciate hearing more guitar from the sound of the Pirates who I saw in Margate a mere century or two ago.

Just one question relating to the choice of oldies..How come McCartney and others , when they choose 'Just Because' go for the Elvis song? While Lennon chose the completely different 'Just Because' by Lloyd Price. Well I prefer the latter and I wonder if the Beatles played both...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul is back!!!, 5 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Run Devil Run (Audio CD)
Paul McCartney hasn't rocked this hard since 1964. Of course he produced a lot of good music after "Can't Buy Me Love" and "Long Tall Sally" but whenever he tried to play straight-ahead rock'n' roll it never quite made it. Certainly CHOBA B CCCP failed in this respect. But this album is rockin' Paul at his best. At times it really does sound like it is 35 years ago. You can almost hear John Lennon on "She Said Yeah" and "Honey Hush". And Paul's self-penned numbers? They work, with the exception for me of "Try Not To Cry". But the title track and "What It Is" fight right in among the 40-year-old classics. The highlight for me is "Brown Eyed Handsome Man". You can really hear how much Paul is enjoying himself. If you are a Paul McCartney fan, this is a must-buy...and if you're not, take a chance on Paul. He isn't all "With A Little Luck" and "Silly Love Songs" (two of my faves, actually).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - let's have some more, Paul, 12 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Run Devil Run (Audio CD)
At last, McCartney has thrown off the middle-of-the-road mantle and returned to what he does best - old-fashioned rock and roll. OK his voice isn't as good as it was in the Beatles' heyday (I'm Down is a rock and roll masterpiece and his backing of Lennon on Money remains one of the best examples of English rock and roll singing) but it's still far better than most. Go out and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars macartney at his best, 4 May 2013
By 
Bryn "bryn" (newport south wales uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Run Devil Run (Audio CD)
I picked this cd up in a bargain basket and wonder why i have,nt heard it before, the guitar playing by dave gilmour is superb and macartney has never sounded better, definitley one of his best solo albums, it makes you wonder what has happened it recent years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars McCartney hails back to the early Beatles, 8 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Run Devil Run (Audio CD)
I loved the Beatles - I was buying their records when they first came out in the '60's. I loved Lennon more than Macca, and I was never taken by Wings. But this album has in many tracks the sound of the early Beatles, with the McCartney voice recalling the early stuff. It's not a classic album, but if you are or were a Beatles fan, and think most of the current pop music scene is pretty awful, you will most likely enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Roll the way it should be, 21 Nov 1999
By 
Green Milo (Salmiya, Kuwait) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Run Devil Run (Audio CD)
I agree with reviews I have read here and add that having listened to Paul McCartney explaining the ideas behind the album and how it was produced I would definitely underline the comment "If you think today's pop is awful ... then listen to this". You may not like all the tracks but you can not sit down and listen to it ... So get up and clap your hands and stomp your feet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life in the old dog...., 26 July 2003
This review is from: Run Devil Run (Audio CD)
To my mind, the best McCartney album. No pretention, no churn-'em-out rubbish. No doubting the fact that he's a master songwriter, having written upmteen timeless classics, he's also output some less-than-credible works over the years. OK, so nobody's perfect. But this album captures the raw live energy and enthusiasm that you wouldn't expect from an old codger! When you listen to this recording, you can't help but feel that he loved every minute of making it and that sort of thing comes across so rarely these days. He can still make it work. Youth of today, take note!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Teddy Boy stomp, 1 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Run Devil Run (Audio CD)
I love rock 'n' roll, so when I heard that Sir Macca had gone back to his roots, I was very excited. The end result unfortunately didn't quite live up to my hopes.
The spirit is there, there is no denying that - but simply put, there are modern rockin' bands out there who could have done this so much better: but don't get the major label support that McCartney enjoys.
Major gripes? The solo on "Twenty Flight Rock" - how can you not include Cochran's flying fingers solo? And too many of the tracks simply drag... "No other baby", "Lonesome town", "Shake a hand"...
Saving graces though are when McCartney lets rip -a fine interpretation of the Burnette's "Honey Hush", a nice take on Berry's "Brown Eyed Handsome Man" and "All Shook Up" and "I Got Stung" - a couple of brave choices.
This is very much a 70s style Teddy Boy stomping album... I can't see it bringing many new converts into the fold: but I might be wrong, it has sold well and might have inspired some younger listeners to find the original recordings, as The Beatles and Stones did for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Run Devil Run
Run Devil Run by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews