Customer Reviews


404 Reviews
5 star:
 (332)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Disney's top dog
NB: As is Amazon's Wont, they've very unhelpfully bundled all the reviews for various editions and formats together. This review refers to the deleted 2-disc DVD.

Still the top dog when it comes to quality canine animation, this now deleted two-disc set of Lady and the Tramp does a nice job of presenting Disney's first CinemaScope animated feature in all its...
Published on 15 Jun. 2010 by Trevor Willsmer

versus
23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE FAKES & COPIES & CHEAP IMPORTS - Why I know and What needs to be done...
Having previously worked for Walt Disney Company UK Management and acquired most of the original Animated Classics from source - I decided to put my collection up for sale (some 2 years ago) as I planned for my retirement and give other serious Disney enthusiasts a chance to own genuine UK DISNEY DVDs still NEW and FACTORY SEALED (yes, kept that way as a potential...
Published on 21 Oct. 2012 by I Like Disney


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Disney's top dog, 15 Jun. 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
NB: As is Amazon's Wont, they've very unhelpfully bundled all the reviews for various editions and formats together. This review refers to the deleted 2-disc DVD.

Still the top dog when it comes to quality canine animation, this now deleted two-disc set of Lady and the Tramp does a nice job of presenting Disney's first CinemaScope animated feature in all its original 2.55:1 glory. Even though it's one of the minor classics, it's still a master class in great animation and economical character-led storytelling. The visual transitions are marvellous, although the Scope frame isn't used as fully as you might expect: perhaps aware of the difficulties of shooting a Scope and a flat version for unconverted theatres from the same cels, a lot of the action is centered to minimise loss of essential information. Better still, all the characters are marvellously delineated and likeable, from the bit-parts to leading lady. Indeed, Tramp is still the benchmark for the greatest screen animated dog. And, of course, the film features what has to be the best movie date ever (who can forget the moment when Tramp noses his meatball to Lady's mouth? Sorry, couldn't resist...).

There's an impressive array of extras on the original 2-disc DVD release too - storyboards of 2 deleted scenes as well as from an abandoned 1943 attempt to bring it to the screen, a 52-minute documentary on the making of the film, featurettes, extracts from black and white episodes of Disneyland promoting the film's original theatrical release, stills galleries and original and reissue trailers. The only disappointment is that it doesn't include the fullframe version that was made at the same time for cinemas that hadn't yet converted to CinemaScope which Disney briefly released separately on laser disc in the US in 1998 but has remained unseen since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ORIGINAL VERSION is the BEST, 23 July 2012
By 
Rich & Maz (Norwich in UK) - See all my reviews
Having had the opportunity to watch ALL the DVD versions of one of absolutely fantastic animated classics from Disney and as a former (now retired) member of Disney Management staff, it is strikingly obvious that the charm and production of how we (of a certain age) remember so fondly the animation, and it is somehow lost that in the newer Disney releases, albeit digitally remastered, with the loss of widescreen vision, the over emphasis of sharp lines, etc.

Buy the Original Release if possible - you will not be disappointed.

It is a GREAT Story, timeless and for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Disney pleasure, 19 Mar. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love dogs, Disney and easy to watch, happy family films. This is all of the above. It's funny, sentimental, well made and downright enjoyable. Classic scenes ("We are Siamese" song and Lady & Tramp sharing spaghetti)stick in the memory forever and seem fresh even 30 years after you first saw it. One of the greatest Disney fims though not as good as Aristocats in my view which has exceptional humour to counterbalance the typical Disney sentiment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Love Story, 14 May 2006
By 
H. Pierce (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
A classic Disney film, the viewer finds themselves in small town America, 1910, as Christmas arrives. And the loveable Lady pup is a gift from Jim Dear to his wife Darling to celebrate the occasion.

Lady soon makes good friends with the neighbouring dogs, Jock, and Trusty, and is quite contented. Then Aunt Sarah arrives to help out with the new baby and suddenly Lady is not the centre of her owners world and, added to the fact that she is treated unfairly by Sarah, she feels quite unhappy.

Cue The Tramp! A charming mongrel of a dog, with a 'devil may care' attitude. Lady runs off with him after a nasty moment with Aunt Sarah's 'precious' cats Si and Am.

Lady and The Tramp embark on some adventures together, and go on the world famous candlelit dinner at Tony's restaurant (you know the scene - the spaghetti and meatballs scene on the cover). Unfortunately, this idyllic lifestyle comes to an abrupt halt when Lady is captured by The Pound.

She meets some of Tramp's companions whilst inside the pound and doesn't like what she hears about his reputation. So, upon return to her home she tries to drive him away.

Then Tramp turns up trying to save the baby from an evil rat. The films climax sees Tramp, Jock, and Trusty all trying to save the baby. In doing so Tramp risks his own life...lots of suspense follows....but Disney DO prefer happy endings...

The film is very adult in many respects, but is extremely watchable at any age. It has been extremely well conceptualized but is still, essentially, a love story. And Disney do love stories very well indeed. It has a good sense of humour injected throughout, and some very amusing characters - you really fall for Tramp's 'loveable rogue' personality.

The animation is good, much more delicate than the Disney releases of recent years. Yes, it is an 'old style' animation, but that only adds to the films beauty. It is one of Disney's most sophisticated films.

Lady and The Tramp is much more detailed than you might expect, or remember from when you were a child. The story lends itself so well to animation and helped to guide Disney away from their fairy-tale era.

I feel this is one of Disney's best offerings. I hope you all enjoy it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to the delights of DVD!, 22 Oct. 2000
By 
Peter Richardson (Battle, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The advent of DVD has re-defined the whole concept of home cinema and nowhere is this more evident than in the Kingdom of the Mouse. The release to DVD of Disney's 1955 masterpiece "Lady and the Tramp" is one of the most exciting opportunities you could wish for to consider this contention. At last the home viewer can see this film as it was intended. The previous video release, whilst welcome at the time, suffered particularly badly from the cropping required to cram it onto the small screen.
This was Disney's first Cinemascope release and the studio aquitted themselves magnificently. The classic scenario of the genteel ingenue (Lady) being swept off her feet by rogueish young dude from wrong side off the tracks (Tramp) is given a momentous treatment and the film still stands as one of the high points of the studio's illustrious history.
Now for the first time outside of the cinema, the viewer can see the full sweep and grandeur of the leafy suburbs that characterise so much of Lady's world. This is very much a dog's eye view of the world and the layouts and exquisitely rendered backgrounds are jaw droppingly stunning when viewed at DVD resolution, in fact after watching this you will be looking for a new home for the video version you've been clinging onto.
The animation, characterisation and songs are all equally memorable and in a way, reflect the mood of optimism and confidence that characterised so much of America in the fifties. Moments such as Peg's (Peggy Lee) memorable rendition of "He's A Tramp" or Aunt Sarah's dreadful Siamese cats intoning "We Urrr Siameez Eeef You Pleeeez" are forever etched into the consciousness of everyone that has seen this film.
A deinite must have for anyone seeking ways to keep smallish children entertained on a rainy afternoon, or anyone with the slightest love of animation and a well constructed story, rendered with style and panache.
Hopefully, it won't be too long before we can see Disney's other great ... Cinemascope venture of the fifties, "Sleeping Beauty" given the DVD treatment it so richly deserves, in the meantime "Lady and the Tramp" is a great introduction to the delights of Disney films on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A childhood favorite!, 3 Jun. 2013
I had quite a few Disney VHS tapes when I was little and this was one of them. I adore Lady and the Tramp as it introduced me to to having a liking for dogs. The characters are loveable,the songs are memorable and dreamy and the animation is so beautiful that you want to escape to that world! I recommend this Disney classic and I especially recommend the 2-disc special edition as it has lots of interesting special features and a lovely set of menus.(a weird thing to say I know but I am a fan of Disney instrumental pieces of music and the menu layout on both discs are lovely in CGI although I love 2d better) There is a scene in this movie that I didn't get as a child.It is the part where the pound dogs talk about about a dog named Nutsy who is going to take "the long walk" That's just scary! Overall this is my 4th favourite Disney film of all time and everyone should enjoy it and treasure it forever. P.S. I have aspergers and I'm a teenager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney classic, 20 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my daughter. A Disney classic, she is never tired to watch it. Really enjoyable story to share with the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous ! 10 Stars !, 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the Lady and the Tramp Diamond Edition Blu-ray for our 2 year old Grand Daughter - and she absolutely loved it as did the whole family across three generations ! As with Cinderella this production is also exquisite - it is from the period when Disney was at its finest and again brought back memories my own delight as a small child on seeing it for the first time. Age has not dimmed the appeal of the story and the characters - they are as fresh and delightful today as they ever were - the characterisation of the various dogs and two wicked Siamese cats is utterly delightful and again the little vignettes of 'evil' are beautifully done and with just enough 'threat' to make the story exciting. Once again - the fabulous work that has been done to restore this enchanting film to the current dazzling condition can only be marvelled at. Buy it ! you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cant reccomend quality enough.
Looks like a newly released film due to the crisp lines and great colours.

Note: This is one of the first Disneys to be drawn in wide screen so not only is quality great it fits the whole screen unlike Bambi and Peter Pan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully realised, 17 Jan. 2013
By 
J. N. Melone "jomell" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady and the Tramp [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my grand-kids (6 and 3 yrs old). The 6 year old loves it, as expected, but my 3 year old grandson also wants to watch it repeatedly. Much of it goes over his head, but the drawings and animation are so attractive that he is still immersed in it. Even as adults, we find it beautifully written and a joy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews