Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reznor's Most Complex and Unique Masterpiece
Trent Reznor has NEVER disappointed me, and I doubt he ever will. While some people might've overlooked this album and didn't appreciate it, I think "The Fragile" is a true and unique Nine Inch Nails masterpiece from start to finish. There is not one wasted second on the entire album. It's all good, all well-constructed, and all perfectly executed.
The last full...
Published on 6 May 2003 by Michael Crane

versus
9 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars recycled, then dressed up in a pretty double CD
i used to worship reznor...but his songs seem like they are recycling the same emotion. he uses the same words over and over again (hate, pain, lies, etc.) which gives the album a non genuine feeling, which i hate to admit to myself. reznor's music is as always crunching, unexpected, and beautiful at the same time...but it seems like he just tried to miix and match...
Published on 27 May 2001


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reznor's Most Complex and Unique Masterpiece, 6 May 2003
This review is from: The Fragile (Audio CD)
Trent Reznor has NEVER disappointed me, and I doubt he ever will. While some people might've overlooked this album and didn't appreciate it, I think "The Fragile" is a true and unique Nine Inch Nails masterpiece from start to finish. There is not one wasted second on the entire album. It's all good, all well-constructed, and all perfectly executed.
The last full length NIN album, "The Downward Spiral" is considered a dark and controversial album, but "The Fragile" proves to be more of a softer and melodic piece (although there is still plenty of anger and surprises to go around). With each album you can sense how much NIN's music has evolved. And this album is certainly no exception. There are soft songs and there are heavy songs. There are angry songs and there are emotional songs. There's songs with lyrics, and there are some that are just purely instrumental. No two songs sound alike and no two songs make you feel the same way. That is the genius to Trent Reznor. He can always impress and surprise you.
This double-album is the most complex thing Reznor has done, or at least in my mind. Which is why it took so long for it to come out. There is NOT ONE BAD SONG on the entire two disks. As soon as you're finished listening to them, you want to listen to them again. My favorites are songs like "somewhat damaged," "we're in this together," "the great below," "please," "the mark has been made," "the frail," "the big come down," "where is everybody," "the fragile," and "into the void." But the bottom line is they're all good and this isn't an album you'll want to go around skipping tracks. You will want to absorb it all in its entirety and nothing less.
What can I say; I think Trent Reznor is a musical genius. And I know I'm not the only one who feels that way. Sure, there were people who were disappointed with this album, but if you really do appreciate everything that NIN has done, then you will fall in love with this double-album masterpiece. From start to finish, "The Fragile" is a unique experience that can never be duplicated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gut wrenching, 15 Dec 2005
This review is from: The Fragile (Audio CD)
As is an ever present theme of NIN albums The fragile 'halo fourteen' invites you into a deeply emotive world of self indulgent remorse, pain, and confusion. If you are familiar with their work this will be of no surprise to you and will in fact be a pre-requisite of your nails experience.
It would be of little use to highlight any tracks of particular interest as each one complements the other, and in turn the theme of the album; although, unable to resist temptation the gut wrenching emotivism of 'The great below', the raw power of 'We're in this together' and the seductively destructive 'big come down' will really hit you where it hurts.
Many people comment on nails as being suicide music, and without any fear of reducing their opinions to drivle i will simply say that they can only be denying something that dwells deep within us all. This album will suck you in and emrace you with its iron grip, you'll experience crushing riffs, turbulent synthesized beats and a wealth of percussion effects, with of course the prolific sound of trents agonisingly raw vocal talent to transcend the lot into another dimention of expression through music.
Raw, industrial and thoroughly enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unadulterated Genius, 21 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fragile (Audio CD)
For me, Nine Inch Nails is a band that provides a refreshing break from the same-old-same-old rock music of today. Everything about them, right down to the CD cases, is original and unusual. Trent Reznor is a genius. He writes music that goes beyond being music, it's a state of mind. Take 'The Day the World Went Away' I've listened to that song a million times and I still treat it as if I've never heard it before. It's a song with a million quirks and intricacies that I am constantly finding. The other highlights of the album are Somewhat Damaged, The Wretched, Starf*ckers Inc, Complication, Into the Void. But ultimately, 'The Fragile' is an album that should be recognised as one of those very special albums, where every song is wonderful. It is true, unadulterated genius, and, dare I say it? Better than 'The Downward Spiral'. I'm gonna get lynched for saying that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Unadulterated Genius, 7 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fragile (Audio CD)
There have been pretenders in his absence. There was Marilyn Manson, there was Filter. And yet, they could not break away from the shadow of their mentor, Mr. Trent Reznor. 5 years was a long time, would the world remember him? To ensure, NIN returned with one of the most sensational recordings of the last decade.
I got into NIN recently, and The Fragile was my first album. I'm always wary of art-rock & prog-rock, but this is so stylish and cunningly put together, it made me love it. Reznor is complicated but never pretentious - he remembers he is actually a musician underneath it all, something Radiohead seemed to forget with Kid A. There are so many brilliant tracks it is difficult to describe. Highlights: The passion of We're In This Together, the beauty-beast of No You Don't, the anger of Starf*ckers, the nihilsm of The Day...., the guitar jangles and screamed vocals on The Big Come Down, the danceability of Into The Void, the growing bass of Somewhat Damaged. Even on the loudest, most obnoxious moments have hidden melodies, begging to be picked out. It even has good instrumentals, which i usually hate. You can be a complete music illiterate like me and still be touched by the manipulation of instruments.
The strartingly odd cover, cardboard box and inside lyrics booklet complete a magnificent purchase. Now even his own mentor Gary Numan is taking the industrial-goth route, we have to ask weather music could live without Trent Reznor and his Nine Inch Nails
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the fragile - a great album (whatever mood youre in), 11 Jan 2006
By 
Ms. E. Robinson "Elaine" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fragile (Audio CD)
this album is not just about one style. there is a mix of dark, heavy, relaxing and light music here. trent reznor composes some beautiful instrumentals along with heavy pumping beats. La Mer is a wonderful song to relax to, Somewhat Damaged is a great opening track - love the drums on that one. The Great Below is an intense track (which really does seem like the sea), Into The Void has a really nice marimba intro that turns into a great electro song and Please and We're In This Together are powerful, industrial and heavy. Although not as destructive a sound as The Downward Spiral, The Fragile is still a powerful record and one that no NIN fan should be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only a record; a work of art. The future of music., 6 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fragile (Audio CD)
The Fragile- what can I say, but what more can you want from a cd? Not only is it great to listen to (yes- I know the most important aspect of music) but the sheer complication, the extraordinary musical carpet that is weaved before the listener's ears and the emotional confusion within this album, make it the best music I have heard in a long time. From the pulverising ferocity of 'Starf***ers Inc.' to the delicate, yet desperate, perfection of 'I'm Looking Forward to Joining You, Finally' to my favourite, the hateful, hopelessness of 'The Big Come Down' Nine Inch Nails continue, even though I'm a huge fan, to astound me. I sometimes feel as though I'm missing the pig picture with this record, that there is some higher plane of thought I cannot comprhend, but I'm still happy in my ignorance as long as I'm listening to 'The Fragile'. Also try Further Down the Spiral.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is just TOO good!, 16 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fragile (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic - though extremely long album - which I guarantee you will listen to for a very long time indeed. There are different types of music for everybody: rock, heavy metal, even in some places classical. Trent Reznor has broken new barriers again, and his confidence that people will accept the album has been fulfilled - everyone is raving about it. This is a double CD (hence the slightly higher price) and the album is overall 1 hour 43 minutes long... "too long" you say ...well it isn't: the good thing about the album is that is doesn't hurry itself along, it goes at its own pace, not caring if 2 CD's will be needed to fit it on. It is designed to be listened to in one go, which is fine by me, I have the time to listen to it in one go, but other people haven't and that way they won't like the albm as much, I can guarantee that. That tracks that stand out most for me are the opening track, "Somewhat damaged", "The Pilgrimage" (one of 5 instrumental tracks on the CD's, the last track is an instrumental too, I haven't seen that before) and "Starfuckers, Inc." aimed directly at his then ex-friend Marilyn Manson ("You're so vain/I bet you think this song is about you/Don't you?"), but really, all the songs are great in a way. This album is essential to anyone that likes rock, pop or classical music. It features a pile of swearing and also comes with a really nice lyrics book, a proper one, not like the piece of paper that you get with other records... you get what you pay for. Buy it now! (and also buy "Pretty Hate Machine" and "The Downward Spiral", NIN's other 2 albums)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pretty Fragile Downward Spiral Hate Machine, 23 May 2000
This review is from: The Fragile (Audio CD)
I bourght The Pretty Hate Machine cause I liked the Cover...simple but true. It turned into what I consider to be Reznors greatest Achievement. Listen to the Lyrics and you can always find a way to relate them to your life. The Downward Spiral is just fantastic with catchy lyrics in "Piggy" and a beautiful song called Hurt.
The Fragile has the lot..It's probably one of the most complete ablums on the market to date only Radiohead seem to produce albums that are more technically complicated. With fantastic Industrial Music Reznors influence on me and the whole world is just amazing. La Mer is the quiestet Track on the CD but one of the niciest.
Recipe For The Fragile:- Take one Large Drink (Vodka Does Nicley), Drink It, Put CD in CD Player, Turn Up Volume. Turn All The Lights off,Lay Back and Enjoy...
There's a Warning That should be standard on this Album.. DO NOT LEND TO FRIENDS AS YOU'LL NEVER GET IT BACK
Buy It....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful epic., 5 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fragile (Audio CD)
Trent Reznor, the mastermind behind Nine Inch Nails, has put his heart and soul into this recording, and it shows. The entire album flows perfectly from track to track, whilst holding your attention throughout.
Although some of the tracks here feel aggressive (Starfuckers Inc., The Wretched...) the whole feel of the album is much more subtle. Every re-listen brings up something new, therefore demanding your entire concentration. This is not a record to have on in the background, whilst working to meet deadlines.
A genuine music lovers album, which, had it had any radio airplay in the UK, would have charted even higher (entering at No 8), and a great addition to any style of record collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Painfully beautiful, 3 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Fragile (Audio CD)
What happened Trent's stopped being moody the end is nigh... No,not really he has just created the sole reason why cd's were made. This masterpiece at well over 75 minutes long takes your breath away flowing from one song to the next with amazing ease, this has something for everyone,with the "Left" cd being the more commercial of the two with tracks like "We're in this together now" and "The Fragile". The "Right" cd on the other hand gives a more "Reznor" feel to the album with a very bleak yet beautiful outlook broken by the violent sounding "Starfuckers Inc" as opposed to "Even Deeper". It was a long 5 years but boy was it worth waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fragile
The Fragile by Nine Inch Nails (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews