Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Admit It!! Its Not That Bad......
Having been nothing less than THE icon of the 70s - Bowie arrived at the end of a rather tumultuous 80s clearly somewhat tired of being 'it'. So never one to do anything by halves he got together some of his old mates (the Sales Brothers and Reeves Gabrels - who had worked with him in the past) and started a band.

Not so much the Spiders from Mars - more the...
Published on 1 May 2011 by Nick

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's The Concept People Hated - Not The Music!
If this exact self same album has been released by Bowie (after the heap of crap he had put out throughout the 80s) as a David Bowie album (backed by Iggy's rhythm section and a new guitarist) not as 'Tin Machine' the band, it would have been treated a whole lot better then and now. What has given it such a bad reputation was the attitude adopted at the time by Bowie...
Published on 30 July 2008 by C. J. Cunningham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Admit It!! Its Not That Bad......, 1 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tin Machine (Audio CD)
Having been nothing less than THE icon of the 70s - Bowie arrived at the end of a rather tumultuous 80s clearly somewhat tired of being 'it'. So never one to do anything by halves he got together some of his old mates (the Sales Brothers and Reeves Gabrels - who had worked with him in the past) and started a band.

Not so much the Spiders from Mars - more the Expensive Suits from Saville Row - Tin Machine were billed as a no-nonsense back to basics rock'n'roll band. Albeit with a rather famous singer.

This is where my review doesn't follow the script. I bought this on its release - the first Bowie product to come out in my 'purchasing' lifetime. I loved it. Heavens in Here has enormous swagger - and a great riff - the title track rocks and stops and starts along with the best of them. And along with the extraordinarily angular guitar playing - the whole set has a sweaty bluesy small-club feeling that is possibly only let down by the ill-advised cover of Working Class Hero. If this album were a foodstuff it would definately be Marmite. But love it or hate it - you can't ignore it.

Re-apraise this album soon - and admit to yourself that it REALLY isn't so bad after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's The Concept People Hated - Not The Music!, 30 July 2008
By 
C. J. Cunningham "Beatle Nut Bowie Nut" (Milton Keynes, Bucks UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tin Machine (Audio CD)
If this exact self same album has been released by Bowie (after the heap of crap he had put out throughout the 80s) as a David Bowie album (backed by Iggy's rhythm section and a new guitarist) not as 'Tin Machine' the band, it would have been treated a whole lot better then and now. What has given it such a bad reputation was the attitude adopted at the time by Bowie himself; bearded, chain smoking, brash cockney geezer - 'I'm just one of the boys in a band' 'It's a democracy' all of that crap basically. As an album it's not that bad at all - sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't - but as an album it doesn't deserve the hypocrisy and hate it constantly receives. Time has revealed that Bowie had to take a drastic step of this kind to move away from the soulless 80's stadium pop icon he was turning into, and get back to being Bowie again - it clearly did the trick. By no means a Bowie classic, but worth investigating nevertheless........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turns out they do rock after all., 9 Aug 2005
By 
J. Cairns "joonty15" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tin Machine (Audio CD)
Bowie kicked off his new suited rock-man persona by going down to his record label, playing his new album and watching the big men in suits squirm. Bowie's output for the past 5 years had been inconsistent and sometimes insipid. This is where it changed.
Some fans liked the change, some fans even liked the music. However, if it wasn't for Bowie's unbelievable musical history, he would have lost a lot of fans during Tin Machine.
Firstly, the band is fantastic. Hunt and Tony Sales were Iggy Pop's band during the 70's, and Bowie met them whilst collaborating with Iggy on "Lust For Life". They provide a fantastic rhythm section. To complete the band, Bowie invites his new friend, Reeves Gabrel to have a go at lead guitar. So strong is Reeves as a guitarist, that he would remain with Bowie for 10 years. Bowie ends up on rhythm guitar and lead vocals, and at the front of a great band.
Fortunately, there was great music to go with the band. The best tracks on Tin Machine are "Heaven's In Here", "Prisoner of Love" and "I Can't Read". When the band is playing, you can actually feel the energy, and that is so important. Not once does the music feel flat, even at its weakest moments ("Crack City", for example).
Shame it didn't work out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A guilty pleasure ... Or, one of the most rockin albums ever!, 1 Sep 2006
This review is from: Tin Machine (Audio CD)
Tin Machine was the album that turned my perception of music on its head. Up until then, I was an undescerning teen, who couldn't tell the difference between Money For Nothing, and Money for Old Rope. For that reason alone, this slice of flawed genius is very special to me.

There are some fantastic tracks - starting with Heaven's In Here; Reeves Gabrels and Hunt Sales make an opening statement on behalf of the album that is sustained throughout, and kicks Bowie into life again. The outro solo is an awesome blend of raw, punky viciousness, and absolute virtuosity. Having played guitar for twenty years, I am still impressed: I have never gotten close, although I have tried. There are some songs that don't pass muster: Crack City is flabby, Prisoner of Love is lyrically ham-fisted, and I've never gotten my head around Working Class Hero - a fine centiment, but why? It spoils the Plastic Ono Band album, and it spoils this one, too.

Lyrically, this is not Bowie's best moment, although I have always found him hit and miss. This is an album of performances, including Tim Palmer, who, as producer, gets some of the best skins sounds on track, in my opinion. The way everything is layered, so dense, yet so clear, is one of the key elements.

So, the best moments; Heaven's in Here's raucous intent and wild solo, Tin Machine - wacky bagpipe guitar overdub, and a great lyric, I Can't Read's weary insanity, the luscious Amazing, which is the most complete track, and even one I simply had to cover in a former band, even though the audience never got it! I love Bus Stop, for the cheeky lyrics and music that complements them perfectly, and Baby Can Dance, which was always an on-off one for me, but has such a great, lurching relationship between drums and guitar, which sums up the whole album's intent, that some of the wan lyrics can be forgiven.

I want to give this five stars, but can't. It's flawed, certainly; but one that should be cosied up to by everyone, and treasured as a very special - and pre-emptive - moment in Bowie's and rock's history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Breath of Fresh Air, 15 Mar 2011
By 
AJ Greenwood (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tin Machine (Audio CD)
I was living in Nigeria when this came out. A very good friend told me about it, at the time of another milestone of rock (Joe Satriani's Surfing with the Alien). It wasn't to everyone's taste (ie solid Northern Soul and Motown types), but it quickly became the album I have bought the most copies of (when lent, it mysteriously "got lost" and failed to return). About the heaviest thing around at the time was Rebel Yell (Billy Idol) which graced most Americans'(drinking) parties. Like many of the other reviews, I found Under the God really enthralling. Later, when living in France, I was lucky enough to see the videa for Under the God; WOW, so much movement, really exciting. Then we moved to the States and my son started reading guitar mags, Hendrix and Tin Machine filled the pages month after month, with little bits of Skid Row, Pantera, MegaDeath etc filling the mags out. SO, we may have been slow getting into Tin Machine in England (did you see Rossie teasing David Bowie about it? Worse than his attack on Mr Sachs), but the rest of the world got it. Wonderful anarchic screaming rock that owes very little to the heavy boogie that went before it (except maybe the Pretty Things Under the Volcano, on Savage Eye - perhaps the reason for the name drop on Tin Machine; still, a real sea change. Buy it, play it, share it, rejoice in it, and don't be upset about having to buy it again, it's more than worth it. And then there's number II, and if you can get it, a splendid US promo 4 track CD (with a BBC edit of Baby Universal!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most underrated Bowie ever, 12 Sep 2004
By 
S. Page "Vox" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tin Machine (Audio CD)
Bought this album when it came out 15 years ago-and (probably because I was on another planet) thought it was mediocre and subsequently dismissed it as boring, never listening to it again.
Have just put it on - WHAT HAVE I BEEN MISSING!!?? This stuff is brilliant and way ahead of its time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well, I liked it anyway, 13 Dec 2007
By 
N. Cannon (UK, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tin Machine (Audio CD)
I bought this on a whim when it 1st came out, being more into rock at the time it immeadiately appealed to the angsty young man in me, that's not to say there aren't some touching heartfelt songs and lyrics on here! I somehow missed out on this being rubbished pretty uniformally ever since by the critics? what gives? it's raw, crackles with a live energy you can feel.
The Iggy influence is apparent on here, the swagger, attitude and tone in the songs really gives the album something.
Much maligned, but what do they know anyway? critics...meh!! Yes, the critics, the very same who slated Bladerunner (sorry going off on a slight tangent here) who now fawn over it... if there was ever a case for deciding yourself, than here it is, this album rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it time to grow..., 3 Feb 2010
This review is from: Tin Machine (Audio CD)
I'm a big David Bowie fan, and I admit that when I first purchased this CD, I gave it one listen then confined it to the back of the cupboard for a number of years. (I was working my way through his back catalogue at the time, so my excuse was that I had far more exciting albums to listen to!) However, having recently revisited this much slated release, I have to say that having given it a bit more play time, it's not nearly as bad or disjointed as it first appeared all those years ago. It's not his finest hour admittedly, but it's not any worse than some of his 80s offerings. The more I play it, the more I like it. If you've never listened to Tin Machine before, I'd say don't be put off by the negative reviews. You have to work hard to warm to it, as is the case for a few of Mr Bowie's other CDs, but I think it's worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What were they thinking?!!, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tin Machine (Audio CD)
For me it says everything about what was wrong in the 1980's that the critics at the time panned Tin Machine....what were they thinking?! Were they the same critics that would have been praising Genesis, Pet Shop Boys and Sonia?!

And it says everything about current lazy journalism that the Tin machine period is STILL said to be Bowie's worst era! Have any of those critics even listened to the record????

For me this is and was Bowies rebirth and the start of the second chapter of his career, as a mature artist. After the disasters that were Tonight and Never Let Me Down - Tin Machine is Bowie screamingly getting back to basics, doing what the hell he wants and playing Rock and Roll again.

And good on him. He'd peaked as a popstar with Let's Dance, he'd done it, he'd been the Glam rock god of the Seventies, He'd been the Avant Garde experimentalist of the early Electo era...he'd even been the Platinum blonde pop star of the 80's....He'd even dare I say sold out to the mid 80's excesses...but this is him regaining his aura as an enigma and credible artist.

For me, the Record sounds amazing....and for me, it reminds me at times of his live stuff with the Spiders and Mick Ronson. For me, some of his best Rock sounds of the early 70's were on the BBC live recording of "White Light/White Heat" and "I'm Waiting for the Man"....Tin Machine seem to be in a similar vein as those moments...

It's raucous, the playings relentless and even off the scale at times... The songs aren't ALL successes but there is more than enough to keep you excited throughout. There are some great songs here too though....

For what, 6...it's well worth it. If anything just to form your own opinion...it's potentially the most criminally treated Album ever by the critics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the main man, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tin Machine (Audio CD)
The main man does it again this time a brilliant rock album. Not as good as seventies bowie but still a classic album. Hope second Tin Machine album is as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tin Machine
Tin Machine by Tin Machine (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews