Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SPINAL TAP
I have a real fetish for commercial or artistic disasters,i am a glutton for punishment.LOVE the bloated glory of U2s Pop album,love the amped up discord of REMs Monster,Lou Reeds tuneless masterpiece Lulu,Queens Hot Space and by golly feast upon the master of mistep Gary Numans post Telekon material.Up there is David Bowie circa 1987,Pepsi ads with Tina Turner,enormous...
Published on 17 April 2012 by mister joe

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Highly ironic album title!
This was the first David Bowie album I ever bought, when it came out in 1987, and the beginning of a great adventure, so I have a bit of a soft spot for this album. It's often described as his worst album, but that's really not fair. The real word for it is disappointing - Bowie had proved he was albe to still come up with great music during this time, just listen to...
Published on 27 July 2002 by James Gent


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SPINAL TAP, 17 April 2012
This review is from: Never Let Me Down (Audio CD)
I have a real fetish for commercial or artistic disasters,i am a glutton for punishment.LOVE the bloated glory of U2s Pop album,love the amped up discord of REMs Monster,Lou Reeds tuneless masterpiece Lulu,Queens Hot Space and by golly feast upon the master of mistep Gary Numans post Telekon material.Up there is David Bowie circa 1987,Pepsi ads with Tina Turner,enormous terminally hairsprayed MULLET and the immense Glass Spider tour.Fantastic.
Watch Bowie in interviews from 1987 on youtube,a truly mind boggling experience as Bowie very much the insulated,rich pop superstar uses words like "dynamite!",raves about Paul Young,talks about the "funky,turkish,durvish" playing of his guitarist,plays a goblin king in Labriynth....
You can almost feel the cool crowd suffer a collective coronary as the former purveyer of taste swaps artistry for platinum,middle aged blandness.You know everyone goes on about this period but lets be honest here David Bowie is in no way,shape or form a stupid man.This is a performer who knows exactly what he's doing.
Except what he was doing in 1987 was awful,cheesy,soaked in irrelevance.
Bowie i assume thought i want this.
Never Let Me Down should be treated as a harmless artefact of its time.On its own terms its an enjoyably superfluous album.From the multi millionaire rock star preaches about the homeless Day In,Day Out to the actually rather brilliant Time Will Crawl,the cringing monologue of Glass Spider....its a baffling,flawed album.
Certainly make no mistake 87 Bowie was equally as much as a character as Ziggy,Thin White Duke.
In this context Glass Spider,Never Let Me Down works.
Plus i like to think this experience led to the genius albums Buddha Of Suburbia and my favourite album Outside.
Bowie in the 70s was UNTOUCHABLE,so what about a few duds?If you are going to mess up,do it on an ernomous scale with a 60 foot spider scaling down wires.
Mistakes are a fascinating thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Highly ironic album title!, 27 July 2002
This review is from: Never Let Me Down (Audio CD)
This was the first David Bowie album I ever bought, when it came out in 1987, and the beginning of a great adventure, so I have a bit of a soft spot for this album. It's often described as his worst album, but that's really not fair. The real word for it is disappointing - Bowie had proved he was albe to still come up with great music during this time, just listen to the lost classic "When The Wind Blows" (not on any album, grr) or the more well-known songs from the films "Absolute Beginners" and "Labyrinth". He also co-wrote and produced Iggy Pop's "Blah Blah Blah" back to back with this album, and the Iggy album is a Bowie record in all but name and full of great songs - if he'd kept them to himself things would have been completely different!
I was only 11 when I got this album (wanting to find out more about this strange singer after seeing Labyrinth and being very impressed) and to my untrained ears "Never Let Me Down" had a certain something that made it stand out from the bland yuppie pop of the time, but compared to recent efforts like "Outside", "Heathen" and "The Buddha of Suburbia" it certainly is weak for Bowie. The only other albums (OK tapes!) I bought in 1987 also go to show how weak "Never Let Me Down" was in comparison, and how low Bowie had fallen from his creative peak - "so" by Peter Gabriel, and "Actually" by Pet Shop Boys.
There are some terribly uninspired songs that leave me cold - a pointless remake of Iggy Pop's "Bang Bang", and "Too Dizzy" a song so bad that it has been left off the most recent version of this album! But, wierdly, it also features songs that are much better than almost everything on "Let's Dance" and "Tonight"! "Day in Day out" is an early attempt at the drum- and sequencer-led techno-rock of "Earthling" with some good one-liners, but suffers from very '80s horn arrangements. "Time Will Crawl" is vintage Bowie - reminiscent of "Ashes To Ashes" mixture of synth and guitar with lyrics full of wierd, apocalyptic surreal images and a suprisingly profound look at the chilliung idea that the boy round the corner could grow up to be the next Hitler-style nemesis! "Beat of your drum" oscillates between some icy slow verses with Bowie sounding like a man on the edge of the world (you can imagine his character in labyrinth singing it), and a very lusty chorus a la "Rebel Rebel". Again, too many horns though! The title song is a great ballad that really should be put in his live set. Despite typical ballad fare - harmonica, a whistling coda! - it has a certain strangeness in its jangly, jerky chorus that almost sends it into "Lodger" territory!"zeroes" is a brave attempt to make a 'fake' psychedelic song, maybe this was to blame for Kula Shaker?! And "Glass Spider" is quite like nothing else in his back catalogue and certainly not "Let's Dance"! The rest of the album is disposable, except for "87 & Cry" although the version on the "never let me down" twelve inch is a better mix.
So, not quite as atrocious as the critics make out - and not as boring as the very overrated "Let's Dance" - but not exactly his finest hour! Thankfully he made "Tin Machine" after this, which completely destroyed his '80s middle of the road pop star persona and got him thinking about making interesting records again, and most of his '90s work has been essential listening, with the exception of the rather dull "Hours".
Definitely the worst Bowie record sleeve ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it's not that bad, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. R. J. Duncan (worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never Let Me Down (MP3 Download)
I love this album, not Bowie's high point I admit but some great catchy pop tracks of far better quality than most of todays stuff (OK showing my age now). Don't take it too seriously, give it a whirl. I remember warm summer days driving around with this on the tape deck excellent. Outside was Bowies low point for me. I even liked tonight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Same as original vinyl version, 22 Oct 2013
By 
R. COX (LONDON, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never Let Me Down (Audio CD)
I had the original vinyl version and have been looking for a digital version with the track 'Too Dizzy'. All subsequent CD versions after the first pressing have this track deleted. This Japanese version also has an extra track 'Girls' (Japanese Version) which is a 4 minute edit.

I bought this version to complete my DB collection of studio albums on CD. Many say this is not one of his best albums but I think there are some good tunes on here. This album harks back to the rock 'n' roll of the 60's in places (Zeroes, Too Dizzy) etc. but with an 80's twist. Mickey Rourke on 'Shining Star' places this right in 1987! There is movement to the album and is not laid back like say, 'STATIONTOSTATION'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie Never Let Me Down, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never Let Me Down (Audio CD)
This isn't as bad as some people would have you believe. 10 years ago I lost all of my Bowie collection and wasn't able to replace it until only a few months ago. I hadn't heard this album for so long I had completely forgotten most of the songs. He is as good, if not better, than I remembered. I really enjoyed listening to this all over again and remembering the music. Most of the songs are enjoyable and fun to sing and dance to. The best being 'Day-In Day-Out', 'Never Let Me Down', 'Time Will Crawl' and 'Shining Star' but I love 'Glass Spider' as it is so uniquely David Bowie and I like the little stories he tells with some of his songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Never Let me Down, 14 Sep 2005
This review is from: Never Let Me Down (Audio CD)
Not an absolute classic I admit but enough on there to keep you listening. Been out of the 'Bowie loop' for years (2 decades actually!) until caught the private fans concert on the beeb a couple (or more) years ago. Since then playing catch up and have yet to find any of 'the mans' output that I couldn't listen to. Let's face it, if I could say I'd written even his most un-inspired song, I'd die happy. Enjoy this along with the rest and stop pretending you could do better yourself!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars nadir, 7 Oct 2013
This review is from: Never Let Me Down (Audio CD)
Bowie himself calls this album his Lowest point. I bought this when it was released and like other reviewers have tried to like it. I have even bought the Japanese vinyl replica edition but only to complete the set. The only real surprise to non vinyl issues of this album is the omission of too dizzy as there
Are so many songs on the album that deserve a similar fate.........but Bowie still delivers with Time will crawl....one of my favourite Bowie songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Again, not as bad as commonly made out, 2 May 2008
By 
G. Donaldson (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Never Let Me Down (Audio CD)
When I bought this upon release I really liked it, regarding NLMD as a return to form for Bowie (indeed, I had heard Beat of Your Drum on the radio prior to the album's release and had been impressed). Over time it depends on my mood - it has dated badly but I can still enjoy it on a given day.

Day in Day Out is the weakest track from a pretty good first side, with Time Will Crawl, Beat of Your Drum and Zeroes being the best tracks on the album. The second side of the original vinyl decends into mediocrity, though Glass Spider is interesting and the closing Bang Bang goes out on something of a high point. In between are some of the worst Bowie tracks of his career, especially the truly awful Shining Star and Too Dizzy, which was subsequently removed from the CD reissue! New York's In Love was pretty embarrassing too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bowie's 2nd worst album, 3 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. Jonathan Robin Oxley "Jon Oxley" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Never Let Me Down (Audio CD)
After the wretched Tonight album came Never Let Me Down. At least this album had a few more ideas but the songs really aren't up to scratch. The one saving grace is the track Time Will Crawl - by a country mile, Bowie's best late 80s song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He Never Let Us Down, 30 July 2002
By 
Richey! (Dartford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Never Let Me Down (Audio CD)
...it's far from Bowie's most influential effort, but this is more a sign of the times than talent in decline.
In the mid-eighties, Bowie was at a loose end with regards to take his career, and mainstream pin-up pop was the one avenue he hadn't hitherto explored. Depspite the sub-standard FM-radio production (so commonplace at the time), there are some genuinely good songwriting moments here, even if some of the session musicians' performances didn't quite do them justice. 'Time Will Crawl' harks back to 'Diamond Dogs', 'Glass Spider' is Bowie being typically off-beat, and 'Zeroes' and the title track would have been fought over by the mid-80's competition.
After all, if Bowie was washed up, as is the popular misconception, where did the great soundtracks come from? 'Absolute Beginners', 'This is not America', 'When the Wind Blows', etc. 'NLMD' reflects the sound of the industry and the times, rather than the great David Bowie.
A decent Eighties album, if ever such a thing existed, and in any case, far better than Style Council!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Never Let Me Down
Never Let Me Down by David Bowie (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews