Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An overlooked piece of fun
This is the album bought by many back in the autumn of 1973 (myself included), in the wake of "Ziggy Stardust"; "Aladdin Sane" and "Hunky Dory" (bought in the summer of 1973 as a result of "Life On Mars"). We all said how great it was when really we were left somewhat underwhelmed by this 30 minute rush of obscure (to us) 60s covers that we had never heard of! Bowie got...
Published 4 months ago by LPpsb

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'You acted funny, tried to spend my money'
Bowie's tribute to the sixties contains familiar and obscure covers from The Kinks, The Merseys, Yardbirds and Pink Floyd among others. The band is tight and the selection is interesting, but the sound is rather samey throughout. More variety or flavor in instrumentation and arrangement would have lifted this album above the ordinary. Using different producers would have...
Published on 16 Aug. 2008 by Peter Uys


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An overlooked piece of fun, 11 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Pin Ups (Audio CD)
This is the album bought by many back in the autumn of 1973 (myself included), in the wake of "Ziggy Stardust"; "Aladdin Sane" and "Hunky Dory" (bought in the summer of 1973 as a result of "Life On Mars"). We all said how great it was when really we were left somewhat underwhelmed by this 30 minute rush of obscure (to us) 60s covers that we had never heard of! Bowie got this recorded and released as quickly as possible to give a last pay-off to Spiders From Mars Mick Ronson and Trevor Bolder (Mick Woodmansey had already left). Doesn't sound promising.

However, listened to again all these ears later, it is a pleasant romp. For me, this is the "go to" remaster, as opposed to the RYKO editions (not for all, but certainly for this one). The sound is clear, great 70s stereo separation, great guitar and drum sound and a clarity of voice from Bowie. Well played and well-recorded. Well worth another listen. Highlights are "Don't Bring Me Down", Pink Floyd's "See Emily Play", the hit single "Sorrow" and the barnstorming "I Wish You Would". "Rosalyn" is a great album opener too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where did those good times go?, 5 Dec. 2010
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pin Ups (Audio CD)
By 1973 the sixties lay a mouldering, long forgotten. This was David's attempt to resurrect them and here he gives these killers a kiss of life. Whilst the 60's are always remembered for the Beatles, Dead and later Floyd, David showed where the real scene lay, buried under the debris. In the frenetic high octane, hormonally charged rush to headbutt the past and live for the moment RNB. One cute template for punk along with the Dolls who also incidentally resurrected another set of 60's rockers to blow the lungs back into shape.

These tunes marked an English renaissance. It was only a few years before these blasts of hormones caught on vinyl, Tommy Steele and a host of lackadaisical crooners ruled young people's lives in a post war sepia. Then there was the early 60's with Them, Pretty Things, early Floyd, Who, Zombies, Animals, Stones and Dave Clark 5 who took the beat back to the US.

For the first time ever, a successful British invasion occurred after two hundred years of trying. All we did was repackage their black acts, speed up the sound and coat an English amphetamined sensibility into the groove. This weaved a new form of imagination, as it highlighted the working classes had thoughts; a new revelation which turned into a cultural revolution - bigger than China.

These sounds showcased the white working classes of the UK, the ones that bore the body count in two world wars had something going between the ears, heart, groin and then upward, onward- all connecting the spirits of zest, zing and zap. The first cultural revolution that over turned the Bloomsbury tables. So we have the mournful "Sorrow," the acid drone of "See Emily Play," and the frantic rocking of "Rosalyn."

David took us back to the big bang, recreating the moment deep in the caverns of mod sensibility, in the same way the Dolls and the Cramps gave the kiss of life to Americana. Turning these slabs of 7 inch vinyl fires into pure sonic sparklers. Personally if he had never done anything else I think he was a genius for doing this. Although covers, the originals are outright brilliant killers, David charged these songs with his particular presence, electrifying them.

In the mid 70's you could rightfully ask "Where have all the good times gone?" By the early 70's beards, flares and Rick Wakeman bored the pants of the loons. They were all at it, spanking the guitar and pulling their best orgasm face.

Do not look in the mirror or show those photos.

Once digested, the rough edges bring back the glitz- return to the originals, a whole other world lies dormant under the dross of 60's hagiography. Note no Beatles covers. The real scene lay in submerged waters. This dives down and lets you out just at the right places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'You acted funny, tried to spend my money', 16 Aug. 2008
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Bowie's tribute to the sixties contains familiar and obscure covers from The Kinks, The Merseys, Yardbirds and Pink Floyd among others. The band is tight and the selection is interesting, but the sound is rather samey throughout. More variety or flavor in instrumentation and arrangement would have lifted this album above the ordinary. Using different producers would have been a good idea. The overall style is not dissimilar from his cover of the Stones' Let's Spend The Night Together on the Aladdin Sane album. Having said that, I still find Pin Ups enjoyable to listen to and definitely more rewarding than some of his later exploits. My favorite tracks include Here Comes The Night, Friday On My Mind and of course the beautiful Sorrow with its lilting rhythm which was a well-deserved great hit. This new CD edition includes some extra tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the finest cover-version album ever made, 5 Jan. 2001
Much is made nowadays of the paucity of good new pop songs. It is fashionable to knock the boy (and girl and unisex) band karioke versions of old hits. But hey!, there's no intrinsic shame in doing cover versions. The Beatles did it, so did the Stones, the Byrds, Hendrix, Clapton, Robson and Jerome. The secret is to mould the material with your own personality. Let David Bowie show you how.
This is a collection of the songs David Bowie heard being done by the early Sixties beat groups in the clubs and dives aound London. The kind of places where the ambience and atmosphere was so intense that it condensed on the ceiling and dripped down upon your head. The Man obviously has a great love and regard for this material, it just gushes out of every groove. The hit single from this album was Sorrow, the sole hit for The Merseys in 1966, and it is, in truth, the weakest song of the set.
This was David Bowie on top form, following on from Aladdin Sane. He carefully selected some milestone songs from ten years earlier, and gave them some welly. Much to the fore was his own driving saxophony. These were Who tracks, Pretty Things tracks, Mojo tracks, but now they are very much David Bowie tracks.
Back in 1973, this was a remarkable crossroads album. It was brash and contemporary at the same time as being a bit nostalgic and retrospective. It still has that same thrill, and still sounds contemporary.
At the time, there was a race between Bryan Ferry and David Bowie to get their album of covers out first. Ferry hit the streets in the lead but it is David Bowie who is out in front artistically.
For some reason this is not regarded as a "fashionable" record, but that is injustice. It is David Bowie's most accessible work, and it is also among his most accomplished. The arty-flatulent cover pic of DB + Twiggy in clown gear is top class also.
Remember, grooves are groovier than digits, so grasp this fine example of crushed vinyl while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pin Ups Brilliant, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pin Ups (Audio CD)
Great Album, just as I remember it. Great sound quality by the brilliant David Bowie. What more can I say... my Hero
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 10 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pin Ups (Audio CD)
This cd takes me back to my teens when I had it on vinyl loved it then and still love it now !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pinups, 2 Aug. 2010
By 
Mrlksmith "lancey" (nettleton sleepy village lincs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pin Ups (Audio CD)
ive been a bowie fan since 1972 ziggy took at least thrree listens before i got into it because compared to anything else id heard it was so goddam weird .
of course weird turn into a realization weird was in this case brilliant and gobsmacking .
i also loved and still love alladin sane , so when pinups came out i wanted more
weirdness and unmatched brilliance .
so when pinups came out i was majorly disapointed .
if ziggy took three listens to get into pinups took ten .
as usual bowie got it right , all these tears later it sounds better than ever .
ive read a lot of reviews saying in every case the originals are better .
this may even be true , thats only because every original is undoubtedly superb .
but i still love this album.
the spiders are in blistering form and ronnos solo on see emily play im sure syd barret would definitely approve.
rosalyn rocks like a bugger homage to the bad boys of rock the pretty things .
there is not a bad track on this album david not going for the obvious , but nodding to his genuine influences.
to those who are disapointed after buying say ziggy or alladin sane give this album time to sink into your conciousness .
you will be well rewarded . its a fantastic album and who can match this brilliance now .
no one except maybe radiohead at their best .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Unthinkable: A Covers Album..............?, 27 Sept. 2005
By 
KPA Lowe (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pin Ups (Audio CD)
Cover albums are rarely any good and tend to just anger most people. However, Bowie is such an incredibly unique and talented artist that he gives each song his own stamp and moulds it into a David Bowie album rather than a covers album. This is evident from the opening riff of 'Rosalyn' even before Bowie starts singing. It might not have the mastery of some of Bowie's original with his own songs, but it is good enough and displays the miscellany of Bowie's talent as a performer and vocalist (as he alters his voice to suit each individual song). It is a fantastic tour of rock and roll up to 1973 via Bowie's own interpretation. 'Here Comes the Night', 'Sorrow', and 'Where Have All The Good Times Gone' (which possibly highlights the nostalgia that Bowie is driving towards with an album of covers) are tracks that stand out in particular,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yea Baby!, 28 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pin Ups (Audio CD)
Not a Bowie fan particularly. I do love Hunky Dory though. This album is high-energy car-pop from start to finish. Still sounds great in 2015 and a better album to play while driving is hard to imagine!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Bowie, 5 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Pin Ups (MP3 Download)
One of Bowies albums that no matter how many times you listen to it you never get fed up with it, and he does a great job on all these covers, just listening to it through my bi-wired speakers, and hearing things on the album i have not heard before, and i have listened to this album on and off over 20 years....Great music from one of the all time legends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pin Ups
Pin Ups by David Bowie (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews