Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blues Magic
This record is over 30 years old now and it has not dated so much as a minute. Rory's playing was inspiring,brimming full of energy and love for his craft ; it shows on every single song recorded here, whether it's soaring blues licks peeling the paint off the walls, gritty blues riffin' making the audience stomp the floor to hell or laid back accoustic work, it's all...
Published on 2 Mar 2005 by Fr O'Blivion

versus
8 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beam me up Scottie... I've fallen asleep and fallen off the sofa..!
I'm sorry.. but after listening to and indeed growing up with Rory's "Live In Europe" album which I bought on vinyl way back in the 70's, this live set fails to excite in all respects. Firstly, the horrible "tinkly" keyboards are so annoying to say the least (already having ruined the potentialy great album Blueprint).. Why, Oh Why did Rory see the need to add a rubbishy...
Published on 5 Jan 2009 by A. J. PEPPER


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blues Magic, 2 Mar 2005
This review is from: Irish Tour (Audio CD)
This record is over 30 years old now and it has not dated so much as a minute. Rory's playing was inspiring,brimming full of energy and love for his craft ; it shows on every single song recorded here, whether it's soaring blues licks peeling the paint off the walls, gritty blues riffin' making the audience stomp the floor to hell or laid back accoustic work, it's all here. He was a legendary live performer, the real deal in every respect. If you weren't lucky enough to see him live, this record will convince you of that and if you did, then this serves as a welcome reminder ( hardly needed of course ! ) to his immense talent and our massive loss. You won't buy a better blues guitar recording anywhere - ever ; go buy & enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best live album - ever!, 30 Sep 2001
This review is from: Irish Tour (Audio CD)
Rory Gallaghers guitar took him and his audience to another place, and this album captures perfectly the atmosphere and the bond between Gallagher and his fans. Gallagher live - nothing else comes close!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning guitar playing, 5 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Irish Tour (Audio CD)
My jaw dropped when I heard this album, it is quite superb. The guitar playing is astounding, and for a live album the band and sound are incredibly tight. It has to be one of the best live albums of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper music from a proper musician, 9 April 2010
This review is from: Irish Tour (Audio CD)
Wow!... Rory was certainly in blistering form during these live performances. No matter what or where Rory plays, he draws on every joule of energy in his body and converts it into a myriad of tones and emotions through his guitar. My favourite tracks are "A million miles away" and "walk on hot coals". Both tracks constitute one of the best back-to-back live performances in Rock history. Rory demonstrates how can can play addictive, grainy riffs in "Cradle Rock" and then switch to delicate solos, oozing with feeling such as that in "A million miles away".

Even now, 36 years after this record was made, aspiring young guitarists accross the world strive to recreate the sounds and mastery of guitar achieved by Rory through a life of dedication to his craft.

Compare the longevity and greatness of this music with all the forgetful number 1 hits which plague the charts today. Music should be played because it sounds great, not because some mind numbing talent show told you to play it!

If you are new to Rory's music, this a fantastic place to dip in. Afterwards you will dive head-first into the back catalog! Irish Tour - A timeless masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Rory, 6 July 2009
This review is from: Irish Tour (Audio CD)
This CD re-release confused me at first as I did not recognise the cover and I thought it must be unreleased material (You can find the original artwork on-line and use it instead of this if you buy the down-load version or upload your CD to iTunes)

This four piece version of Rory Gallagher's band was, for me, the ultimate Rory Gallagher Band. The ever present Gerry McAvoy - bass, Rod De'Ath - Drums and Lou Martin on keyboard. I saw Rory live 5 times and it was always a brilliant live experience. Clearly on live album, however good, can capture the physical experience of being present but this comes as close as most.

Kicking off with Cradle Rock from Tattoo and including the excellent Walk On Hot Coals from my favourite Rory Gallagher album Blueprint. There is the rather too close for comfort Too Much Alcohol which I still find rather difficult to listen to but in all this is a great live album. You can also enjoy this with additional backstage footage in the DVD Rory Gallagher - Irish Tour [DVD] [2000]

Rory Gallagher was one of the great live performers he seemed to live for his music and was ill-served by the music industry. He seemed to be at his most alive and happy when performing and although I wonder about the demons that feuled his alcohol dependence, I would rather celebrate the life and work of a great musician. Although none of his records can truly capture the joy of attending a live concert this is pretty close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars top Form!, 30 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Irish Tour (Audio CD)
The Irish Hendrix (I kid you not) shows all of his form in this blistering live album. The standout tracks are numerous, but I Wonder Who is as dynamic, biting, and incisive as any piece of guitar work you are ever likely to hear. This man has every technique and they are displayed to good effect. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best live album - ever?, 15 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Irish Tour (Audio CD)
This album is superb. This is the third time I've bought it. Once on Vinyl when it was released in 1975, and twice on CD. Rory's playing on each song brings something new to the recording when compared to the original studio releases of each song (mainly Tattoo and Blueprint). These versions surpass the originals. What more can you ask for. Well done Rory. You live on in your music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joy, 28 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Irish Tour (Audio CD)
Some artists come alive on stage in a way they can never emulate in the studio. Rory was just such an artist. His studio work is great, but this live performance is something else. You get sucked in by the audience adulation, and blown away by the unrestrained guitar pieces. There's a lot more from the other band members as well. This is Rory in the raw. Be prepared to grin from ear to ear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen at your peril!, 24 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Irish Tour (Audio CD)
What can I say about this CD other than 'Listen at your peril!' It's totally electrifying, showing us Rory at his creative peak. 'Irish Tour '74' gives us just a hint at what an incredible musician he was. Getting off to a cracking start with 'Cradle Rock', the adrenaline rush doesn't let off for the entirety of the album. My personal favourite is 'Walk on Hot Coals', which leaves one speechless....just how many 'voices' can Rory get out of his Strat in the course of the track?

For those of us who were unable to witness this man's gift first-hand, 'Irish Tour '74' gives us the chance to hear what breathtaking show Rory and the band were capable of delivering. An absolute blinder and excellent value. Buy this even if it's the only Rory CD you purchase, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From another world, 20 Aug 2006
This review is from: Irish Tour (Audio CD)
This album is utterly amazing, i just cant comprehend how much feeling oozes out of it. The best way to listen to this album is to sit in a dark room and let it play through, it will take you to places you only go to in dreams. The highlight of this album has got to be "million miles away", you will just sink into this song as rorys guitar playing drifts though your ears, and you wont want it to end. in lehmans terms 'heaven'

I also strongly recomend getting this on DVD and you will see how his great beauty unfolds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad965870)

This product

Irish Tour
Irish Tour by Rory Gallagher (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews