Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent recording
The Allegri is undoubtedly the most famous track, and is the most well known recoding of the work. Although it is in English, the performance is remarkable. The intonation, diction and tuning are first rate, and it is an impassioned reading. And yet it is also a very gentle performance, light and unforced. Roy Goodman is excellent as the top treble part.
The...
Published on 2 Jun 2003

versus
26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly mixed
I went for this specifically for the Allegri, and while it is undoubtedly a good recording, I was slightly disappointed to find firstly that it was in English rather than Latin, and secondly that, far from being the only release of this particular recording, it appears on many other King's compilations as well, meaning a certain amount of rather irritating overlap. In...
Published on 12 July 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent recording, 2 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
The Allegri is undoubtedly the most famous track, and is the most well known recoding of the work. Although it is in English, the performance is remarkable. The intonation, diction and tuning are first rate, and it is an impassioned reading. And yet it is also a very gentle performance, light and unforced. Roy Goodman is excellent as the top treble part.
The Palestrina items are also very good. Although they are rather old fashioned in the style of performance (no-one would perform them in quite such a "four-square" manner today, and the softer sound of the choir, with quite a bit of vibratto, is currently out of favour) they are still beautifully sung. The Stabat Mater is a particular joy. No other performance of my acquaintance has such passion and fervour. All this feeling doesn't affect the refinement of the performance though.
I think this can be recommended to anyone. Fantastic music in splendid performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, though audio noise may disappoint, 5 Dec 2010
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
This is a re-release of one of Decca's most famous recordings, the Allegri Miserere from the 1960s recorded by David Willcocks and the King's College Choir, alongside Palestrina's Stabat Mater. It is an absolutely immaculate performance, recorded to the best of Decca's specialist art in capturing in-situ performance. However, compared to today's recordings you will find that it is very 'hissy', despite remastering with the best of digital technology.

Palestrina's Stabat Mater has never really done anything for me -- I much prefer the Pergolesi -- but the Allegri Miserere goes through me like a knife. In this version it is sung in English, a good choice, since the text from Psalm 51 works closely with the music to weave one of choral music's most compelling sacred pieces.

Personally I'm very happy with this recording, despite the hiss. However, if CD audio quality is your main concern, you will need to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spine-tingling, 29 May 2010
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
This never fails to lift my spirits: a fantastic classic recording of thrilling, piercing trebles and soaring counterpoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review what else, 10 Nov 2009
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
Fantastic, beautiful, moving, nostalgic, I could go on. One criticism would be the background hiss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly mixed, 12 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
I went for this specifically for the Allegri, and while it is undoubtedly a good recording, I was slightly disappointed to find firstly that it was in English rather than Latin, and secondly that, far from being the only release of this particular recording, it appears on many other King's compilations as well, meaning a certain amount of rather irritating overlap. In this piece and in the others I was not over impressed with the ensemble and intonation of the choir under Willcocks. This was supposed to be a golden age for the choir of King's College, Cambridge, but I found myself wanting to hear the sound,which many people would find too clinical and pure, of the modern choir at King's. That said, the diction of the group is first rate, and Roy Goodman's top C's, if not perfect every time, are nevertheless very impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miserere to Astonish, 2 Oct 2009
By 
J. Peacock (Herefordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
What magical voices and wonderful music. I can listen to this time and time again. This recording is sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic sound, 14 May 2009
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
I had this recording on LP for years but can no longer play it as stylus is broken and record scratched badly.I am updating all my "golden " classic LP"S in this way, your prices make this possible- a shame you cannot download more classic tracks on to MP3 players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Allegri: Miserere, 15 Dec 2013
By 
V. Mellor "F1Guy" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
This recording was made in 1963 but is still the best, it has been
digitally enhanced and is better than ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Your must have this, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
You don't actually realise how poor your life is if you haven't yet heard this wonderful recording. Soring bliss is the only way to describe it.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Angelic, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
Perfection.
I have given it away as a gift to my grandson who sings and may have to buy another for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater
Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater by Cambridge The Choir of King's College (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews