Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent recording
The Allegri is undoubtedly the most famous track, and is the most well known recoding of the work. Although it is in English, the performance is remarkable. The intonation, diction and tuning are first rate, and it is an impassioned reading. And yet it is also a very gentle performance, light and unforced. Roy Goodman is excellent as the top treble part.
The...
Published on 2 Jun. 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, but it's showing its age. English text to Misereri not sufficient to counter poor audio quality.
Apparently a landmark/historical recording, I have to confess that I found this a disappointment.

The music is great, and the performance is really good too, but the audio quality is poor, and could surely - in this age of Cedar technology and the like - be improved upon. Also, the English text to Allegri's Misereri, one of the reasons I got this CD, actually...
Published 22 months ago by Sebastian Palmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent recording, 2 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
The Allegri is undoubtedly the most famous track, and is the most well known recoding of the work. Although it is in English, the performance is remarkable. The intonation, diction and tuning are first rate, and it is an impassioned reading. And yet it is also a very gentle performance, light and unforced. Roy Goodman is excellent as the top treble part.
The Palestrina items are also very good. Although they are rather old fashioned in the style of performance (no-one would perform them in quite such a "four-square" manner today, and the softer sound of the choir, with quite a bit of vibratto, is currently out of favour) they are still beautifully sung. The Stabat Mater is a particular joy. No other performance of my acquaintance has such passion and fervour. All this feeling doesn't affect the refinement of the performance though.
I think this can be recommended to anyone. Fantastic music in splendid performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, though audio noise may disappoint, 5 Dec. 2010
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
This is a re-release of one of Decca's most famous recordings, the Allegri Miserere from the 1960s recorded by David Willcocks and the King's College Choir, alongside Palestrina's Stabat Mater. It is an absolutely immaculate performance, recorded to the best of Decca's specialist art in capturing in-situ performance. However, compared to today's recordings you will find that it is very 'hissy', despite remastering with the best of digital technology.

Palestrina's Stabat Mater has never really done anything for me -- I much prefer the Pergolesi -- but the Allegri Miserere goes through me like a knife. In this version it is sung in English, a good choice, since the text from Psalm 51 works closely with the music to weave one of choral music's most compelling sacred pieces.

Personally I'm very happy with this recording, despite the hiss. However, if CD audio quality is your main concern, you will need to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spine-tingling, 29 May 2010
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
This never fails to lift my spirits: a fantastic classic recording of thrilling, piercing trebles and soaring counterpoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, but it's showing its age. English text to Misereri not sufficient to counter poor audio quality., 3 Jun. 2013
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
Apparently a landmark/historical recording, I have to confess that I found this a disappointment.

The music is great, and the performance is really good too, but the audio quality is poor, and could surely - in this age of Cedar technology and the like - be improved upon. Also, the English text to Allegri's Misereri, one of the reasons I got this CD, actually lessens the charm of the piece.

Brazilian composer Jobim's fantastic musical poem 'Aguas De Marco', rendered in English as 'Waters of March' is an example of sublime (but not religious) poetry successfully crossing the border of translation. I'm beginning to discover, with my explorations in early choral music, that I prefer the opacity of Latin, as I think most sacred texts of this era are, tragically, abject superstitious garbage.

As a local to Cambridge the Kings connection exerts some charm, and the music and performance are great. But audio quality and English text mar this for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review what else, 10 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
Fantastic, beautiful, moving, nostalgic, I could go on. One criticism would be the background hiss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miserere to Astonish, 2 Oct. 2009
By 
J. Peacock (Herefordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
What magical voices and wonderful music. I can listen to this time and time again. This recording is sublime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic sound, 14 May 2009
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
I had this recording on LP for years but can no longer play it as stylus is broken and record scratched badly.I am updating all my "golden " classic LP"S in this way, your prices make this possible- a shame you cannot download more classic tracks on to MP3 players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly mixed, 12 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
I went for this specifically for the Allegri, and while it is undoubtedly a good recording, I was slightly disappointed to find firstly that it was in English rather than Latin, and secondly that, far from being the only release of this particular recording, it appears on many other King's compilations as well, meaning a certain amount of rather irritating overlap. In this piece and in the others I was not over impressed with the ensemble and intonation of the choir under Willcocks. This was supposed to be a golden age for the choir of King's College, Cambridge, but I found myself wanting to hear the sound,which many people would find too clinical and pure, of the modern choir at King's. That said, the diction of the group is first rate, and Roy Goodman's top C's, if not perfect every time, are nevertheless very impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Miserere falls short, 6 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The track Miserere (on the mp3 download of this album) falls slightly short of its entirety. Cuts off just before the end. Anyone who knows and loves this piece will know how annoying that is.
However, as a recording this version can not be faulted, and falls nothing short of 5 stars.
The 1 star is for the shortcoming of the mp3 track Miserere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, peaceful and relaxing, 22 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater (Audio CD)
I bought this CD for my husband. We both have had so much enjoyment out of listening repeatedly!! to the beautiful music, beautiful singing. It is so relaxing and it takes away any stress you may be suffering. We just love it and recommend it highly. Its great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater
Allegri: Miserere / Palestrina: Stabat Mater by Cambridge The Choir of King's College (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews