Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars superb!
superb!
Published 1 month ago by miss darling

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Precisely measured and crafted.
It's a beautifully-made recording, with the two voices high in the mix, above the orchestra, often soaringly so. The cellos and double basses have a nice crunchiness underneath the sweetness of the higher notes and of the voices...I've listened to it often over the last year, always with pleasure, but not with the kind of emotion I'd perhaps expected. Perhaps it's because...
Published on 19 Mar 2008 by Paul Callick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Precisely measured and crafted., 19 Mar 2008
By 
Paul Callick (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pergolesi: Stabat Mater; Salve Regina /Scholl Bonney Les Talens Lyriques Rousset (Audio CD)
It's a beautifully-made recording, with the two voices high in the mix, above the orchestra, often soaringly so. The cellos and double basses have a nice crunchiness underneath the sweetness of the higher notes and of the voices...I've listened to it often over the last year, always with pleasure, but not with the kind of emotion I'd perhaps expected. Perhaps it's because everything here sounds so very careful and exactly planned; each of the signature semi-tone slides is measured precisely, each ornament is crafted and thought-through. There's not a moment when any catch in the voice, or lingered-on long note gives away a fleeting glimpse of the singers/players being allowed to be caught up in it all. I suppose this fits a piece from the rational Enlightment. But sometimes I want a human touch, given the subject: grief and loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb!, 3 July 2014
This review is from: Pergolesi: Stabat Mater; Salve Regina /Scholl Bonney Les Talens Lyriques Rousset (Audio CD)
superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST VERSION, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pergolesi: Stabat Mater; Salve Regina /Scholl Bonney Les Talens Lyriques Rousset (Audio CD)
How can you go wrong with Scholl and Bonney? I love this version of the Stabat Mater. I listen to it whilst driving. It keeps me calm and relaxed especially if there is a bad driver in front. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pergolesi: Stabat Mater; Salve Regina /Scholl Bonney Les Talens Lyriques Rousset (Audio CD)
This music puts me into a reverie. It's beyond words. I'm buying it for those friends who will appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good piece of work, 18 Dec 2012
By 
B. Charlton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pergolesi: Stabat Mater; Salve Regina /Scholl Bonney Les Talens Lyriques Rousset (Audio CD)
Sabat Mater is a great piece of religious music and is very popular to all classical lovers. I like the idea of the fact that a Counter Tenor is singing this as well as it gives great depth. Scholl and Bonney are great singers and the work is nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of both worlds, 31 Jan 2010
By 
Ralph Moore "Ralph operaphile" (Bishop's Stortford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pergolesi: Stabat Mater; Salve Regina /Scholl Bonney Les Talens Lyriques Rousset (Audio CD)
I have read such a lot of tendentious rubbish about various recordings of this simplest, most celebrated and sublime masterpiece that I thought it might be enlightening to attempt a comparison across three disparate versions of it, each representing one, particular, entrenched interpretative camp. That's difficult; there are so many to choose from and so many have merit, as this music can survive a whole range of approaches, but I plumped for these three: Alessandri on the Naive label (cutting edge HIP; slimmer voices); Abbado (old-fashioned, traditional, big-sound; singers operatic with vibrato); and Rousset (compromise: original instruments but more relaxed tempi and somewhat more operatic voices). I am amused at some of the more condescending pronouncements made de haut en bas by the "period Nazis"; we really do not always know a) how the music sounded when it was first played; b) what the composer actually wanted; c) what he would have liked - which is not necessarily the same thing as point "b"! In the end we must forget dogma and say what moves us today.

The results of my comparison are necessarily subjective and skewed to my ears and taste, but I thought they might be of interest to anyone picking their way through the plethora of choices available.

All enjoy beautiful sound and I don't propose to waste much time on that. Regarding tempi, the Alessandri goes to extremes, sometimes breathlessly fast ("Quae moerebat") and sometimes lugubriously clumsy and plonking (opening movement "Stabat mater") with heavy accents on the first beat of every bar. The Abbado is Romantically leisurely and inclined to lack contrast, but the suspended harmonies of that famous opening have a stately grandeur which instantly transports the listener into a spiritual realm. Rousset is inclined to rush but represents a juste milieu between the other two and his "period accents" are more discreet than those of Alessandri. Orchestral accompaniment: obviously Abbado has big band but it does not by any means overwhelm his singers. Alessandri has a small, period band with its usual concomitant characteristics: lean, slightly vinegary string tone and great clarity. Rousset's original instruments seems to me to strike the right balance between amplitude and delicacy, being both sweeter and more yielding than those of Alessandri but obviously not as thick of texture as Abbado's LSO.

Finally, the singers: all three versions are decidedly well sung. Gemma Bertagnolli is neither as famous nor as lustrous-voiced as all the other singers concerned and it shows a little in the ordinariness of her vocal quality; both Margaret Marshall and Barbara Bonney are superior in bell-like clarity and limpid beauty of tone. I disagree with the complaints of some previous reviewers: neither of these latter two has so slow a vibrato that either intonation or harmonisation with the alto is obscured, and they do make concessions to the period. Mingardo has a lovely voice and copes remarkably well with the absurdly rushed tempo in the aforementioned "Quae moerebat", but that speed is wholly inappropriate to the emotion expressed by the text and I am a sucker for Scholl's and Valenti-Terrani's resonant, oboe-tones, especially as their conductors permit them more apt tempi. Scholl and Bonney also occasionally introduce some discreet ornamentation and lovely trills.

If you want a strictly authentic performance and also want the Vivaldi "Stabat mater" (surely no more than a workaday filler compared with Pergolesi's supreme work), you must go for the Alessandri; otherwise I prefer even the rather stolid Abbado purely for the quality of the singing and its sincerity of utterance and I wouldn't part with this disc, as it was the one which first introduced me to this music. The best of the three, however, remains the much-lauded Rousset/Scholl/Bonney version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost... but not quite..., 11 Mar 2005
This review is from: Pergolesi: Stabat Mater; Salve Regina /Scholl Bonney Les Talens Lyriques Rousset (Audio CD)
Anyone who had the good fortune to hear Andreas sing the Stabat Mater with his sister at the late night prom in the Albert Hall a few years back(31 Aug 1999), will wonder why he chose to record it with Barbara Bonney. True... a nice enough recording, but only a fraction of the searing heat in the opening section ... If the Stabat Mater is missing in your collection then this is not a bad one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pergolesi: Stabat Mater; Salve Regina /Scholl Bonney Les Talens Lyriques Rousset (Audio CD)
It's amazing !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 16 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Pergolesi: Stabat Mater; Salve Regina /Scholl Bonney Les Talens Lyriques Rousset (Audio CD)
This recording makes me want to weep - both singers have such fantastic command of their beautiful voices. It is certainly 100s times better than some of the early recordings where the orchestra is too heavy and everything is too slow. I am certainly going to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Counter-tenor, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pergolesi: Stabat Mater; Salve Regina /Scholl Bonney Les Talens Lyriques Rousset (Audio CD)
Mr Scholl has a beautiful voice as does Ms Bonney. I have enjoyed the arrangements and this can fill your ears with beautiful singing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews