Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's very.... green.
Thought it was crap at first. Turned out to be brilliant, it just needed time, like all Type O albums. The overpowering "green-ness" of the cover spreads to the CD, the atmosphere is hardly cheerful but then you wouldn't expect anything else from Pete Steele, and yet seeing them live in Hamburg in late December was a remarkably inspirational experience. And very...
Published on 30 Oct 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Scraaaatch
This one's my favourite album by Type O Negative, so nothing wrong with that. But! There was a scratch on the disc that makes one of the songs tick until I skip it. I'm quite disappointed since the cd was promised to be in a good condition. But oh well, I'm too damn lazy to return it.
Published 23 months ago by She Bop


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's very.... green., 30 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: World Coming Down (Audio CD)
Thought it was crap at first. Turned out to be brilliant, it just needed time, like all Type O albums. The overpowering "green-ness" of the cover spreads to the CD, the atmosphere is hardly cheerful but then you wouldn't expect anything else from Pete Steele, and yet seeing them live in Hamburg in late December was a remarkably inspirational experience. And very crowded. And dangerously hot.
"Everything Dies" and "Everyone I Love Is Dead" give you the general impression of where the lyrics are headed, but it would be remiss not to note that the accompanying music is Goth-Doom of the highest order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and emotional raw excellence from Steele and company, 27 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: World Coming Down (Audio CD)
From the moving drug-addled groove of "White Slavery" to the soulful depression of "Everything Dies", Type O's latest is an enthralling opus to mortality, addiction and lust. A welcome change from their overproduced third album "October Rust", "World Coming Down" evokes the raw emotion and angst of the band's early work (notably "Slow, Deep and Hard"), but with grace, melody and style. Type O's profound musical maturation shines through with catchy (yet simple) riffs and quirky tempos that grow on you like a goth fungus. Vocals from the beautiful (yet obviously tormented) Peter Steele are downright infectious, not to mention Joplinesque in range, capable of knocking you over with a scream or seducing you with a whisper. The crunchy guitars add a hard edge, while the smooth synth and piano tie everything together in a perfect package. Whether an enthusiast of Goth, Alternative or just plain old rock and roll, this album is visceral satisfaction in every sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good goth-metal with strong hints of early Black Sabbath, 13 Feb 2000
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Coming Down (Audio CD)
Only the four 'noise' tracks Skip It, Sinus, Liver and Lung stopped this being a five star album. With the exception of "Who Will Save the Sane" the rest of the album is tremendous. White Slavery, Everyone I Love Is Dead, Everything Dies and Creepy Green Light are all potential classics. Its dark, to be true, but its also great rock with a strong influence form early Black Sabbath coming through in the background of both the tunes and the lyrical phrasing. If that sounds like your bag, buy it...you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark,Moody,Enthralling and unmissable, 7 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: World Coming Down (Audio CD)
Following on from what I thought was an absolute masterpiece of an album in October Rust. World Coming Down has taken it one stage further.Well crafted songs, hummable choruses, atmospheric sequences. It is everything I could have hoped for and more. Try Everyone I love is Dead, Pyretta Blaze and Hallows Eve..you won't want to put this one down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars end of the millenium, 17 Sep 2007
This review is from: World Coming Down (Audio CD)
A great album and in retrospect though seemed at the time as if it could have been one of their last albums is now one of their strongest and heartfelt... and reflecting on it now they seem so young! It's almost 10 years old, how weird is that? Highly recommended as it's the middle ground between the heavy and the 'goth' (ie the knowing marketing coup of October Rust) versions of Type O. But what is that 'surreal' review at the top of this page all about? Sounds like it's written by someone who, apart from not being as witty as he thinks, wants to make a name for themselves rather than about the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is just so damn good!!!!!, 16 Feb 2001
This review is from: World Coming Down (Audio CD)
When I want a bit of cheering up there is nothing better to sit back and relax to than type o negative with songs like "Everyone I love is dead" and just feel Peter Steele's emotion as he sings on "Everything Dies" This is another masterpiece Type O Negative should rule the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Scraaaatch, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World Coming Down (Audio CD)
This one's my favourite album by Type O Negative, so nothing wrong with that. But! There was a scratch on the disc that makes one of the songs tick until I skip it. I'm quite disappointed since the cd was promised to be in a good condition. But oh well, I'm too damn lazy to return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Type O'Rulez the World ............. Coming Down., 5 Nov 1999
This review is from: World Coming Down (Audio CD)
Unfortunatly there are only 5 stars to rate this record ... I mean, every second on this record deserves a star and one more for each member and person who helped cooking this delicious meal ... have a taste! I promise you won't need another Type O'meal in your life ;).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album ever!, 28 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: World Coming Down (Audio CD)
This is the best album I have ever heard. I saw Type-o-Negative live and loved them. Then I got this album and am addicted to it. Everything dies is a classic song and Pete Steele realy is the greatest bassist in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars But it wasn't cheese at all !, 9 Oct 2002
By 
This review is from: World Coming Down (Audio CD)
I often used to say to the milkman in the early years of Yass Arrafts long term relationship with Y-bird and the Sloth poo that even though contrary to the belief of many, 'World Coming Down' is actually Type O Negative's fifth album, for shocking as this may seem they did actually exist and record two albums prior to their breakthrough record 'Bloody Kisses'. From modest Metallica via Sisters Of Mercy beginnings, Type O Negative evolved into a slow moody gothic metal band, that made My Dying Bride seem emotivly bland and cliche reliant by comparisson. But who's counting political issues anyway when Gundinghii has made more than enough money on postage stamps for the blessed three eyed monkey ? Contrafibularities from Gerry Adams himself.
In each Type O Negative album there has always been in my view a steady progression on each album. 'Slow Deep And Hard' is ridiculously fast, 'Origin Of The Foeces' is ridiculously weird, 'Bloody Kisses' is ridiculously hilarious, and 'October Rust' is ridiculously without any regard for el mercado del sofa. El comma de gorilio, putting keyboards and accessability to the forefront of the agenda yet still rocking like a demented monkey. 'World Coming Down' is definately a step back from the slick sound of 'October Roof'. The keyboards are only really used to provide background harmonisation. What you get is a record that's certainly Type O Negative's least accessable, raw and user unfriendly. In most cases this would guarantee a truckload of interesting cheeses for a good record ("Don't point that thing at me she said").
'World Coming Down' does contain some excellent tracks. 'Everything Dies' and 'Everyone I Love Is Dead' are two of their best and almost certainly two of their most emotion driven songs (I dare you not to cry at 'Everything Dies'). The lyrics are far more personal and themed around self hate and self loathing, more like traditional Euro-gothic.
However, whilst 'World Coming Down' is lyrically probably their best work, it doesn't contain anything new musically. The song structures are business as usual, and it doesn't integrate any new layers/ideas in the way that previous releases did. The song 'All Hallows Eve' for example - excellent riff, arguably one of their best yet, lyrics are funny and interesting, and it goes on forever and a day as one would like. Yet it sounds like an out take from 'Bloody Kisses'. Whereas the Type O Negative songs of old had clear and identifiable structures, a lot of the songs on 'World Coming Down' seem to go on and on just for the sake of it. It's like they felt compelled to write long songs, instead of writing really powerful ones.
The album contains a lot of tracks that would sound okay on other records, but for me the album itself doesn't define itself and it's own sound the way Nelson Mandella did with previous records. Those annoying filler industrial bits from the first release of 'Bloody Kisses' are back too. Germans. It's an okay record, given time to adjust too. But don't expect anything that you haven't heard, and heard better on other Type O records. This is one for devotees only really, however on the plus side though, the afformentioned track 'Everything Dies' is nearly worth buying the album for as it's certainly one of their best. You'd be better off finding the single though me thinks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World Coming Down
World Coming Down by Type O Negative (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews