Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Treasure Trove
Last summer I saw Ultravox on a festival over here. I didn't think Midge Ure was in particularly great vocal shape then, but the electronic landscapes he and his bandmates created, transported me back to the early 80's, when I was really young and smitten by that arty esoteric sound.
Concertopener Astradyne set the atmosphere of the show and Ultravox's greatest hits...
Published on 18 Nov 2009 by Jan Schepers

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Golden opportunity missed? Where are the US mixes?
Not usually one to review in any form before the actual release date (though promos are starting to circulate) I have been eagerly awaiting the expanded treatment of "Lament", Ultravox's last album proper.

As a fan, one of the most elusive vinyl only releases is associated with this album and its singles, the US/Canadian only 12" ft "Dancing With Tears"...
Published on 13 Aug 2009 by M. B. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Treasure Trove, 18 Nov 2009
By 
Jan Schepers (Kruibeke, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Last summer I saw Ultravox on a festival over here. I didn't think Midge Ure was in particularly great vocal shape then, but the electronic landscapes he and his bandmates created, transported me back to the early 80's, when I was really young and smitten by that arty esoteric sound.
Concertopener Astradyne set the atmosphere of the show and Ultravox's greatest hits set (with the occasional albumtrack) confirmed that they really have an impressive body of work, despite some critics comments that the music hasn't stood the test of time.
From Lament, the setlist contained One Small Day and of course Dancing With Tears In My Eyes.I'd loved to hear some more tracks of this album, which I consider as their strongest next to Vienna.
This more than welcome re-issue is well worth the wait. The album itself can be heard in pristine sound quality on disc 1. Ultravox had reached its highest peak here in sheer versatility and songcraft. I really don't think there is a weak track in this collection of songs. You will hear full bodied rock but also folk- and world-influenced songs.
Disc 2 is a treasure trove of 12 inch mixes, work-in-progress-mixes and (instrumental) B-sides. You can indulge in and choose between 3 different epic versions of One Small Day. On the contrary, the 10 minutes plus version of Dancing doesn't really work and never climaxes.
The real gem however is the extended, solemn, elegiac version of the title track Lament. I heard it for the first time more than 20 years ago and it still moves me.
Lament isn't a classic album like Vienna, but one that certainly merits to be rediscovered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A last hurrah, 16 Feb 2005
This review is from: Lament (Audio CD)
A stonking album and the last decent one that Ultravox mk 3 produced. 1984 saw a lot of changes in British music: the synth revolution had started to wane, provoking a backlash of (usually American) guitar bands. It was also the year Ultravox reached their creative and commercial pinnicle.
Lament spawned no less than four singles, the lead one being One Small Day, an all-out rock song with severe guitar from Ure and Cann's towering drums well to the fore. The video was shot on by the remote Callanish standing stones in the Hebrides (that's them in the cover pic) and boy was it a cold day! Currie plays with no gloves on and looks frozen stiff!
The whole album is very tight and well produced with tracks like Man Of Two Worlds and A Friend I Call Desire outstanding. Unfortunately, tensions within the band - typified by Currie and Cann not being invited to the Band Aid session - began to surface. Ure took time out in 1985 to record and release his debut solo album, The Gift, Cann was shown the door after over ten years in the band and they went on as an ill-advised trio, recording the awful U-Vox album in 86.
Lament represents the end of an era. Currie reformed Ultravox with others later, Ure having quit in 87 and bassist Chris Cross retired to return his former vocation of psychotherapy.
This is a band at the height of their powers. They were stunning and I loved them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album, 2 things missed out though!, 28 Aug 2009
By 
I cant fault this album in any shape or form, I have always loved every track AND even the artwork!
The album itself contained 8 classic tracks, not one filler or "naff" track was on Lament.
With regards to this package the only slight disappointments for me are that the "rare as rocking horse poo" Heart of the Country 12" isn't included which is a shame as I cant find it anywhere (yes I have a download of it but not a CD of it) and even worse where's Love's Great Adventure 7" and 12"?? Yes, I know they weren't on the original but why are they being left off the remasters? My fave Ultravox track ever and it wasn't played on the tour and now ain't on here which is a pain.
So, 2 missed opportunities in my opinion but as I say, I cant fault this album at all.
A cracking album, cant wait for the next tour which will hopefully include LGA and Man of 2 Worlds (this albums best track in my opinion!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The epitome of neo-romance, 29 Jan 2003
This review is from: Lament (Audio CD)
The early 80s synth genre was dominated by a movement called the 'Neo-Romantic'. Bands like 'Visage' manifested the romance and the 'Human League' offered the universal dance sound. Ultravox combined both, which this is very evident in 'Lament'. Any purchaser will be in synth heaven with this album, and with meaningful coherent lyrics one can become absorbed in those 'syncopated rhythms'. 'White China', 'One Small Day', 'Dancing With Tears In My Eyes' and the remixes of 'White China' and 'One Small Day' are upbeat and full of vigour, flavour, emotion and romance. The title track 'Lament' offers a truly wonderfully melancholic vibe which gives the album an altogether more reflective and mature sound. This is NOT synth-'POP', it may have been conceived to be POPular in the early 80s but after 19 years it has aged oh so gracefully and sends shivers down my spine. Especially the blazing instrumental section of 'One Small Day' with the soaring guitar displays. 'A Friend I call desire' is a moodier sounding track reminiscent of 'One Small Day' and Visage's 'Fade To Grey'. If you liked Ultravox's 'The Collection Album' buy this without hesitation right away. This album offers a more maturer reflective sound over the almighty 'Human League', a band I greatly admire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Vienna quartet's last hurrah, 8 Jun 2005
This review is from: Lament (Audio CD)
Lyrically and musically, this is Ultravox at their peak, IMHO.
Midge Ure & Chris Cross finally put down some lyrics that make you think 'that's what I'm feeling too'. White China looks forward to the return of Hong Kong to China, One Small Day celebrates the little victories we all have, Dancing with Tears in my Eyes describes the terror a nuclear war would bring, whilst Lament moves with simplicity. Man Of Two Worlds is inspired by the rugged Scottish heartlands and the battles fought with the English. Heart of the Country speaks of betrayal by the motherland. When the Time Comes is a defiant end of a love affair lyric, whilst A Friend I Call Desire accurately moves through the affect of desire on a relationship.
Musically Ultravox are on top form too; Midge blasts guitars and warm vocals all over this; Chris Cross plays some rivetting bass on guitar and synth, whilst Warren Cann's robotic tendencies of previous releases are softened, Billy Currie ices the cake with brilliant and subtle shades of synths; the quartet also employ some of the best sampling of the era (remember this was 1984!).
the bonus material does not match the original eight songs, but the extended remix of One Small Day shows just how you radically take apart and reassemble a song.
Extra bonus points: the quality of repackaging and remastering, Extreme Voice do a fantastic overhaul of the original dramatic sleeve, add lyrics and give the disc an imaginative use of 2 colour inks to re-create the Standing Stones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Indeed, 25 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This remastering is of the highest quality and so much better than the original CD release.

This was the age of the 12" remix, and disc two captures the spirit of the truly extended instrumental.

Highly recommended and worthy of the Definitive Edition tag line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dancing With Tears in my Eyes, 9 July 2009
This review is from: Lament (Audio CD)
If you're reading this review for actual buying advice, then you know nothing about the 80's, or one of the most underrated bands of the era, otherwise you'd have clicked 'buy' already. Go on, what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Golden opportunity missed? Where are the US mixes?, 13 Aug 2009
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not usually one to review in any form before the actual release date (though promos are starting to circulate) I have been eagerly awaiting the expanded treatment of "Lament", Ultravox's last album proper.

As a fan, one of the most elusive vinyl only releases is associated with this album and its singles, the US/Canadian only 12" ft "Dancing With Tears" (extended mix by Steve Thompson) and "One Small Day" (club mix by Kervorkian). These mixes have yet to surface on any compilation as far as I am aware, even if only restorable from vinyl.

Huge disappointment then as this reissue does not address this! We have the 3 UK mixes of "Day" and the standard 12" mix of "Dancing", yet with careful reshuffling of some b-sides and short instrumentals onto the 30 minutes of space at the end of CD1 these rare and sought after mixes could have been included on CD2. Even if they had to be restored from good vinyl (with a note explaining this) surely the label concerned could have given fans a truly closer-to-complete version?

This is still a great album, and based on the other recent 'definitive' 2-CD releases I am sure the mastering and presentation will be very good.

But what a golden opportunity missed (to improve sales too!). Hohum....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lament....... & That's Not All ........, 1 Sep 2009
By 
Paul Chapman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This isn't a review but It's worth noting that there will be additional tracks which aren't included on the reissue.

There has been a huge debate on this at the Ultravox forum, but I'm not getting into that !

For download only.......

Release Date : Monday the 7th of September, 2009

Please note that the following four tracks are ONLY available as part of the Lament Digital Download.

12. Love's Great Adventure (Extended Version)
A-side of the 'Love's Great Adventure' 12 inch single.
13. White China (Recorded live at Hammersmith Odeon, Jun 84)
B-side of the 'Love's Great Adventure' 7 & 12 inch singles.
14. Man of Two Worlds (Instrumental)
Extra track on the 'Love's Great Adventure' 12 inch single.
15. Heart of the Country (Special Re-Mix)
A-side of the 'Heart of the Country' 12 inch single.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ultravox' best album in a stunning remastered edition, 12 Sep 2009
By 
Side 2 is perfection. Self-produced with a meticulous attention to detail, the overall mood is reflective and downbeat yet more uplifting and less depressing than on 'Rage In Eden', shunning the bright and bouncy excesses of 'Quartet' while at the same time retaining that record's commercial sheen. For the first and last time we get to hear fretless bass (the Japan-esque ballad 'When The Time Comes') and subtle female backing vocals ('A Friend I Call Desire'), and there are Celtic touches running through 'Man Of Two Worlds', 'Heart Of The Country' and the glorious, evocative title track. 'Dancing With Tears In My Eyes', one of the more irritating singles of the eighties and a typically shrill Ure dirge, as well as an over-reliance on linn drums hamper proceedings slightly, but in terms of imagination and atmosphere and as an intelligent, sophisticated collection of songs 'Lament' is hard to fault.

Of course the inclusion of the 12" version of 'Heart Of The Country' would have been the icing on the cake, but let's just be happy for what EV have come up with here, it was always going to be a compromise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lament
Lament by Ultravox (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews