Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Box Set but not quite definitive
I bought the original on vinyl in 1983 (and the cassette for the New Version of 'Change'!) and its been a favourite ever since. This 30th anniversary box set won't disappoint... but if you're a long term fan it might (ever so slightly) rankle with what's missing.

The box set: nice A5 cardboard box packaging containing 3 cds and one dvd in card gatefold sleeves...
Published 9 months ago by GQ

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not over compressed, not quite complete, no lyrics, and a glitch in the mastering that Universal don't seem to care to fix.
NOTE: THIS FOUR STAR REVIEW HAS BEEN REDUCED TO 1 STAR AS UNIVERSAL WILL NOT REPLACE A DEFECTIVE DISC.

Most people will be aware of the content - almost complete, but frustratingly a track has been omitted. Saxophones as Opiates is not present, and as mentioned the band apparently had the call on that, but how on earth did Wino make it on in that case...
Published 9 months ago by Mike the Fish


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Box Set but not quite definitive, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hurting (Audio CD)
I bought the original on vinyl in 1983 (and the cassette for the New Version of 'Change'!) and its been a favourite ever since. This 30th anniversary box set won't disappoint... but if you're a long term fan it might (ever so slightly) rankle with what's missing.

The box set: nice A5 cardboard box packaging containing 3 cds and one dvd in card gatefold sleeves (the ones where you have to grip the side of the disc to slide it out, not ideal but ok) nice 'hurting' era fonts and great photos and 2 A5 booklets.

Disc 1: The original album. Exactly as you'd expect, great sound and the picture on the inner gatefold sleeve appears to show Roland recreating the moment the paper arrow speared him in the 'Pale Shelter' video ;)

Disc 2: B-sides and remixes. Would have worked better if they were in chronological order to bring back memories of flipping the disc to hear the b-side but everything you'd ever want is here with the notable exception of 'Saxophones As Opiates' (b-side to the 12" of 'Mad World') - Roland and Curt apparently had track listing approval and didn't want it on here which is a shame. Personal favourites are the original versions of 'Pale Shelter', the instrumental version of 'Suffer The Children' and (who'd have thought it) 'Wino'! Time has been kind to the bastard child of the back catalogue. At the time I thought it was an ironic joke of a song at odds with TFF's cutting edge synth technology and definitely not one to play to impress your mates but its matured better over time (or is that just me?) and really makes you wish they had released more early songs of just acoustic guitar and vocals (sadly no demo versions are included in the box set - do any even still exist?)

Disc 3: live sessions. 4 songs from the Peel sessions and 4 songs from the Jensen Sessions (The Hurting and The Prisoner appear twice and because the recording sessions are weeks apart there isn't a great deal of difference between the two). Also has the live versions of 'Change' and 'Start of the Breakdown' from 'The Way You Are' double 7". They are the only songs in any way connected to 'The Way You Are' that you'll find in this box set. 'The Way You Are' being the bridge between 'The Hurting' and 'Songs From The Big Chair' and, I think, more connected to 'The Hurting' but not a view shared by record company executives.

Disc 4: In My Minds Eye DVD. I remember getting the VHS video of this for Christmas in 1984 and although the computer graphics are dated and sometimes intrusive the overall quality of the production is a lot better than I remember it. The excitement at the time came from the inclusion of new songs 'The Working Hour' and 'Head Over Heels' and despite a repetitive and flat sounding early version of 'Mother's Talk' its a good concert. This concert is very much from 'The Way You Are' period which is ironic as although 'The Way You Are' was part of the set list it was cut from the video!
The definitive concert from 'The Hurting' period is undoubtedly the Rockpalast concert (found on youtube) as that concert features live versions of all of the Hurting tracks ('Watch Me Bleed'!!!! and also 'The Way You Are').
A glaring omission from the DVD are the promo videos for the 3 hit singles (and the hard to find 'The Way You Are'), their inclusion would have made this more of a definitive collection.

Tears For Fears On The Road tour booklet: a reproduction of the 1983 tour programme, a nice curio and typical of all tour programmes with photos but not a great deal of content.

The Hurting booklet: very nicely put together. Some photos were previously featured in the sublime 'tales from the big chair' book but the majority are previously unseen and some are also reproduced in the gatefold sleeves of each disc.
It makes for very interesting reading but it's quite sparse considering Roland and Curt contributed to it. The previous re-issue of 'The Hurting' had liner notes which had a couple of quotes from Roland and Curt on each song. I had hoped that would have been expanded upon here, but most songs don't even get a mention (there is more information in the tour booklet about their support band on their 1983 tour than there is about the majority of songs on 'The Hurting'). I'd have liked to have read more anecdotes from the recording sessions and reminisces from that period of their lives, and also more information about their choice of artwork for single covers and the reasons why the fishnet cover was withdrawn, the story behind Caroline Orzabal's art work on the 'Pale Shelter' reissued single and why the European cover of 'The Hurting' was different to the UK release...
Also why 'Watch Me Bleed' was the song chosen to be dropped from the live set.
The lyrics were on the inner sleeve of the original vinyl but, unfortunately, haven't been included here. Now, where did I put my original vinyl copy?

Overall: a fitting tribute to one of the best and influential albums of the early 1980s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories fade................., 11 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hurting (Audio CD)
It's ironic that my favourite track on this superb album when I bought it on vinyl in 1983 was (and still is) Memories Fade - ironic because listening to it again after all this time evokes such strong memories of my mid-teenage years. And surely the best of these was of going to see my first 'real' gig (accompanied by my first 'real' girlfriend!) in Margate in December 1983. And the band we saw? Tears For Fears - who played the whole album tracklist and more - the experience just blew me away! Fantastic! There isn't a weak song on this album - it's very catchy, very 'poppy' - but each track carries a deeper, thought-provoking lyric, and it's this just as much as the music that originally kept me listening and interested when other records of that era just got lost in my collection. Tears For Fears were the first band I'd heard that managed to combine a real intelligence with strong, catchy rhythms and melodies. Quite an achievement for a debut album. Although I still have the original on vinyl, I no longer have a turntable on which to play it, so I'm really pleased to have found it on CD - and the extra tracks are a real bonus. And what became of the girlfriend? We split up a few weeks after the gig! Ahhh! ;o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding album, 29 Jan 2004
This review is from: The Hurting (Audio CD)
I remember first having this album on a bootleg tape from a market when it was first released back in 1983.
I can also remember not fully appreciating it as I was about 14 at the time, but after all these years in its remastered format you can appreciate this work.
It was a standout album of the 80's with its wonderful dark overtones and its subject matters.
It is an amazing debut album.
Alongside the well known first big hits 'Mad World' and 'Change' you have my personal favourite TFF song 'Pale shelter' you are surrounded by deeply felt personal songs from Roland Orzabal. Though they are deeply personal ' Memories fade' a good example, you never fail to appreciate the darkness and beauty in this album and its quite uncommercial, despite it being a Number 1 here in England.
Added to this addition is another gem from TFF 'The Way you are' which sadly isn't on a Greatest Hits / best of package which is a shame as its a nice song and I remember having it as a single.
A dark, personal and brilliant album - buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb ! i bought it when it came out and i still play it!, 30 Sep 2000
This review is from: The Hurting (Audio CD)
The has to be one of the landmark albums of the 80s, and a damn sight better than the more commerical "Songs from the big chair". Songs like "Ideas as Opiates" and "Memories Fade" really tug at the heart strings. There's not one song that is out of place on this album. I first bought this back in 1985 on cassette, and I still play it to this day. That shows how little it has dated. "The hurting" , in my opinion, has been massively overlooked because of the later success of "Songs from the big chair" - but to these ears, "The hurting" was an album way ahead of its time and far surpasses anything that came after. If you are trying to build an 80's collection, this HAS to be on your hit list....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my teenage years..in a nutshell!, 19 Sep 2006
By 
Mr. Nathan Armstrong - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hurting (Audio CD)
i can remember taking the afternoon off school to buy this album on vinyl!!! that seems like yesterday and it still holds a special place in my heart!!!

i bought it on the back of the singles "mad world" and "change" and i was not disappointed!!! the next single which was a rerelease "pale sheleter" was better than the two before!!!

plus you get the classic album tracks "start of the breakdown" "memories fade" and my all time favourite tff song "watch me bleed"

there are a few poor songs "ideas as opiates" and "the prisoner" but they are well and truely forgiven by the rest!!!

anyone who was an angst teenager will adore this..it is the best album they released.....by a hundred miles!!!!

and if that wasnt good enough you get the 12" mixes of pale shelter, mad world and change!!!!

worth anyones money..no matter if you if were there when they released the album or not!!!

tortured lyrics like memories fade but the scars still linger...and watch me bleed, bleed forever!!!

pure 80s pop that has stood up to the test of time!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not dated at all, 30 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hurting (Audio CD)
Tears for Fears did not produce many albums, but when they did they were terrific. A case of Quality rather that Quantity. Its hard to believe that this debut is nearly 20 years old now as it still sounds as fresh as it did back then and is no less than brilliant, apart from the excellent familiar singles, the rest of the album is class. And now remasted with loads of excellent remixs, this album makes essential buying. An 8O's Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not over compressed, not quite complete, no lyrics, and a glitch in the mastering that Universal don't seem to care to fix., 28 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Hurting (Audio CD)
NOTE: THIS FOUR STAR REVIEW HAS BEEN REDUCED TO 1 STAR AS UNIVERSAL WILL NOT REPLACE A DEFECTIVE DISC.

Most people will be aware of the content - almost complete, but frustratingly a track has been omitted. Saxophones as Opiates is not present, and as mentioned the band apparently had the call on that, but how on earth did Wino make it on in that case?!

Tonally the mastering is close to the 1999 remaster but sounds a lot more open, and this version doesn't seem to have major noise reduction on it. The audio has not been compressed to the eyeballs, and the top end has not been disproportinately boosted - hooray! There is a decent amount of top end, though - and some sibilence. Sadly there is a glitch on Ideas... at around the 2:25 mark, which is not on the 1999 edition. It's frustrating that these things get through! People into the minutiae may be interested to know that the polarity is also opposite to the 1999 edition.

As a bonus the original 12" mix of Pale Shelter has a longer fade, and We Are Broken is also in unedited form. Something a little extra for the collectors - which is welcome.

Comparing the 7" version of Suffer The Children from vinyl to the CD, I've got to say that my first impression is that I prefer the sound of the single. I don't know what the source of the "new version" (actually older) of Change is, but my first impression suggestion it sounded a bit low rez to me. I haven't compared that track with the vinyl yet, but it sounded a bit cassettey to my ears. The longer promo version of Suffer The Children sounds inferior to the shorter version that made the single. Presumably this was sourced from the promo CD rather than the original mastertape. A little disappointing, but better than it being omitted from the collection, also demonstrates how much better the remastered single version sounds. The remix of Suffer The Children has some clicks during the intro, but on casual speaker listening didn't have anything glaring to suggest it was a definitely a needle drop. The instrumental version also has some clicking on the intro, and does - at casual listening - sound vinyl sourced.

The box is quite nicely priced for this kind of thing, but the booklets are centre stapled rather than hardback, which would have been nicer and a more deluxe touch for the main booklet. Also there is no ribbon to help pull out the discs and booklet, instead you have to fish around a bit which is likely to increase wear to both the box and the items inside. Oh, and there's no lyrics! Come on Universal - don't miss the basics!!!

Great debut album, some frustrating issues. Hope Songs... gets a super deluxe too - albeit without glitches, and with the lyrics.

PS: Get on Universal's case to replace the faulty CD. There is a Uspeak page on there website: go there and ask, but be polite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh aye!, 27 Nov 2013
By 
J. McGlynn (UK, Lakes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hurting (Audio CD)
Loved the original on vinyl, loved the CD, loved the remastered version so had to have this little beauty. Totally happy with the versions, remixes, extras etc. Bit steep price wise, but what the heck, you're only here once and it is, without doubt one of my favourite albums of all time. Go on....you know you want to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still fresh after 30 years, 21 Jan 2012
By 
John Packer (Isle of Wight United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hurting (Audio CD)
I remember this on Vinyl 30 years ago, Mad Word appeared out of nowhere, followed by Change,I purchased and was amazed at how good this debut album was, Whilst updating my collection I discovered this remastered CD, it sounds as fresh today as it did then, the remastering has been done well, with the addition of some remixes, shame it did not have both versions of the 12" Pale Shelter releases, but I must say I am hooked again, buy this and you will want to revisit the other remasted TFF CDs. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should have bought it when it came out, 10 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hurting (Audio CD)
Simply my favourite Tears for Fears album and one of my favourite albums of all time, it is one everybody should own. I decided to buy it when it came out in 1983 but never got round to it oh well, 25 years later I got it, better late than never!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hurting
The Hurting by Tears For Fears (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews