Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite sing-a-long
Don't just read the review and click on to something else.....buy this CD now.
This is a fantastic bittersweet combination of what sounds like homemade instruments, lyrics of pure poetry and soaring chords that twang on your heart strings. There are no tracks on this that you will need to press the skip button for. It's lovely.
Published on 24 Nov 2001 by Mrs. M. A. Bloom

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars is good enough
everything ok shipping fast good music like neil finn usually make some songs less the others but al least is good enough
Published 19 months ago by rkirki


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite sing-a-long, 24 Nov 2001
By 
Mrs. M. A. Bloom (Hoxton, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Finn (Audio CD)
Don't just read the review and click on to something else.....buy this CD now.
This is a fantastic bittersweet combination of what sounds like homemade instruments, lyrics of pure poetry and soaring chords that twang on your heart strings. There are no tracks on this that you will need to press the skip button for. It's lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent New Zealand Music, 29 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Finn (Audio CD)
I originally bought this CD for my dad, but I ended up the one who would stick it in the CD player most often. The Finn brothers have a huge ammount of talent and this is expressed by the quality music being produced by them. Songs such as 'Last day of June' are treasures on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and Different, 8 Jan 2000
By 
This review is from: Finn (Audio CD)
This is the record that the finn brothers where trying to put together when Woodface arose,although there is no comparison really,these songs are different from crowded House more experimental and I think better...Only Talking Sense,Mood Swinging Man and Where is My Soul are classics...buy this record if you like Crowded House,just give it a few listens and it will never be off your system!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Indie/folksy rock, 4 Sep 2008
By 
Alan (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finn (Audio CD)
Interesting variety of tracks, somewhat unusual music to my ears but worth listening to. Don't really know what else to say but I'd recommend this album anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars INVENTIVE ALBUM, 17 April 2014
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (HBMV) "Hayling Is... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finn (Audio CD)
Much like Crowded House, this album has the trade mark vocals and the fabulous song writing.

More interesting is the unique use of unfamiliar and improvised instrumental sounds, which makes this album rather unique.

it is a really accomplished and beautiful piece of work which is difficult not to like upon first listen. It is cheap as chips on Amazon so give it a go - there is nothing much to lose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime highlight, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finn (Audio CD)
Neil and Tim Finn's first collaboration as the Finn Brothers has an experimental gritty production sound which enhances the beautiful melodies and usual strong performances. All the tracks on the album are excellent, and lyrically it is especially rewarding, in particular the sublime opener "Only Talking Sense".

The "Finn" album is definitely a little-known highlight out of the brothers' catalogues. If you like this, Neil's "Try Whistling This" and Tim's "Say It Is So" are worth investigating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars is good enough, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finn (Audio CD)
everything ok shipping fast good music like neil finn usually make some songs less the others but al least is good enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Close to Affinity, 26 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Finn (Audio CD)
This album was released almost in secrecy, following the release of Crowded House's Together Alone. The Finn Brothers had intended to release an album together at an earlier stage but that material wound up on Woodface and Tim joining the group for a brief period.

Being a Crowded House fan, I wish I could say some positive things about this set. It is a lo-fi production with meandering melodies throughout. Most songs flow without notice but a couple of tracks are simply bad. Mood Swinging Man, Angels Heap and especially Last Day of June are worthwhile to listen to.

This project sounds more like experimental stuff which should have been left in the vaults to be used as starting points for real projects. Even the album sleeve indicates that the project is more for family albums then the public at large. They released another album called Everyone Is Here a few years later which is a much more solid set with some great tracks. This album and Try Whistling This are, however, low points in Neil Finn's career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Finn
Finn by Finn Brothers (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews