Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An emotionally brilliant album.
Anathema are a criminally underated and often ignored band.Judgement is an album that most bands could only dream of recording.In a world of c**p pop punk,R&B,and "screamo" bands,Anathema fly the flag for 'proper' rock.Just listen to the song 'One last goodbye',it is the most heart-wrenching songs you will ever hear.Anathema,we salute you.
Published on 28 Jun. 2004 by robadogs

versus
2 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A bad Judgement
As soon as I looked at the song titles I was disappointed but things soon got worse when I played the cd. It seems too much time was spent on the production and not enough on the songwriting. 'Anyone Anywhere' and 'Deep' just dont represent the Anathema I know and love. Thank the Lord that their latest effort 'A Fine Day To Exit' brought them back to life.
They made...
Published on 29 Jun. 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An emotionally brilliant album., 28 Jun. 2004
This review is from: Judgement (Audio CD)
Anathema are a criminally underated and often ignored band.Judgement is an album that most bands could only dream of recording.In a world of c**p pop punk,R&B,and "screamo" bands,Anathema fly the flag for 'proper' rock.Just listen to the song 'One last goodbye',it is the most heart-wrenching songs you will ever hear.Anathema,we salute you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warm, big sound that builds on the Anathema blueprint., 11 Dec. 2001
This review is from: Judgement (Audio CD)
1999's Judgement by Anathema is another collection of big sounding rock tunes that moves them further away from their peers in terms of sound. A continuation from their previous album, Alternative 4, this album is longer and contains more ideas and textures yet maintains its ease to listen to. The use of pianos and haunting female vocals ensures that older fans of the band find something new to get their teeth into.
The hooks and dynamics ensure that it is never tedious, and that something new catches the ear on every listen.
It is a grand record on every scale. It manages to work on almost every level.
The only dissapointment is on the title track itself. The constant build up at the end of the song would lend itself to a truly awe inspiring ending, yet they abruptly finish the song as if the stylus has been pushed of the record.
Fans of Alternative 4 or their latest album, A Fine Day to Exit will not be dissapointed, neither will fans of such bands as Radiohead and Pink Floyd. This album adds to their metal sound with more warmth and an epicness that has genre crossing appeal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timelessly emotional, 15 Aug. 2008
By 
This review is from: Judgement (Audio CD)
This excellent album supported me during a very hard time and brought me back to my feet. This highly emotional album touched every string in my body and therefore counts for me as one of the best albums...of all times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a superb album and deserves a wider audience, 3 Aug. 2008
By 
S. Buckley (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Judgement (Audio CD)
A fantastic album by a fantastic band. After listening to this album you really have to wonder at a music industry which publicises absolute rubbish while ignoring this absolute gem. Don't worry about their early "thrash" work (unless you like that kind of thing), but have a listen to Judgement. Anyone who likes a good rock tune played well will enjoy this album. These guys are good musicians (and give a superb live performance if you get the chance) and write very good songs. If you like Judgement, move onto their later work which is also great in my opinion. This album should be in the rock hall of fame - it's far better than some of the so-called "classics".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a REAL band!, 15 Aug. 2004
By 
A. Morgan (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Judgement (Audio CD)
Having owned judgement for a few years now,i found that it had become a little scratched(due to my lack of care with cd's) so i decided to buy 1 off of here.
Anathema are the best band i have come across,judgment is my favourite album,followed closesly by "serenades" and "eternity".
They reveal the true essence of good "rock" music,emotive lyrics,powerful vocals and brilliant melodies make this one of the most inspirational bands of this time.
A brillian album from a brillian band.
If you want this album,be sure to buy "Eternity" with it,you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant., 14 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Judgement (Audio CD)
Judgement is another amazing step in the musical evolution of Anathema. Distancing themselves even further from the Doom-metal that they produced in their early days, Judgement is more akin to Pink Floyd than the likes of My Dying Bride. The album is heavy in places but always tuneful yet fragile and incredibly beautiful. Anathema bring out quieter passages and instrumentals like never before - a side of them hinted at on their previous album, Eternity. Like all the best albums, it takes a few listens to get into - but lurking beneath the surface is a highly intelligent progressive rock/metal album that challenges all of your expectations with every one of its 12 tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best by far, 29 Aug. 2010
By 
70s "arrow" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Judgement (Audio CD)
This is the Dark Side of The Moon, Sgt Pepper, Piper at the Gates of Anathemas career. It is by far their very best effort and puts all their other recordings in the shade. Think Dave Gilmour and Shine on you crazy Diamond. Classic moody, guitar driven Proggy rock. The vocals here arent as dreary as other Anathema outings. So if you only get one Anathema cd, get this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great anathema album, 30 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judgement (Audio CD)
Having only recently discovered Anathema I have been working my way backwards expecting not to like the early ones. So far though every one a gem. This is again superb with some terrific guitar playing. What a great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it., 20 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Judgement (Audio CD)
Like Paradise Lost, Anathema have been accused of betraying their fans by changing direction and doing something different. While PL went all Depeche Mode with the excellent 'Host', Anathema decided to embark on something resembling Pink Floyd gone goth. This album is utterly absorbing and full of very well written (and incredibly depressing in places) gothic rock. Yes, it is a little Floydian in places, and towards the end of the album the quality of songs dips slightly, but in all this album is completely engrossing, if not quite a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont listen to it if you are on the verge of depression..., 28 Jun. 2009
By 
George Spiros (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Judgement (Audio CD)
...or maybe listen to it?

This is a very emotionally strong album. It gives shivers down my spine everytime i listen to certain tracks, its lyrics are touching and feel very real. Melody-wise is as strong and generally its so nice that it makes me sad.

Tracks like -One Last Goodbye- (written for their mother's death) can ruin your day.

Gorgeous album, an apocalypse for me as i found their previous CD (alternative 4) simply good..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Judgement
Judgement by Anathema (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews