Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best things in life aren't for free......
I guess your opinion on this album depends on when you discovered Filter; fans of "Short Bus" seem generally disappointed and if you were expecting "Short Bus pt.ii" then that's understandable as this album has much of it's industrial edge angle-grinded off. If like me however you discovered Filter via this release you'll probably love it.
The songwriting for one is...
Published on 7 Jan. 2003 by C. Thatcher

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too workmanlike
I bought these on the basis that Richard Patrick was in NIN and when I bought it I thought it was cool . But now that I have heard it a lot I think that despite it being good too many of the songs lack passion and the result ends in a messy workmanlike song ( Miss Blue in paticular )
Many of the songs are...
Published on 5 Mar. 2001 by filterite


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best things in life aren't for free......, 7 Jan. 2003
By 
C. Thatcher (Bedford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Title of Record (Audio CD)
I guess your opinion on this album depends on when you discovered Filter; fans of "Short Bus" seem generally disappointed and if you were expecting "Short Bus pt.ii" then that's understandable as this album has much of it's industrial edge angle-grinded off. If like me however you discovered Filter via this release you'll probably love it.
The songwriting for one is excellent, there are hooks and choruses aplenty, even during the albums heavier moments (and there are a fair few). A myriad of styles are covered within including industrialish metal, gothicky rock, acoustic poppishness and stadium riffery (a la "Pop" era U2). Despite such variety "Title..." flows beautifully from one song/style to another thanks to a fantastic production job which ties together what would otherwise be quite a disparate album (listen to the bridge between "The Best Things and "Take a Picture" for evidence).
I keep coming back to this album because of the above and because the songs have a good blend of heaviness and hummability.... it's not as riff heavy as you might expect from a supposedly industrial rock band but it is very sonically dense and heavy in atmosphere, which can be just as satisfying.
So, to anyone curious about what Filter get up to... basically on this album and it's follow up "The Amalgamut" they do industrial rock/metal with a few pop tendencies very well and it's highly recommended. If however you want something more industrial strength then buy "Shortbus" because it's good but the songs aren't so catchy or memorable..... which is what for me makes this album so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bounty, 22 Feb. 2012
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Title of Record (Audio CD)
This album stands on its own compared to Filter's other releases. It has regained a lot of the industrial metal sheen carried over from NIN but more importantly incorporates a more traditional rock sound for the main structure of the songs. It is a pleasing amalgamation that has produced one of the more idiosyncratic releases of its particular era. At the time of its release the Brit pop debarcle, together with the mainly artistically bereft music that has begun to stigmatise that of the 90s was beginning to evolve (or revolve) into what was to become the NU-Metal scene (in itself not wholly successful as a genre). Dance music disappeared back to the underground (which was where it was far more interesting) and bands like Oasis started to fail in the popularity stakes, whereas the likes of more forward-thinking bands like Blur adapted to their surroundings and managed to survive with their dignity intact. Rock and metal had been gone for almost a decade and had not been cool for much longer. But on the heels of the dance-induced industrial-metal scene, things were about to change.

To Title of Record. This is not a complete metal record, nor does it belong as a dance album. But some of the beats are derived from the dance music of the 90s. This can be heard in 'The Best Things' and 'It's Gonna Kill Me', both very energetic and breathless songs with moments of tranquility and electronica that erupt into squalls of guitar-led white noise. The opener 'Welcome to the Fold' is the most 'metal' track here. It uses chunky power chords from the outset to produce a very rousing aural experience. However the best tracks are the mellower ones. 'Take A Picture' is sublimely perfect and a window into their later ballad-writing prowess. And the chorus to 'Cancer' is another sound wave that uplifts. 'Miss Blue' is a lovely acoustic ending that is ruined by 6+ minutes of nothing in order to hear a lot of tongue-in-cheek death-metal growling.

Not perfect but a definite recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hey man, nice follow up., 15 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Title of Record (Audio CD)
Just think, if Mr Reznor of NIN fame could play the guitar, Mr Patrick would only be famous for being related to the T1000. Instead we have... FILTER!!! Fresh from producing (along with the Crystal Method,) the best song on the much vaunted "Spawn" soundtrack (shame about the film,) we have "Title of Record." The much, much better follow up to "Short Bus" is chock full of amazing riffs and Patrick's trademark (and very good ranged) screaming. Standouts include "Welcome to the Fold" and "Captain Bligh," the latter a study of regret and guilt with very well written lyrics and a great riff. But the best two songs, in my opinion are the pulsing electronica/industrial influenced "The Best Things" and the, quite frankly amazing, "Take a Picture" which was the only song from this album I'd heard before buying it recently. Why the wait? I got out of metal, that's about it. Shame, as I missed out on a goodie back in the early 00's, don't make my mistake. Own it, legally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could have been better, 17 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Title of Record (Audio CD)
Filter have some good songs and excellent production values. Tracks like Captain Bligh, The Best Things and Take a Picture all stand out as being songs from the peak of their genre. The onlyt wo things that prevent this from being a five-star classic are the tendencies to slip into mainstream territory rather too often, with several very accessible songs such as "Take a Picture" which works, and "Miss Blue" which doesn't. The other complaint is that Richard Patrick seems to be consciously making an effort to sound like Brian Molko for some of his harder vocals (fortunately he doesn't succeed, otherwise this would lose another star) and has an annoying tendency to scream in the prelude to choruses.
I've been highlighting the negatives however, which is probably unfair as this is, all said and done, a pretty good album, vastly superior to most hard rock in an age of Limp Bizkit and American pseudo-punk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars from short bus to tour bus, things are looking up, 8 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Title of Record (Audio CD)
this is the second installment from filter, a band going from strength to strength as an industrial/rock/metal hybrid band. its definately a step up from their debut and has allready seen hits such as 'take a picture' and 'welcome to the fold' securing its place in a best album catagory. the tracks are all varied, some soft others hard, some with witty sarcastic choruses and others with heart-felt emotive writting blended together with the signiture filter techno beat. added with the fact that this copy has the bonus tracks 'jurassitol' (from one of the CROW movie OST) and 'can't you trip like i do?' (the remixed version of which can be found on the SPAWN OST). as an album the music comes together in a beautiful way, never failing to surprise the listener. if you are thinking of buying this version of the cd, then i suggest you stop thinking and buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite band, 9 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Title of Record (Audio CD)
This is the album that got me into filter, i had heard "welcome to the fold" on mtv and it was so good i had to hear the album. When i eventually managed to get hold of a copy i didn't stop listening to it for weeks. I love every track but the best ones are "welcome to the fold", captain bligh", "the best things", and " skinny". They even venture onto acoustic guitar for "take a picture" which is a great track.
I recommend this album if you are into chevelle, breakin benjamin, aperfectcircle or any band that has that sort of a sound. their other two albums are great but this is their best, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent record, 26 Oct. 2000
This review is from: Title of Record (Audio CD)
I bought this album after reading a review that described the guys in Filter as "school bouys lookalike" with leather ant comed hear, but boy what a look can fool. This albume is one of the best rock/hardrock/metal/ballad album I've heard in a long time. It's well produced music with a meaning and some times the frustration in the songwriters life come out threw the songs. The song "I'm not the only one" hit me hard in my mind. It's not often music does that to me. If you like good technical and well produced rock you will not be disapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All ROCK All The Time, 1 Feb. 2001
This review is from: Title of Record (Audio CD)
This rocks like almost no other, it makes you feel like you want to kill every body you hate then "Take A Picture" kicks in and hypnotises you and you can't get enough of it,(please ignore the Stereophonics like sound at the begining)there's no barrier to what Richard Patrick can do. The first song "Welcome To The Fold" gives you the wrong idea to what the rest is like. Only one question, what does "Cop a good blow" mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent mix of heavy rock and careful melody, 10 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Title of Record (Audio CD)
(Apologies, as this is the first time I've ever reviewed an album!) After hearing a couple of tracks being played whilst browsing a record store - this has to be one of the best impluse buys I have made. The album starts with energetic all-out rock, meeting all levels of melody/rock mix along the road (especially my favourite "It's gonna kill me"), and ending with wonderfully calm "Miss Blue". Roll on any UK tour!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too workmanlike, 5 Mar. 2001
This review is from: Title of Record (Audio CD)
I bought these on the basis that Richard Patrick was in NIN and when I bought it I thought it was cool . But now that I have heard it a lot I think that despite it being good too many of the songs lack passion and the result ends in a messy workmanlike song ( Miss Blue in paticular )
Many of the songs are contrived for radio purposes and it is only Welcome to the fold that really lets loose .
I still think the best of Richard Patrick has yet to be complete
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Title of Record
Title of Record by Filter (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews