Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great compilation from one of the best Country Rock bands
An exellent compilation of the Outlaws' first five albums. These were the band's best albums in any case. Never quite able to equal their first superb eponymous debut album, the Outlaws still showed that they were unequalled for quality Country Rock in their heyday.
If you do like this material, I also recommend The Allman Brothers compilations and also get Molly...
Published on 3 Jan 2002

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy for the title track only ...
I bought this to further complete my music collection - Renewing some original vinyl long since lost ... The long title track was/is just as fresh and dynamic as I remembered, but the rest is rather forgettable ... Worth it for the one masterpiece though - :)
Published on 28 Jan 2010 by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great compilation from one of the best Country Rock bands, 3 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Green Grass & High Tides - Best Of (Audio CD)
An exellent compilation of the Outlaws' first five albums. These were the band's best albums in any case. Never quite able to equal their first superb eponymous debut album, the Outlaws still showed that they were unequalled for quality Country Rock in their heyday.
If you do like this material, I also recommend The Allman Brothers compilations and also get Molly Hatchet's Greatest Hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God bless the Outlaws ,Yee Haw!, 3 April 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Green Grass & High Tides - Best Of (Audio CD)
One of america's best kept secrets ,The Outlaws released their debut in 1975 and for the rest of the decade never looked back before petering out amid fall outs ,death etc.The first 2 albums ,the debut already mentioned and its follow up 'Lady In Waiting(1976) are held in the highest regard and its from those that the lions share of the tracks come,11 tracks in all out of sixteen.

Many people come to this band expecting Skynyrd or Molly Hatchet type rock but they were closer to country and only occasionally dabbled in the heavier side,certainly live they toughened up.From the opening 'There Goes Another Love song' to the closing 'Ghost Riders...',this is a superb collection highlighting some fantastic indiviidual musicians and backing harmonies that the Eagles would have been proud of.Best tracks the afore mentioned 'Love song..,the excellent instrumental 'Waterhole',catchy 'Freeborn Man' and the rockin 'Stick Around For Rock N Roll'.However as every southern rock fan knows their best is the epic 'Green Grass & High Tides Forever',which i believe is even better than 'Freebird',nearly ten minutes of southern guitar frenzy,teasing and building to a stunning finale,live it sometimes stretched to 20 minutes

If you'vr never heard this band,try this disc,it will live with you forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Grass & High Tides - Best Of (Audio CD)
Superb Guitar Playing, Green Grass & High Tides the obvious stand out track, Great Production, Timeless, and from 1975 !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The band from Florida, 28 Mar 2013
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Grass & High Tides - Best Of (Audio CD)
There`s something about Southern rock bands. A lack of frills, a certain integrity, the grit and dirt of the Deep South... and a lot to do with the fact that so much popular music began or developed in the south, whether jazz, blues or country, all of which in different ways infuse the music of the Allmans, Marshall Tucker Band, Lynyrd Skynyrd, even ZZ Top to some extent - and these guys, who formed in Tampa, Florida in 1972, went through a few line-up changes in the following years, but managed to keep their trademark three-guitar, multi-vocal sound through thick and thin.
What`s so winning about The Outlaws - and how I wish I`d seen them live, I bet they were stunning - is they sound so likeable, with a glowing, gleaming sound, like a kind of Allmans meets Eagles, if you will! Great harmonies, urgent, exact guitar work, good songs - some more memorable than others, but all enjoyable.
This 70-minute compilation from their first four LPs, plus a live version of Ghost Riders in the Sky of all things, is the business. It also boasts a very tasteful booklet, which includes notes by two of the original Outlaws, Hughie Thomasson and Henry Paul, both of whom wrote, sang and played guitar with the band for the few years they were at their peak.
As I say, I`d like to have heard the band live, as I bet they rocked the place.
What you get here is a highly professional outfit, who sing like a dream, play like they were born doing it, with songs that show off their strengths.
If you`ve got a thang for Southern rock, you should love this.
Fine rock `n` roll, no frills!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Title track is up there with 'Freebird'!, 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Grass & High Tides - Best Of (Audio CD)
This is stonkin' great value. The title track is up there with 'Freebird' and is worth the 2.99 alone - nearly 10 minutes of superb Southern rock at it's ultimate best. The Outlaws do some great harmony vocals and brilliant guitar work. Take a listen and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy for the title track only ..., 28 Jan 2010
By 
Chris "Reactiv8" (Herefordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Green Grass & High Tides - Best Of (Audio CD)
I bought this to further complete my music collection - Renewing some original vinyl long since lost ... The long title track was/is just as fresh and dynamic as I remembered, but the rest is rather forgettable ... Worth it for the one masterpiece though - :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Grass & High Tides - Best Of (Audio CD)
Oldie but goodie. Southern music rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album. Great band., 23 Mar 2014
By 
Graham Chapman (Billericay, Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Grass & High Tides - Best Of (Audio CD)
Great album. Great band. My 'Fave' is Green Grass & High Tide = Track 5. Killer!
but the others are wonderful too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Album., 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Grass & High Tides - Best Of (Audio CD)
The Outlaws hold many memories of the 80's for me and their version of Ghost Riders in the Sky on this Album is second to none for Lyrics and Instrumental perfection. I like Spiderbaits version in the film Ghost Riders,but the Outlaws version is far more accomplished.
The DVD arrived within 2 days but the whole album was downloaded to my Amazon Cloud collection within a minute of paying for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green Grass & High Tides - Best Of (Audio CD)
what a band great guitarists and musicians no bands like this around these days this is a great cd first class
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Green Grass & High Tides - Best Of
Green Grass & High Tides - Best Of by Outlaws (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews