Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-see for any Beatles fan
The picture has got a simple and clear plot, but all those absurd, crazy jokes and strange characters could really blow your mind if you're not accustomed to John Lennon's jokes. It all reminds me of 'Alice in Wonderland' a lot. One should accept the picture 'as is'. Though my 3-year-old daughter loves it a lot! No need to talk about music - it's outstanding! In general,...
Published on 3 Sept. 2007 by Shishov Georgiy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars thought it was digital rework
Ordered from expressdel.Very poor image quality was disappointed thought it was digital remaster sound was ok.
Arrived within 3 days of ordering was well packaged.
Could have put in site description that it was original film and had poor quailty image.
good service but poor product.
Published on 9 Feb. 2013 by M. allsopp


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must-see for any Beatles fan, 3 Sept. 2007
By 
Shishov Georgiy (Ulyanovsk, Russia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The picture has got a simple and clear plot, but all those absurd, crazy jokes and strange characters could really blow your mind if you're not accustomed to John Lennon's jokes. It all reminds me of 'Alice in Wonderland' a lot. One should accept the picture 'as is'. Though my 3-year-old daughter loves it a lot! No need to talk about music - it's outstanding! In general, it's different and a definite must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best animated film ever made, 31 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is so full of originality, imagination and visual impact - it's got to be one of the best animated films ever made, and it was all done without the use of computers. Stands up very well after 35 years, as a light hearted, colourful funny, intriguing and slightly mysterious film. And SO sixties!!! The Beatles themselves are a bit boring as characters, since this was a fan film about them, and so they are portrayed as perfect. But you just have to accept that, and enjoy the rest of the film. I am also thrilled to have this nice bright copy. If you've never seen this film, get a copy and open up your mind....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music Television thats fresh 40 years on, 21 July 2006
By 
Mr. R. D. Tovey "robtovey" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Watch this film, it is a classic.

The narrative involves cut out animated characters (including the Beatles, well the Lonely Hearts Club Band) in a fairy-tale struggle. Not only is it imaginative and visually articulate, you also have the pleasure of many a Beatles tune. Furthermore, it is hilarious.

If only all music television was this good. The bench mark - A seminal work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artistic and Fun - a Milestone in Animation, 4 Jun. 2003
By 
Greg Anderson "artofcode" (Raleigh, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film combines the graphic style of Peter Max and the cinematic psychedelia of "Fantastic Planet", adds the humor and musical talent of the Beatles, and manages to transform the genre of the "musical" into an entirely new flavor of music video.
The Beatles had already invented the music video with earlier filmed renditions of songs released after their Beatlemania touring days had come to an end. Those films were released as substitutes for the real Fab Four, touring the world in their absence. Yellow Submarine was an altogether new species, conceived as a whimsical but coherent story - sort of a WWII Lite, surrounding songs from the Rubber Soul, Revolver, and Sgt. Pepper albums. It somehow manages to deliver not only a series of exceptional animated "music videos", but also a funny and engaging Beatles movie, every bit as entertaining as "A Hard Day's Night" and "Help".
Yellow Submarine was produced while the Beatles were on sabbatical in India with the Maharaji, and had no input to speak of in the creation of the film. They however, along with their fans and the movie-going public, were quite pleased and impressed by the results.
This film will appeal to fans of The Beatles, fans and students of animation, and anyone who enjoys a well-made cinematic fantasy.
--- Greg A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The songs remixed and digital at last!, 29 Dec. 2005
A super bit of Beatles 'summer of love' style here. The Blue Meanies do not stand a chance and it's great fun throughout, though I think the kids of today will not appreciate it quite as we did. I agree that the best feature is the songs and how they are now available as a 'pre-selection' process rather than winding through the film to find the best. Crucial cuts are the undiscovered/underrated classics "Hey Bulldog" and "It's all too much" which are close to the end of the film. Both would have made brillient singles. They are real gems in the final chapter of Sgt Pepper but never quite made it to the masterpiece LP, only being relegated to the soundtrack of this film. The restored digital version and remixed songs are excellent. A splendid time guaranteed for all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatles in 5.1-Canadian w\superb picture and surround sound, 30 Sept. 2009
By 
DAVE HORN "Dave Horn" (Ellington Village, Northumberland, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yellow Submarine [DVD] [1968] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Firstly let me say don't waste your hard-earned on overpriced new or second hand copies of this film priced at £40 or over. Buy a brand new sealed Canadian region-free copy with the brilliant soundtrack remastered into amazing 5.1 surround sound, the ability to play the isolated score and complete with booklet etc for £15 instead.

Both the new picture transfer and surround mix are brilliant, the latter being quite a rarity on old films like this. It's obvious that a lot of time and effort have been spent on both, unlike "Magical Mystery Tour" which languishes in poor quality mono with a picture to match - so full of damage and sparklies as to be near unwatchable.

I can't praise the Canadian issue of "Yellow Submarine" enough in those departments - everything is pristine as if it was a brand new film just released and of course it's in widescreen format too.

I would say that with all the psych imagery and music this one is best watched on a big screen in a darkened room with a tankard of ale and preferably something strong to smoke too (or if you're a non-smoker then bake it in little buns or make tea).

Absolutely amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood Favourite, 11 Feb. 2004
By 
Mr G J Deighan (East Boldon, Tyne and Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I first encountered Yellow Submarine as a child and have been a fan of the Beatles ever since. The film is as funny as it is clever and, as you'd expect, it is spilling over with Beatles music.
Unfortunately for everyone it's not the Beatles doing the voices for the animated fab four, but those filling the shoes have captured their public personas and personalities to a tee.
The story is every bit as bizarre as a Beatles fan would expect. The plot meanders from the sensible, to the obscure, and everything in between. All in all, however, we are left with, essentially,a family film that was seen and enjoyed by generations fading, and to be equally enjoyed by generations to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic, 9 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm so happy that I finally acquired this movie! I saw it as a kid, but only now, at my mature years I fully grasped the more subtle levels and symbols of this masterpiece. A "must-see" for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch this and smile -- and keep smiling for hours, 12 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
What an outrageous film! Exploding with creativity. The wit and genius of the music of the fab four is complemented by superb psychadelic animation, which, although very much 60's, is really timeless. Full of humour and joy. One of the best animation films of all times, suitable for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab film, 11 Jan. 2011
as a child i vaguely remember this film.its been a little ambition of mine to get it and sit down and loose myself for a while.i have always loved wacky animation and love music that is inspirational to many generations.my son and i love it[he is 5]and cant wait to sit down to watch it atleast once a month!great for its time,colourful and madness-just what the doctor ordered :]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yellow Submarine [DVD] [1968] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £6.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews