Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 August 2002
In 1965 Lee Dorsey teamed up with legendary New Orleans R&B maestro Allan Toussaint to produce some of the funkiest soul tracks ever cut. Previously Dorsey had enjoyed huge early success with the naive sounding, nonsense sing-a-longs 'Ya-Ya' and 'Do-Re-Mi', both featuring on this flawless budget compilation. But it was with Toussaint firmly established at the helm that Dorsey really began to scale the heights of clipped soul perfection. Best known on these shores for hit single 'Holy Cow' and the classic 'Working in The Coal Mine', all of the Dorsey recordings featured here are infused with his supremely soulful, feelgood touch. It's impossible not to raise a smile to such infectious grooves as 'Go-Go Girl', 'Ride Your Pony', and the groin-thrusting ecstacy of 'Give it Up', sample lyric: "Give it up girl/You know what a'hm talkin' about". Also featured are rarities such as 'Lottie Mo'68' and 'Love lots of Lovin', the latter a soaring duet with Betty Harris.

I can't recommend the music of Lee Dorsey, and this generously priced retrospective, highly enough. Early in his career Dorsey earned the nickname of 'Mr TNT' for his explosive stage presence, and upon hearing these recording for the first time it's abundantly clear why.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2012
Make it this one. Can honestly say in over 40 years of buying albums I have never unearthed such a buried treasure as this, if all you know is Ya Ya and are wondering if everything else is of the same standard I have to tell you that this classic is one of the weaker tracks on this.
Work, work , work, Confusion, Ride your pony, Get out out my life woman were all unknown to me and are now permanent fixtures in my brain, and that's before you hit the twin diamonds of Working in A coal mine and the superlative Holy Cow.

Take a chance and splash out the best four quid of your life, satisfaction guaranteed or take your Ya Ya's back.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
Rather amazingly the early Lee Dorsey single Ya Ya was not issued here at the time yet the followup Do Re Mi WAS.There was a gap of a few years before Sue reissued Ya Ya but by then ithad already been recorded by Tony Sheridan in Germany and issued under the Beatles' name on an LP called The Beatles' First.
The same song had been covered in 1962 by Pet Clark as Ya Ya Ywist.
By the time the Dorsey career got going here it was with the hit Get Out Of My Life Woman which came out on Stateside.
After the U K hit Working In The Coalmine (was Louisiana a coal mining area?) the first album proper was in the stores and since then Dorsey who had further U K hits with Holy Cow and Confusion has been never far away from the music media.
In the 80s he was a special guest for a series of Clash gigs with one of the members penning the sleeve notes for an LP reissue
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 20 October 2011
When Lee Dorsey (1926-86) sings the opening line of his massive first hit Ya Ya, the first song on this 52-min 20-track compilation, it sounds like the best
possible way to start an album. Based on a kids` playground ditty it`s nevertheless a winning, lightly soulful number that still sounds both fresh and funky today.
He followed it up with Do-Re-Mi, a not dissimilar song, then there was a four-year hiatus until the legendary Allen Toussaint came on board, producing and arranging, as well as, one assumes, playing the very tasty piano, on many more hits, nearly all of which he wrote too. (A credit to `Neville` on two early tracks is simply Toussaint`s pseudonym back then: Naomi Neville, his mother`s name.)
Lee Dorsey`s smattering of hits really brightened up the charts in the mid-60s, not only the famous Ride Your Pony but - and even better, to my mind - the insidiously catchy Get Out Of My Life Woman with its memorable piano riff, the terrific, soulful Confusion, the fizzing, harmony-fuelled Working In The Coalmine, and the languid moan of Holy Cow.
The second half of this excellent, well-presented collection consists of his later singles, all of which are worth hearing, some being as agreeably listenable as his bigger hits.
This New Orleans singer (who partly grew up in far away Oregon, relocating to the Crescent City in his mid-30s) used to sound at times almost like a novelty artist, what with the nursery rhyme lyrics and simple meoldies of his early 45s, but listen closer and you can hear he was as funky and, in his understated way, as emotive as many a more obvious soul singer. Moreover, these songs are beautifully arranged - take a bow, Mr Toussaint - and sound fresh as paint half a century later.
Not everything is included here, but enough is. You won`t be disappointed.

`Oh -
well -
I`m...`
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2008
If you like the New Orleans sound you'll enjoy this CD: it has the obvious Dorsey hit songs, but also contains some more obscure numbers that are equally strong. The sound quality is high - excellent re-mastering by Bob Irwin, it comes with comprehensive sleeve notes and the good sleeve design make for a great value budget package.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Great album, but, where`s ' SNEAKING SALLY THRU` THE ALLEY '?....Brilliantly "covered" by ' Robert Palmer ', this classic should be here!!!...Therefore, this is NOT the "Definitive collection".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2016
this is a must my friend I acuealy see this man in a club in the 1960s and he was brilliant a must buy for you soul collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Rhythm & Blues, Soul, Funk.
It's all here.
Excellent introduction to a somewhat overlooked star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
Had all the tracks I wanted at a good price. I am very pleased with my purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)