Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
38
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 November 2009
I love the sweet harmonies on this album.It defined the genre back in the day and led to the birth of so many souful vocal groups in the seventies.Its significance could never be over estimated.Some of these tracks where defining moments of the philly soul sound before Gamble and Huff.Combined with the impressions these tracks carved a grooove which still sounds good today.A bargain price for a slice of pure pop/soul history.Everyone knows La La LA Means I Love You,Ready Or Not Here I Come (Can't Hide From Love) and Didn't I Blow Your Mind This Time.Worth the price for these alone but surrounded by some other strong tracks-a no brainer really.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2007
think it over- chorus upon chorus of honey layered perfection- emo fans check this one out it will blow your mind this time (sorry) but this is insanely smooth- but in a way bittersweet- atmospheric to a point of almost having an eerie (overlook hotel) ingredient. Slowed down orchestral groove heaven.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 January 2015
A comprehensive 20 track retrospective from The Delfonics, one of the prime movers in the sweet Philadelphia soul sound? Many of their tracks may be more familiar from cover versions, samples or film soundtracks, particularly Quentin Tarantino ones. Kicking off with"La-La (Means I Love You)" and including other such well known tracks as "Ready Or Not Here I Come" and "Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time)" there's plenty more to enjoy I this even collection, with Thom Bell's production at the forefront of their sound. Perhaps not the best remembered group of the era, this album shows they are clearly in need of favourable reassessment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
I only knew a few Delfonic's numbers and bought this CD just to have a record of Didn't I blow your mind and Ready or not . However the whole album flows so well, and with 20 tracks may sounding too many at first, for such a band with so few actual hits, the overall mood if so smooth and a real sweet soul experience from the 70's.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2011
Whatever happened to sweet soul? Heartfelt vocals, pure falsetto, wonderful arrangements - the Delfonics showed just how fine it could be. Of course they're best known for 'La La Means I Love You', 'Didn't I blow your mind this time' and 'Ready or Not' (covered by the Fugees), but truthfully there isn't a duff track on this album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 February 2016
CONTENT:

This set “The Definitive Collection” by the Delfonics was released by Arista Records (UK) in 1999. It has 20 songs. I have compiled a detailed song listing (with label & number, chart position, date of release, plus personal comments)(BB200=Billboard Album Chart; BB Pop=Billboard Hot 100; BB R&B=Billboard Rhythm & Blues Chart; CB Pop=Cash Box Singles Chart; RW Pop=Record World Singles Chart; UK=British Singles Chart):

01 La-La Means I Love You (Philly Groove 150)(a-side)(BB Pop 4/1968; BB R&B 2(4)/1968; CB Pop 4/1968; RW Pop 3(1)/1968; UK 19/1971)(January 1968)*their biggest hit!
02 I’m Sorry (Philly Groove 151)(a-side)(BB Pop 42/1968; BB R&B 15/1968; CB Pop 50/1968; RW Pop 36/1968)(April 1968)
03 Break Your Promise (Philly Groove 152)(a-side)(BB Pop 35/1968; BB R&B 12/1968; CB Pop 46/1968; RW Pop 45/1968)(August 1968)
04 Ready or Not Here I Come (Can’t Hide From Love)(Philly Groove 154)(a-side)(BB Pop 35/1968; BB R&B 14/1968; CB Pop 31/1968; RW Pop 24/1968; UK 41/1971)(November 1968)
05 Somebody Loves You (Philly Groove 154)(b-side, November 1968)(BB Pop 72/1969; BB R&B 41/1969; CB Pop 92/1969; RW Pop 83/1969)*double sided hit.
06 Funny Feeling (Philly Groove 156)(a-side)(BB 94/1969; BB R&B 48/1969; CB Pop 96/1969; RW Pop 87/1969)(May 1969)
07 Loving Him (Philly Groove 157)(b-side, July 1969)
08 You Got Yours and I’ll Get Mine (Philly Groove 157)(a-side)(BB Pop 40/1969; BB R&B 6/1969; CB Pop 40/1969; RW Pop 33/1969)(July 1969)
09 Didn’t I (Blow Your Mind This Time)(Philly Groove 161)(a-side)(BB Pop 10/1970)(December 1969; BB R&B 3(3)/1970; CB Pop 13/1970; RW Pop 9/1970; UK 22/1971)*Grammy: R&B Vocal Group; this song was so impressive that Rhino used its title as the name of their R&B series, following “Have A Nice Day” pop series.
10 Trying to Make A Fool of Me (Philly Groove 162)(a-side)(BB Pop 40/1970; BB R&B 8/1970; CB Pop 41/1970; RW Pop 41/1970)(May 1970)
11 When You Get Right Down To It (Philly Groove 163)(BB Pop 53/1970; BB R&B 12/1970; CB Pop 41/1970; RW Pop 38/1970)(August 1970)
12 Over And Over (Philly Groove 166)(a-side)(BB Pop 58/1971; BB R&B 9/1971; CB Pop 61/1971; RW Pop 54/1971)(May 1971)
13 Delfonics Theme (How Could You)*from album “The Delfonics” (Philly Groove 1153)(BB200 61/1970)
14 Hey! Love (Philly Groove 166)(b-side, May 1971)(BB Pop 52/1971; BB R&B 17/1971; CB Pop 124/1971; RW Pop 54/1971)*a huge double sided hit.
15 Walk Right Up To The Sun (Philly Groove 169)(a-side)(BB Pop 81/1971; BB R&B 13/1971; CB Pop 62/1971; RW Pop 88/1971)(October 1971)
16 Tell Me This Is A Dream (Philly Groove 172)(a-side)(BB Pop 86/1972; BB R&B 15/1972; CB Pop 73/1972; RW Pop 87/1972)(May 1972)
17 Think It Over (Philly Groove 174)(a-side)(BB Pop 101/1973; BB R&B 47/1973; CB Pop 75/1973)(December 1972)
18 I Don’t Want to Make You Wait (Philly Groove 176)(a-side)(BB Pop 91/1973; BB R&B 22/1973; CB Pop 86/1973)(April 1973)
19 I Told You So (Philly Groove 182)(a-side)(BB Pop 101/1973; BB R&B 26/1974; CB Pop 107/1974)(December 1973)
20 Lying To Myself (Philly Groove 184)(a-side)(BB R&B 60/1974; CB Pop 118/1974)(1974)

POSITIVE POINTS:

1 There are quite a few “Greatest Hits” CDs out there, and most of them have only 10 songs. This set represents the definitive, most complete and comprehensive collection and coverage of the Delfonics singles releases. There is another CD “La-La Means I Love You” with exactly the same song listing and a little cheaper, but this set has much better sound.
2 The sound is wonderfully remastered using 20-bit mastering from the original master tapes. The result is vibrant clean sound with the harmonies of the Delfonics centralized and in full display.
3 There is an 8-page booklet, with an informative essay by Bill Dahl. One striking point is the larger size of the letters…much easier to read for older folk like myself.
4 All the important a-sides are present, with some b-sides, plus one album track. The songs are arranged chronologically.

NEGATIVE POINTS:

1 Only 64 minutes. Surely, one can fill up the remaining spaces with the missing a-sides, followed by the missing b-sides:
Missing a-sides:
(1) You’ve Been Untrue (Cameo C-472)(uncharted a-side, April 1967)
(2) He Don’t Really Love You (Moon Shot MS 6703)(a-side)(BB Pop 92/1968; BB R&B 33/1968; CB Pop 117/1968; RW Pop 89/1968)(April 1968)
(3) Alfie (Philly Groove 177)(a-side)(BB R&B 88/1973; CB Pop 105/1973; RW Pop 140/1973)(July 1973)*previously released as b-side to “Break Your Promise”
(4) With These Hands (Bell 1467)(unchared a-side, March 1976)
(5) The Way Things Are (Poogie P1261801)(uncharted a-side, 1981)
2 There are no label & number and no chart position.
3 There are no picture sleeves.

COMPLETE SINGLES DISCOGRAPHY:

Although the Delfonics have 18 charted singles on the Billboard R&B chart, I have just finished compiling a Complete Singles Discography and have found that they have 22 singles (charted and uncharted, from 1966 to 1981)(42 songs, not 44 songs, because 2 were repeated releases). The labels are (1) Moon Shot (1966), (2) Cameo (1967), (3) Philly Groove (1968 – 1974), (4) Bell (1976) and (5) Poogie (1981). Fortunately, all the missing a-sides mentioned above and the remaining missing b-sides are all readily available online.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

The Delfonics was a vocal group from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, consisting of brothers William Hart and Wilbert Hart, Randy Cain and Ritchie Daniels. They were originally known as The Four Gents.

William Hart remained eternally committed to the sweet, soulful sound that made his group an overnight sensation in 1968. “Music was made to be beautiful, and to soothe you,” he said. “It’s kind of like a medicine. You can be feeling bad, and hear an old song that you used to have a nice time on. And it makes you feel good.” If that is the case, this stellar compilation of the Delfonics’ soft soul gold should cure anything that’s ailing you!” La La means it is true! This set is highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
The vocal harmonies of this group are brilliant, and glad I was able to hear some more of their hits, other than the ones normally included on soul compilations. With hindsight glad I didn't have to miss out on some great songs, which I wasn't able to purchase first time around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Decades ago - over 45 years ago in 1969! - I bought a single by pop-soul group The Delfonics, which I'd heard on the radio and loved. It even made the charts. It was called Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time) and had an irresistible stop-start effect at certain points during the song which I couldn't get enough of.
It's taken me all this time to acquire a compilation of this excellent group, second only in my affections to the Chi-Lites, not dissimilar purveyors of well-written, classy 'soft soul'. It's been worth the wait.
Another great song of theirs was Ready Or Not Here I Come, which is irrepressibly catchy. Along with La-La Means I Love You, When Yo Get Right Down To It, Somebody Loves You, and the marvellous Trying To Make a Fool Of Me (B-side to Didn't I Blow Your Mind) there are another fourteen tracks by the trio from Philly on this superb collection, making twenty in all.
There isn't a dud among them, though not surprisingly some are more memorable than others. The cumulative effect when in the mood can be mildly overwhelming. This is a group who never quite received their due praise, despite a few hits. But it was worth buying this nicely presented disc, with its booklet and fairly comprehensive notes, if only for the abovementioned songs, in particular the timeless, essential and unforgettable Didn't I - one of the most distinctive soul-group classics of its era.

Didn't I blow your mind this time? Sure did, guys - this and every time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2012
The Delfonics pre-date the Stylistics with their Tom Bell influenced Philly Sound. Some classics here that were missing from my exstensive soul collection. Delfonics were a great harmony group with a period flavour and lavished strings from Mr Bell. Excellent value for money containing most of their best material.
Well recomended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2007
Not only are the Delfonics one of the supreme bands of the rare groove scene, they also know how to produce a track listing to wet the appetite of the most discerning palette.
Even the great man Tarantino himself included a fine Delfonics track ,namely "Did'nt I blow your mind" which went down very well and fitted into the film (JACKIE BROWN )extremely well, it was almost as like the film was made for the track.
Needless to say anything by the Delfonics is a must in any CD collection.
No collection is complete without them.
All the best
Steve The Rare Groove Connection.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)